We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional in all ways”
Review of Edgar House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Edgar House
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Wirral
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Exceptional in all ways”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

A one night stay as a birthday treat. From the moment you arrive to the second you depart you are looked after by Tim and Mike who take pleasure in ensuring your stay is as relaxing as possible. All the rooms ( 5 off I think) are different, each with their own unique quirks. We had a room - more a suite- with a balcony overlooking the walls and river. The bed is extra high so you can admire the view but does require a knack to get into. The room and bathroom are decorated to a very high standard and is very comfortable. The hotel is situated in a very quite location but is only 5 minutes walk along the city walls to the main shopping area.
Breakfast was excellent quality and served on our balcony - sitting in the summer sun whilst breakfast is served - heaven! Puzzled by the two very negative reviews - does not sound like the same place I stayed in. The only problem we had was that we had to leave! No hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Balcony is a plus but the bed is high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PE07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Peter
Many thanks indeed for your lovely review here and please also thank Maureen for the very kind letter she sent in the post.
Very glad to hear you enjoyed your breakfasts on the balcony
It was our pleasure to have served you and looked after you, and I hope we can do it again for you another time soon. The negative reviews by the way were posted in the wrong place and have since been removed! :)
Very best wishes to you two, and to Christine and Bill when you next see them
Mike and Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    642
    9
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
36
518
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2013

How do I begin, what a gem of a hotel. From the moment we arrived Mike and Tim couldn't do enough for us. We reserved a table for lunch and being sun worshipers Mike pointed out a table which suited us perfectly. Lunch was delicious and the staff extremely attentive throughout. When shown to our room we were overwhelmed and found it extremely relaxing listening to the river. Being light sleepers this was an absolute bonus. We booked in for breakfast which we would highly recommend, service again was second to none and nothing was too much trouble. We were able to leave our luggage on Saturday as we had booked a day at the races. On our return again everyone was extremely friendly and treated us like old friends. Would absolutely definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and would definitely stay again
Thanks Mike and Tim and your excellent staff.
Ann

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Ann
Thank you very much for your lovely words, and thanks too for mentioning our staff who work very hard.
It was a delight to have had you stay, and I look forward to welcoming you again another time soon.
Very best wishes,
Mike and Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I have to say that this is one of the nicest hotels I have had the pleasure of staying in. It definitely belongs in the boutique hotel category and the pride that Mike and Tim have is obvious from the moment you are greeted and shown around your room. The location is superb, overlooking as it does the river, helped by the fact that the terrace is situated right against the city walls where you can enoy a nice coffee and lunch. As for the junior suite room it was furnished with meticulous attention to every detail, including a magnificent copper bath in the bedroom...unusual but we enjoyed the quirkiness of the feature. The bathroom contained a massive rain shower in a wet room section. We would definitely come back to Edgars for future stays in Chester.

Room Tip: Although we didnt get to book it, the Balcony view rooms looked fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nebukinezzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Stephen and Sue
Many thanks indeed for your lovely review
It was our pleasure to have had you stay and for us to look after you, and although you're only down the road, I hope we can do it again soon for you.
Very best wishes,
Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2013

My husband & I decided to get away for the weekend whilst our daughter stayed with her grandparents. We want to stay somewhere that was that extra bit special so we felt relaxed after our stay... Wow we got exactly what we expected and hoped for whe we arrived we were greeted at the door . Hello Yvette that is when you know thye have done their homwork and want to make you stay special. The room was perfect in every way from the balcony to the bathroom. Mike took time out to give us a fully guided tour of beautifully decorated rooms that were available for us to use. He then prceed to get us a table booked at one of the local restaurants and nothing was too much trouble. It was a shame that our trip came to an end too sson as i think i could easily get used to the treatment you get when staying at Edgar House. We will be back again and hopefully not too long but we will wait until we get that break for our parent duties again..

Thanks for making our weekend so relaxing and perfect

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Yvette and Jon
Thank you soooo much for your lovely review. It was our pleasure to have looked after you, and I hope you can come back again soon. Give my regards to the Island! :)
Best wishes,
Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Atop the historic city walls of Chester overlooking the River Dee, sits the Edgar House. A bed and breakfast truly beyond compare. Elegant in every way. Beautifully furnished, appointed rooms. Delicious breakfast and lunch fare, created using local ingredients. A gorgeous riverside balcony where Mike has artfully preserved and integrated the indigenous trees, flora and fauna of the region. A setting perfect for eating, reading or simply getting lost in the beauty of the river.

But what really makes Edgar House perfection is the people. Edgar House consists of the most attentive and hospitable staff I've ever encountered in all my travels. Mike and Tim will pamper you in a way that doesn't require much requesting on your part. It's almost an art form the way they anticipate your needs and know what will delight you. What's more...that same attitude carries through each staff member you encounter during your stay.

Finding the Edgar House for my first trip to the UK has me feeling like I hit the jackpot, and apparently the experience was an emotional one...as I yearn to return next summer. Is it possible that staying at the Edgar House was the best part of my visit to Chester? An emphatic yes!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gfoley12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Gillian
It can be glibly said that someone arrives as a stranger and leaves as a friend, but in the few days that you stayed with us, that expression came true. Thank you SO much for coming to stay us, we were enriched by your company and I really hope we can stay in touch and that you are able to revisit us any opportunity that you can. Take good care of yourself Gillian and hope to see you again soon. Mike and Tim X
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We were very lucky to stay two nights at Edgar House this week. It is a gem, a luxurious hotel in a perfect setting within the old walls of Chester. We had wonderful views over the river and there was everything we could wish for in the room to make this a very special visit, including prints by Bob Dylan! Tim and Mike are extremely friendly attentive hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them, including making sure that I had gluten free food available. This was our first stay here but we can't wait to come back to see Edgar House and Tim & Mike again. If you are coming to Chester I would whole heartedly recommend this hotel as THE place to stay

Room Tip: We were shown all the rooms and they are all lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Dear Wendy
It was a delight to have met you and Paul, and it was our pleasure to have looked after you for your stay in Chester.
We too hope if you ever have occasion to come back to the North West, that we can welcome you back again to Chester and to Edgar House.
Very glad you got home to Peterborough safe and sound.
With best wishes,
Mike and Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Edgar House was, by far, the best hidden gem hotel I've ever found (and I pride myself on these sorts of things). Mike and Tim, the hosts, are the perfect British gentlemen and run a hotel (B&B, really) that would make Ritz Carlton executives start fretting if they stayed a night. It's that good. Luxurious, quiet, and perfectly located. You could not ask for more from a hotel. Beautiful artwork, an amazing room selection, beautiful balconies, and first class service.

Room Tip: Get a riverview balcony room. You won't be sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear TJ
Many thanks indeed for such a great review - very humbling. So very pleased though that you guys had such a lovely stay, and glad you got home OK. It was our pleasure to look after you, and I hope we might get chance to do it again for you should you ever come back to England.
Take good care
Best wishes,
Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,159 reviews
4.9 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#7 of 44 in Chester
1,133 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgar House

Property: Edgar House
Address: 22 City Walls, Chester CH1 1SB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Edgar House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgar House is a fine period building overlooking the River Dee, offering peaceful riverside luxury in the heart of Chester. Spacious boutique rooms, dreamy beds, Egyptian cotton sheets, comfy sofas, real fires, bespoke furniture, internet TVs, Wi-fi & hard wired internet as standard. Bathrooms all have underfloor heating & fab showers, some with a freestanding bath & your own balcony overlooking the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Edgar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgar House Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing