We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special people achieve special things”
Review of Edgar House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Edgar House
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Grappenhall
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Special people achieve special things”
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay at Edgar House and we look forward to our return ! Tim and Mike have created a special place -complete in every way and with an attention to detail that is exquisite. Seek this jewel out and enjoy your stay - you will be delighted ...



Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Bill
Many thanks indeed for your lovely review
It was great to see you and Wendy again yesterday and I hope we can welcome you both again soon
Very best wishes
Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    8
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
36
510
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Cannot find any fault with the beautiful two nights we spent at this wonderful hotel run by the friendliest people we have had the pleasure of meeting. From being welcomed at the door, the fire being lit in the garden lounge, the red velvet cake (amazing) and the best breakfast we've had (probably ever), Edgar house is the quite easily the best place we've stayed at! Comfy beds, beautiful bathrooms and amazing customer service this will definitely be a place we recommend to everyone!!!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Jennifer
Thank you so much for your lovely review, very kind indeed, and we're thrilled you had a great time. I hope we can welcome you and Peter back again from 'Donny', it would be our pleasure to look after you again
Very best wishes
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Went for afternoon tea with family at Edgar House and it was AMAZING. Best we have ever had.

The food was fantastic with four choices of deep filled sandwiches, chicken and bacon, egg, smoked salmon and ham - all freshly made. After this was mini cupcakes, fruit cake, chocolate brownie and scone with a choice of jams and cream. We each had a pot of tea, which held two cups each. The service was fantastic from both the waitress and owner, both very friendly and helpful. To top of the afternoon tea, £2 of the total cost is donated to Clatterbridge hospital which is a great idea. We never felt rushed to move on and the café was cosy, warm and comfortable.

The food and service was so good we have already booked to go for lunch in a few weeks!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAC010809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear CAC010809
Many thanks indeed for your lovely review, that's very kind of you - and fantastic that you've booked again. We look forward to welcoming you for lunch in a few weeks.
Thank you again
Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

A truly fabulous hotel. Mike & Tim are excellent hosts and what they have created is outstanding. Everything is of excellent quality, no expense spared at all. We thoroughly enjoyed our night in a river view room. We ate lunch in their restaurant, food was delicious and staff super efficient and friendly. Everything about our stay in Chester was perfect, have already recommended this hotel to many people and if (I hope) we return to Chester we wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. (feedback code: B7WZ26W). Thank you Mike & Tim for taking such good care of us!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PDLMillSki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Debbie
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and indeed enjoyed Chester itself. Sounds like you're due a return visit! :) We hope we can welcome you and Paul again soon.
Very best wishes,
Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed here for one night back in August after a trip to Wales for my husband's 40th. I was wanting a boutique hotel (big fan of Mrs and Mrs Smith) It was just what we were looking for and more. We managed to get a room at the last minute on a sunday night and i am so glad we did! Beautiful decor (inspired me to repaint 2 rooms on our return!). Amazing views of the river (love the high beds!), perfect central location. Mike and Tim just the best hosts, managed to secure us a table at 'Upstairs at the Grill' which served the best steaks we have ever had. Nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel so welcome. Hope to return very soon. If you are looking to stay in Chester this should be your first and only destination!

Room Tip: We managed to see a few of the rooms - all were beautiful but go for the balcony one
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sparkleseverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this review, 27 October 2014
Dear Sophie and Matt
Many thanks indeed for your lovely review. We're ever so grateful and I hope we can welcome you back again to Edgar House sometime in the near future
Best wishes, Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Me and my partner stayed at the beautiful guest house for one night. Which is the only complaint we have.... it wasn't LONG enough.
Mike and Tim are without doubt the most welcoming of hosts we have ever met.
I cannot stress enough if you are looking for somewhere to stay whilst visiting Chester, this is the place.
It was spotlessly clean, the rooms were beautiful. The room we stayed in was overlooking the River Dee. The bed was huge and the attention to detail was fab, even down to the morning menu, which had fun facts for that particular day. The food was lovely. I myself loved the damson jam which I believe is made by a local lady.
I have been nagging my other half for him to book again very soon.
Thank you Mike and Tim and staff for making us feel so welcome in your wonderful hotel.

Liz and Troy.
(P4NI56D)

Room Tip: Try to pick a room with River view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMH68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Liz and Troy
Thank you ever so much for your review, you're very kind
It was lovely to have met you guys, and I agree you must stay longer next time to get to know each other better
Take good care and hope to see you in 2014!
Best wishes,
Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

There isn't really much to add to the unanimous praise that Edgar House has won on TripAdvisor. I was sceptical that it could be as good as people declare it to be but indeed it is. I have never seen another hotel on TripAdvisor get such universal acclaim: The location is gorgeous and very convenient for the city centre and the rooms have been put together with an attention to detail (e.g. heated mirrors in the bathrooms that don't steam up, beds designed to be high enough to give you a river view) that is, quite frankly, awe inspiring. The breakfast was phenomenal. As other people have said, the owners could not be more helpful or accommodating. We stayed one night and before we left had already decided to book it for another weekend in 2014. I cannot wait. (Feedback code J8EV98Y)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Fox190786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Simon and Lucy
Thank you so much for such an amazing review - we are very humbled
We look forward to looking after you again in June - I hope the weather's nice for you using your balcony!
Very best wishes
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,081 reviews
4.9 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#8 of 44 in Chester
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,616 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgar House

Property: Edgar House
Address: 22 City Walls, Chester CH1 1SB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Edgar House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgar House is a fine period building overlooking the River Dee, offering peaceful riverside luxury in the heart of Chester. Spacious boutique rooms, dreamy beds, Egyptian cotton sheets, comfy sofas, real fires, bespoke furniture, internet TVs, Wi-fi & hard wired internet as standard. Bathrooms all have underfloor heating & fab showers, some with a freestanding bath & your own balcony overlooking the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Edgar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgar House Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing