We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceptional”
Ashgrove house country retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ashgrove house country retreat
ashgrove house and driveway front of ashgrove house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Ashgrove house country retreat
ashgrove house and driveway
front of ashgrove house
garden and patio with seating area
patio area and lawn
sitting room
sitting room
Sitting room
multi fuel stove
Master bedroom
master bedroom and en-suite
family bathroom
Kitchen and seating area
staircase
front door
seating in kitchen area
sitting room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Chester, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
John G
Dingwall, United Kingdom
1 review
“Exceptional”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A family group and one other (6 adults) stayed for a long weekend at Ashgrove House.
The total package including the golf and spa package at Carden Park was outstanding and unbelieveble value.
The house is built and equipped to the highest standard and very comfortable indeed.
There was a very personal touch to the process with the owners who were extremely helpful and communicative and ensured our requirements were fully met.
Situated in a small village and very rural setting it was a great escape from normal hectic life.
The golf and spa package at the outstanding Carden Park was a huge attraction and way beyond expectations. Golfers should definitely look at this; a better option to staying at the hotel in my view. We will certainly be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The luxury and location of the property and especially the golf/spa package.
Liked least: The fact that we could not stay any longer!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S
1 review
“Fun family break”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We were very impressed with Ashgrove House, kitchen was very well equipped with everything you could want, brilliant sound system, very clean and fresh, lovely private garden, we received a very warm welcome, great area very central for many places, would definitely recommend

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandy H
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding accommodation, spacious, well equipped and luxurious”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Located in a quiet country village, this well thought out and constructed new build house exceeded our expectations, which had been high to start with. The quality and comfort meant we were reluctant to leave each morning to explore the many attractions that exist within easy driving distance, but this also meant we looked forward to returning to enjoy an evening relaxing in the sun-loungers in the beautifully manicured garden.
With the Welsh border just 15 minutes away, and numerous gardens, historic houses and activites such as golf, segway, high ropes, swimming and spa at Carden Park; we will definitely be back to sample more of the delights of this house and its surrounding area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of finish, furnishings and equipment
Liked least: Honestly, I have nothing I didn't like
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolBghr
Cumbria, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding accommodation ideally suited for our golfing extravaganza”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The accommodation was ideally located for the Open Golf Championship weekend and we were able choose to play on a variety of courses within easy driving distance (no pun intended). The accommodation package included a round at the fabulous Nicklaus designed Carden Park course. Cliff and Shirley are welcoming hosts and as golf enthusiasts themselves offered great advice and further opportunities if we desired. The accommodation is designed and furnished to an exceptionally high standard - the best we've ever stayed at by far. If you want a superb golfing experience particularly as a group look no further - not forgetting the use of all the facilities at Carden Park. Even non golfers would thoroughly enjoy this accommodation with it's proximity to city and countryside attractions.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Extremely well equipped
Liked least: Everything was more than satisfactory
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crashband...
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing find – we will be back”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

I booked Ashgrove House hoping to have a relaxing break with my wife, daughter and her boyfriend. Upon arrival I was literally amazed at the size and quality of finish of the beautiful holiday let. It was absolutely perfect for us. We spent 4 days walking sight seeing and of course partaking in the odd tipple or 3. There is a lovely country pub called The Bull just up the road where you can dine and settle down for a pleasant evening. We also made use of the lovely kitchen and dining facilities at the house, followed by drinks around the real log fire.
The owner was very welcoming and gave us plenty of information for our trip into Chester.
We will most definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the accommodation
Liked least: We ran out of time, we will return in the summer.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lods1969
Kildare
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic house & Base”
Reviewed 13 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We found this house online . A family with four young children . The house is new and modern , but feels traditional with a range , log fire etc . The house is very warm with underfloor heating downstairs . Every utensil on earth was provided & good quality at that . There's wi-fi which was brilliant & good quality TV's with freebies and a good sound system . No expense has been spared on this house & it feels like a hind from home . We found it a great base for a holiday , with Wrexham in North wales 20 minutes away and similar time to Chester. We took a trip to Drayton amusement park , with Thomas The Tank Engine Land . A two hour journey , but well worth it. We ate in some of the evenings and ate in the Bull pub which is about 20 metres from the house !! It meant we could have a drink with dinner and not worry about driving . The food in the bull was excellent . The house is about an hour and a half from Holyhead if your coming from Ireland . Would highly recommend this house .

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amanda71...
Launceston, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Felt right at home”
Reviewed 6 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We arrived at ash grove house towards the end of a 3 month tour of Europe and the uk and after a 5 hour drive. And what a delight it was! Cliff ans Shirley offered a very warm welcome and even warmer house (they had lit the fire for us)!. The house itself offered the best of both worlds with an immaculate modern home set in a charmingly historic countryside village. Every need was catered for. The location s a wonderful central spt to tour Chester, Liverpool and northern wales. After 3 months on the road we felt so relaxed at ash grove - it was almost like being at home! We would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$227
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing