We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star hotel”
Review of Edgar House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Edgar House
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Stayed for two nights with friends and found Mike and Tim to be exemplary hosts. The whole of the hotel is beautifully furnished and decorated with great attention to detail. The service from all the staff was first class and Mike addressed everyone by their first names. Nothing was too much trouble. Two fabulous people have created something special. Treat yourself !!!! 5 Star.

Stayed: September 2013
1  Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear Paul
Many thanks indeed for your lovely review. We're thrilled you guys had such a lovely stay. The weather that you had for breakfast in the garden, we have put in a tin, and will re-open it on your next visit!
Very best wishes to you and Karen
Mike and Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (734)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

681 - 687 of 734 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

Only stayed for one night but wish it was longer, already trying to think of reasons it re visit chester to stay at Edgar House.
Mike and Tim offered outstanding service, nothing was to much. The hotel was luxurious and beautify decorated. Breakfast was delicious and presentation was exceptional!
Would recommend Edgar house highly.
Just want to say thank you for making our stay so special.

Laura x

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LVincent1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Laura
Many thanks indeed for your lovely review. You obviously got back to Bristol OK and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your mini break.
I hope we can welcome you and Simon back to Edgar House another time soon.
Best wishes,
Mike.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at the Edgar House Hotel for our ruby wedding anniversary. We could not have picked a more perfect hotel. The hotel is in a perfect location, a short distance from the river/city/and most tourist attractions. Mike and Tim were excellant hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them. We were in the riverview room. The decor was outstanding,a very comfortable bed and stunning wet room, we could even watch films on the smart tv if needed to.The other rooms in the hotel were just as good and we really liked the old telephone box honesty bar, it was certainly very different. Our daughter Katie was in contact with Mike to arrange surprise drinks on arrival and later on in the week a surprise meal. Mike was very accommodating which helped with the surprise.It was also the perfect place to sit in the garden overlooking the river enjoying the delicious food and drink.
We were here for 4 days and did not want to leave.
This hotel is a must. Can not reccommend it enough.
We will certainly return.
Thank you so much Mike and Tim for making this occaasiion so special for us.

Regards Carole and Edd

(Feedback code - W7LQ190)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole231252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Carole and Edd
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We enjoyed having you stay with us and it was extra nice for us because we were able to get to know you over the 4 days. Katie has a wonderful Mum and Dad! I hope we can look after you again another time soon.
Best wishes,
Mike.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This hotel is superb, the attaention to detail is excellent. Mike and Tim the owners are wonderful hosts where nothing is to much trouble. There has been no expense spared in the transforming this riverside property. All of the finnishings are of the highest quality and the service is amazing. Thank you both for an amazing experience at your delightful hotel !!!!

We will return

Jim and Karen

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear Jim and Karen
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We too enjoyed your stay with us, it was our pleasure to have looked after you - and Stephen and Julie :) - and I hope we'll be able to do it all again soon.
With very best wishes,
Mike and Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Stayed at the Edgar House for just one night for my boyfriends birthday. The hotel is ideally located close to town and the river with lots of restaurants close by. The owners Mike and Tim couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome. Upon arrival we were shown around the lovely rooms, including lounges (one of which doubles as a private cinema!) and the restaurant.
We were in the Junior Suite which was absolutely beautiful. It included the bedroom with a beautiful copper bath, large double bed, TV, a bathroom with 'his and hers' sinks, underfloor heating and also a rainfall shower, as well as the living room with huge tv. The TV itself had freeview and also access to bbc Iplayer and ITV player as well as unlimited films on LoveFilm. Every detail had been thought of from a hairdryer to the Molton Brown toiletries!
As we were unsure of where to eat Mike recommended a few restaurants and was happy to book us a table with no hesitation. As it was my boyfriends birthday he brought us a complimentary glass of champagne each!
The only negative we had from this hotel was the fact we had to leave! I can not recommend Edgar House enough and wouldn't hesitate to book again!
Thank you Mike and Tim for such a lovely stay, we will definitely be back very soon!
Sara & Ben

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Dear Sara
Thank you sooo much for your lovely review. It was our pleasure to have looked after you and thank you for thinking of us to celebrate Ben's birthday.
I hope to see you guys again soon.
Best wishes,
Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

After a 24 hour trip from Australia, Edgar House was an ideal place to relax and revive. It was wonderfully quiet and the bed was super comfy. The room was luxurious and I loved Mike and Tim's attention to detail. Breakfast was delightful.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMJ1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Dear Susan
Thanks so much for your great review. I hope all went well with your onward trip to Italy and of course back to Australia. It was lovely to meet you and I hope you'll think of us next time you're back in the UK.
Very best wishes,
Mike.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I stayed for just one night but wished it could have been longer. The hotel is in a perfect location in the heart of the city and on the river. All of Chester's tourist attractions are within minutes walk. Tim and Mike (the owners) have gone out of their way to provide simply stunning accommodations that easily compare to a 5 star hotel. The rooms are more than generous in size and the bathrooms are simply stunning. I had a couple of meals at the hotel and the menu and quality of food is excellent. This is a great addition to a beautiful city.

Room Tip: All the rooms appear to overlook the river. There is a beautiful room with a balcony overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Dear Mark P
Many thanks indeed for your lovely review. I hope you have a safe trip back to the States, and that we can also welcome you back to Chester and Edgar House the next time you visit England.
Very best wishes,
Mike and Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#3 of 45 in Chester
2,637 reviews
4.9 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#6 of 45 in Chester
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#13 of 45 in Chester
1,795 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#2 of 45 in Chester
825 reviews
2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgar House

Address: 22 City Walls, Chester CH1 1SB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £193 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Edgar House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgar House is a fine period building overlooking the River Dee, offering peaceful riverside luxury in the heart of Chester. Spacious boutique rooms, dreamy beds, Egyptian cotton sheets, comfy sofas, real fires, bespoke furniture, internet TVs, Wi-fi & hard wired internet as standard. Bathrooms all have underfloor heating & fab showers, some with a freestanding bath & your own balcony overlooking the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Edgar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgar House Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing