We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Irish music session”
Review of The Cross Keys

The Cross Keys
Ranked #141 of 555 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Weekday pies and gravy Sunday traditional roast
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Irish music session”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Great traditional Irish music 2nd and 4th Wednesday. Top class musicians. This is our favourite meeting and get together place in Chester. Lovely food, lovely atmosphere. Clean.... no dusty cobwebs!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Beverly Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    36
    5
    1
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fab evening”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The traditional Irish music on the 2nd and 4th Wednesday of every month, is what brought me into the pub. The staff are helpful and welcoming, the music was great and the place was very busy creating a great atmosphere. The ales were top notch, would recommend the pale ale, i didn't have food but i must come back for some as it looks decent. Thanks for a lovely evening Jane and Dave.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonEdholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The great British pub is back”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

After Joules took control of the city centre pub it quickly became one of my favourite pubs. It is a city centre pub with a local pub feel. You are always assured a warm welcome from mine hosts Dave,Jane and staff. Friendly locals too, you wont be short of people to chew the fat with. They serve well kept Joules cask ales as well as an ever changing guest cask. They also serve delicious home cooked food. A great british pub.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Billy_squibble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Boyz from the boat”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Fantastic Hosts, great atmosphere, Steak night on Thursdays 2 for £20 great value and not to be missed. This was our second visit and we weren't disappointed. Really friendly locals and good real ale. Folk friendly venue. Thanks to Jane and Dave. Will definitely be visiting again when next in Chester.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Clifford C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarporley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Steak night”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband don't live in Chester, but on several occasions we have popped into the Chester cross keys on a Thursday, for their steak night. The steaks have been cooked to perfection everytime, and best of all the ale is tiptop too!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Torie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cross Keys also viewed

 

Been to The Cross Keys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing