We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Edgar House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Edgar House
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Had a fabulous 2 night stay at Edgar House and we were completely blown away by the place!
Beautiful room, stunning bathroom and an impressive attention to detail.
Mike and Tim were friendly and helpful hosts, they made us feel like friends rather than guests. They really couldn't do enough for us, and we loved it.
Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear Jane
Many thanks for your lovely review, very much appreciated.
So pleased to hear you had a great stay, and I hope that Tim and I can welcome you and Steve again another time soon.
With best wishes,
Mike.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (697)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

663 - 669 of 697 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

What a fabulous place. Couldn't fault anything - we only stayed one night bed and breakfast, wish we had stayed longer. The bedroom was pure luxury. Tim and Mike were the perfect hosts - nothing was too much trouble and they would go out of their way to make your stay special. Would highly recommend this luxurious small boutique hotel to anybody staying in Chester - can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hilarybt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Dear Hilary
Many thanks indeed for your kind review.
We enjoyed having you stay and looking after you, it was our pleasure.
It would indeed be great for you to stay longer next time. We look forward to it.
Best wishes to you and Phil
Mike and Tim.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This boutique guest house is just fantastic. It has a prime location in Chester situated on the walls over looking the river. Walking distance for all shops, bars,restaurants and Chester races. The guys pride them selves on their service and the food in the eatery is just lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loretta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Dear Loretta
Many thanks for your lovely review.
It was lovely to have met you and Allan, and we're thrilled you enjoyed your stay.
I hope you can come back again soon.
With best wishes,
Mike.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We had a wonderful one night stay here when we were visiting Chester for business. The hosts couldn't be more welcoming. Edgar House is furnished beautifully with little quirks (honesty bar in a phone booth, just hope they reinforced the floor!). Lots of attention to detail here, the beds have even been designed specially so one can lie in bed and see the river ! Everything is in the right place which is harder to get right than it sounds.
This place really is a lesson in how to do hospitality and how to furnish. Breakfast was lovely. We had a balcony room and it was lovely to sit there as the evening sun went down planning where to go for dinner - and use the fast broadband.
Definitely worth a journey and if its not featuring in a Sunday supplement "10 best..." column soon I will be surprised. It isn't cheap but you get what you pay for and creating a stylish environment like this doesn't come cheap.
Best thing....the decor (am heading home to redecorate my house)
Its a shame that...there wasn't any chocolate in the honesty bar - unless someone had got there before me maybe? But a little mini Green and Blacks would go down very nicely
In a word (or two)....perfect

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsRP2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Dear MrsRP2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was our pleasure to have looked after you both.
And we did think about putting chocolate in the bar, Tim was for it, and I wasn't so sure, but now that you've mentioned it, I think Tim has won. And you're also right that it could really only be Green & Blacks!
It will be there for your next stay!
We hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes and safe trip home to Maidstone
Mike.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Having lived in Chester all my life, I have never felt the need to stay in a hotel in the city....until Edgar House appeared! This change started when I discovered the hotel garden. Several lovely visits to the garden later (having a coffee/quick glass of wine in the afternoon....and maybe a cake!) soon had me hankering for a night by the river. And so my husband and I checked in one glorious Thursday. We were warmly greeted by Mike who went out of his way to settle us in and make us feel at home. The river view room was amazing - beautifully decorated and set out with every tiny detail thought of. Sitting on the balcony with a glass of wine was pure heaven. The sound of the river and the view would rival anywhere in the world. After taking in the view at night we settled down to an idyllic sleep listening to the water. Breakfast was just delicious. Tim and Mike greeted us and served us with their usual kindness...and the food was mouthwatering. Eating breakfst by the river was another highlight. We were reluctant to leave this fabulous hotel and are already planning our return visit. This Chester girl has found her perfect Chester retreat!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely - but the balcony is a real plus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brownclantravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear Mark and Kate
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was our pleasure to have looked after you, fellow Cestrians! If ever you need another little break away from it all, just let us know - we're only round the corner :)
Best wishes,
Mike and Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in the deluxe balcony room and it was beautiful , the room was classy and comfortable the view over the river from the balcony was lovely we had breakfast the first morning on it and it was very nice, then we had lunch in the garden in the afternoon then spent the rest of the day on the bean bags sat under the trees with sun shinning celebrating our anniversary, the service from Michael and Tim was excellent they were very welcoming and friendly so thank you very much for making our anniversary very special.
So now I know where to come for lunch and to stay when I go to Chester cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorna1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear Lorna
Thank you so much for your fabulous review.
It was our pleasure to have looked after you for your Anniversary break, and we're thrilled you and Ian enjoyed it so much. As well as being very welcome for you to come back to Edgar House, we need to come to Llandudno and see you guys! Either way let's hope we see each other again very soon.
Very best wishes,
Mike and Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Stayed 4 nights at this first class hotel staying 2 nights in the fabulous junior suite and 2 nights in the deluxe balcony room, we have been lucky enough to stay in some top hotels throughout the world and this is the best we have had the pleasure to stay in. The rooms at this hotel are well thought out and everything is top top quality but for my wife and myself the service and attention to detail make this place the best. To meet the owners and to be asked if all ok and anything could be done for us on a daily basis by the owners is fantastic. The staff in general are also first class and we came away from edgar house feeling refreshed, spoilt, and special. Thankyou and look forward to staying again.

Room Tip: deluxe balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear Colin and Julie
What an amazing review - thank you SOOO much.
It was our absolute pleasure to look after you, and we're thrilled that you felt unwound after your stay.
Thanks too for mentioning our staff, who all work very hard.
I hope we can look after you and give you a special treat sometime again very soon.
Best wishes,
Mike.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,413 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 45 in Chester
1,700 reviews
4.9 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.1 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#5 of 45 in Chester
1,193 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#2 of 45 in Chester
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgar House

Address: 22 City Walls, Chester CH1 1SB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £162 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Edgar House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgar House is a fine period building overlooking the River Dee, offering peaceful riverside luxury in the heart of Chester. Spacious boutique rooms, dreamy beds, Egyptian cotton sheets, comfy sofas, real fires, bespoke furniture, internet TVs, Wi-fi & hard wired internet as standard. Bathrooms all have underfloor heating & fab showers, some with a freestanding bath & your own balcony overlooking the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Edgar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgar House Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing