We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Edgar House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Edgar House
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Beautiful hotel”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My best friend and I have just stayed at this hotel and I wanted everyone to know what a beautiful place this is. The attention to detail and the furnishings is clear from the moment you walk in.
We were greeted by the owner who took us to our riverside room and showed us how to work all the things in the room, he then called a taxi for us to get to the races nothing seemed too much trouble. If you looking for a boutique hotel with a bit of edge this is the place to go. The breakfast in the morning was also first class and I will definitely go back here again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebeccakinsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Rebecca
Many thanks for your review and for coming to stay with us. We're thrilled you had a great time and it would be our pleasure to welcome you and Conor back to Edgar House
Best wishes,
Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    608
    9
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
493
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I was only able to stay for one night, but the experience was perfect. A beautiful hotel that has clearly been thought through to the tiniest detail, with great care and attention, so that every guest feels personally cared for and looked after. The hosts Tim and Mike made sure every guest had a personal welcome and were unobtrusive but always available when needed. It's easy to see that they genuinely care that each guest enjoys their stay. The rooms are luxuriously comfortable, the breakfasts are decadent and the river view is superb. Being right on the ancient Roman wall around Chester it's also a perfect place to explore the city from.
I was lucky enough to have a river-view room (the bed is raised so that you can even enjoy the view as you wake up!) with balcony - book this if you possibly can!
Emir

Room Tip: Book a river-view room with balcony if you can, but every room I saw was lavishly comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emir H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Emir
Thank you so much for your lovely review and I'm glad you got back to London OK
It was a pleasure to meet you and look after you and I do hope that you can come back again soon - and stay for longer
Very best wishes
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Just off the wall near the river Dee is a beautiful white Georgian building where we went for afternoon tea. We sat outside in the sunshine overlooking the river and were served a tray of loving homemade sandwiches, followed by scones and mini cakes which were all delicious. The staff were all lovely particularly the gentleman who showed us to our seats and made sure we were comfortable. Five stars for the stunning surroundings and attention to detail

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Sairarya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Sairarya
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I hope we can welcome you back another time soon. Best wishes, Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I chose this hotel after doing plenty of research online, and must admit it has lived up to all previous reviews.
It was real treat in every respect...I am a fuss pot and usually find something 'not quite so' in every hotel I have stayed in; this was not the case this time. The owners genuinely care about their guests experience which makes all the difference. I'm a convert....no more chain hotels for me!
Perfect in every way.
Thank you Mike and Tim.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miaandrichiesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear MiaAndRichiesMum
Thank you very much for your lovely review. You have me at a slight disadvantage, in that your username doesn't give away who you are - I think I know but daren't guess just in case :)
Anyway, thrilled that you had a fab time with us and enjoyed Chester too. When are you moving up ? Hope to see you again soon. Best wishes, Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Enjoyed every minute of our stay. Wished we could have stayed longer and will definitely return. From the hosts to the amazing room and delicious breakfast, it could not be any better. We stayed in a river view room with a balcony and would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah_u_k87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Sarah
Thank you so much for your lovely review
I'm glad you and Colm got home OK to Cottingham, and I hope we can welcome you back again very soon
Very best wishes,
Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We have spent Easter Bank Holiday weekend at Edgar House and from the moment we arrived to the minute we left we had a truly 5 star experience.

The rooms are designed, furnished and equipped to a tasteful and high standard from the Bed linen to the Bathroom and even the Silk teabags, daily fresh milk and chocolate brownies!

Mike and Tim are fantastic hosts and provide a warm welcome to Edgar House and nothing is too much trouble, their passion for their Business and its high standards is clearly evident and they really have created a gem of a Hotel. This is a real 5 star Hotel with a friendly attitude and a comfortable and relaxed environment.

Lets not forget the Staff who always had a smile and provided us with a excellent and friendly service.

Thank you Mike, Tim and all the Staff for a truly fantastic and comfortable stay and we hope to see you soon.

Phil & Mandy

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philandmandy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Phil and Mandy
Thank you ever so much for your great review
It is really appreciated and especially mentioning our staff who do an excellent job
I hope we can welcome you again soon, it would be our pleasure to look after you again
Best wishes,
Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

There seems to be little I can add to the glowing reviews already written about Edgar House, but I'll give it my best shot! Despite arriving earlier than expected, and slap-bang into the middle of a private party, we still received a warm welcome from Mike and Tim, were shown to the lounge and given a cup of tea while our room was made ready for us. The room itself - the Riverview Balcony - was fabulous. The bed is rather high so that you can take advantage of the view of the river, and as I'm only 5'3", this presented a slight challenge, but it was worth it to be able to watch the herons fishing from the comfort of the bed! We took advantage of the "Wonderful Sunday" offer, and can vouch for both the Sunday lunch and the cooked breakfast - both were excellent and a real testament to the excellent quality and attention to detail we experienced throughout our stay. We left feeling thoroughly cosseted - thank you very much, we hope to be able to visit again one day.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreedyLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear GreedyLizzie
Sorry I can't use your real name, Tripadvisor won't let me :)
Thanks so much for your lovely review. It was lovely to meet you and look after you and your partner. I hope we can do it again soon. Very best wishes, Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,013 reviews
4.9 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#8 of 44 in Chester
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
647 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgar House

Property: Edgar House
Address: 22 City Walls, Chester CH1 1SB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Edgar House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgar House is a fine period building overlooking the River Dee, offering peaceful riverside luxury in the heart of Chester. Spacious boutique rooms, dreamy beds, Egyptian cotton sheets, comfy sofas, real fires, bespoke furniture, internet TVs, Wi-fi & hard wired internet as standard. Bathrooms all have underfloor heating & fab showers, some with a freestanding bath & your own balcony overlooking the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotels.com so you can book your Edgar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgar House Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing