We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lulled to sleep by the River Dee”
Review of Edgar House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Edgar House
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Burwell, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lulled to sleep by the River Dee”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Trip Adviser told us this was the second best B&B in Chester - of 70. It is set on the city walls and overlooks the River Dee. It is fantastically appointed with every comfort and the owners offered us every advice and consideration. The room was elegant yet comfortable and the breakfast similarly elegant and so tasty. The room was a little warm so we opened the window - hence the lulled by the River Dee falling over the nearby weir. Some might find it annoying, to us it was the perfect sound to accompany the visual and tactile delights of the room and the view.

We had booked only one night and regretted having to leave to stay in an upmarket hotel in Wales which was twice as expensive and not so comfortable. We shall return to stay with Mike & Tim in what must be the best B&B in Chester.

We dined at the Brewery Tap nearby which was recommended and this turned out to be the perfect adjunct to Edgar House.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms with a balcony on which to have breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Tim
Thank you so very much for your lovely review. That's very gracious of you. We too enjoyed having you and Val stay with us, and I hope we can look after you again another time soon.
Very best wishes,
Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    643
    9
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
36
519
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grappenhall
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We had the pleasure of spending a night in Edgar House - and we both wished it had been for longer ! Special people combine to make special places and in the owners - Mike + Tim and all of their great staff you really will be in the hands of a 'special' team . The location is fantastic , the building is appointed to the highest standard , the rooms are great .... I could go on ad nausea about the brilliant things you will uncover during your stay ... but again I always come back to the people . Its the team that makes this boutique hotel a place I'll be coming back to again and again - they are terrific ... you will not be disappointed ....

Bill R.

Room Tip: Try and pay a little more for the river facing balcony .. well worth it in the early morning light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Dear Bill
Many thanks indeed for such a lovely review. That was very kind of you. We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us, and even more so to know that you'd like to stay again in the future. I hope we can look forward to having yourself and Wendy stay with us again very soon. Best wishes Bill, Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed at this beautiful hotel, fell in love before even walking through the front door. We were greeted by Tim on arrival who was very warm and welcoming. We were showed round the hotel which has been decorated to a very high standard, the attention to detail is breathtaking. Particularly liked the honesty bar, an old fashioned phone box stylishly converted into a sleek mini bar. We were then introduced to Mike, another lovely gentleman, who showed us to our accommodation. An exquisite room with a rather large bed covered in Egyptian cotton, the kind of bed that you sink into and never want to leave. It had lovely views of the River Dean, and even in October, the sun was shining and made it a truly wonderful setting for such a beautiful hotel. The only disappoint was that we had only booked in for one evening... Next time we shall stay all weekend. S7LS81F

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Laura
Many thanks indeed for your lovely review. That was very sweet of you to give us that great feedback - much appreciated. I hope next time you can indeed spend a weekend - it would be our pleasure to look after you and Richard again.
Very best wishes,
Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I know Chester and its Hotels very well. I stayed in this absolutely first rate small hotel recently and would place in in the front rank. Exquisite rooms (only five but two more to come) and faultless service. Attention to even the smallest detail that large hotels, however grand, cannot match. A splendid position right on the river the sound from which will lull you into your best nights sleep ever. I would not dream of staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: They are all individual and each one fantastic: all are on the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 65George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear George
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was of course our privilege to have looked after yourself and Linda, and I do hope we can do it all again soon. We will look forward to it. Very best wishes, Mike and Tim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Spacious accommodating immaculate small hotel. Near to shops and restaurants. Service and food from Mike and Tim superb. Overlooks the river and ten minutes to racecourse. Strict no smoking all in all a fabulous stay

Room Tip: River view with balcony
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Ian
Many thanks indeed for your great review - much appreciated.
I hope we can welcome you and Sonia back again soon.
Very best wishes,
Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Decided to stay at Edgar House whilst on business but took my wife aling for a break. Edgar House is the nicest, most relaxing and fruendly hotel we have ever stayed in.

We booked a Junior Suite with a copper bath. Quite simply amazing and the attention to detail was superb.

Really looking forward to our next stay at Edgar House.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bneilpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Neil
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was our pleasure to look after you and Denise - and we look forward to welcoming you again in a couple of weeks! :)
Very best wishes,
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We have stayed at many places in Chester, including the most famous, but Edgar House is the best.
We sort of hoped to keep this secret, but many others have since posted, so it is too late.
Immaculate room, perfect position, excellent good value breakfast in garden. What is more difficult to explain is the quality of service provided by Mike and Tim, excellent sort of understates it.
No question where we will stay next time in Chester.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Richard
Many thanks indeed for your very lovely and kind review. It was a delight to have looked after you, and I hope you'll come back and stay with us next time you're in Chester.
Very best wishes,
Mike and Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,164 reviews
4.9 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#7 of 44 in Chester
1,133 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgar House

Property: Edgar House
Address: 22 City Walls, Chester CH1 1SB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Edgar House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgar House is a fine period building overlooking the River Dee, offering peaceful riverside luxury in the heart of Chester. Spacious boutique rooms, dreamy beds, Egyptian cotton sheets, comfy sofas, real fires, bespoke furniture, internet TVs, Wi-fi & hard wired internet as standard. Bathrooms all have underfloor heating & fab showers, some with a freestanding bath & your own balcony overlooking the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Edgar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgar House Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing