We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem, with personal touches that make it extra special”
Review of Edgar House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Edgar House
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A hidden gem, with personal touches that make it extra special”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Seldom do I ever feel compelled to write reviews - and if I did, it would usually be because of a bad experience - but Edgar House is quite simply a place I think everyone should know about.

Myself and my partner stayed here on July 20 (my birthday) - I was working in Liverpool but decided to venture to Chester to enjoy a nice meal and overnight stay. We booked a junior suite - the copper bath appealed!

From the second we arrived, we were treated with care and attention. Mike, the owner, greeted us with a short tour, topped off with a glass of Prosecco and a chocolate brownie! Heaven! He struck a perfect balance between welcoming us, and giving us the space and privacy to enjoy our stay.

The room was beautiful - stunning decor and finished to an extremely high standard. It is clear that Mike and Tim (who served us out fab breakfast this morning!) have invested so much time, attention and love into the renovation of the hotel. Traditional, but quirky, every part of Edgar House is beautifully different (from the Honesty Bar to the Jelly Belly machine in the entrance hall).

We had a really comfortable night's sleep, a gorgeous breakfast in the garden this morning and overall a really pleasant stay. I would not hesitate to recommend it and hope we can return again soon to stay in one of the other rooms, which I am sure will be equally fabulous!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouiseAdele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Louise
Many thanks indeed for your lovely review. It was totally our pleasure to have looked after you and Andrew and I hope you can come back and try another room soon! :)
Best wishes,
Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    653
    10
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
36
530
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for just one night in July. Mike showed us to our room and took care to explain how everything worked. The room was beautifully appointed with the best selection of teas I've ever seen and lovely Molton Brown toiletries. Probably the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in with gorgeous luxurious bedding. We had a room with a balcony which we sat out on watching the herons on the River Dee. There was fresh fruit in the hallway and an honesty bar which was well stocked. Perfect!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cjb_trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Carolyn
Many thanks indeed for your lovely review, we're ever so grateful. I do hope that we can welcome you and Chris back sometime soon
Very best wishes,
Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Thanks Tim and Mike - we experienced another fantastic stay at Edgar House - we have visited twice and on both occasions everything has been of fantastic standard. Very warm welcome, had lunch on the Saturday afternoon and then stayed Friday night. Bedroom was of excellent standard and extremely clean. Had breakfast in the garden on Saturday morning which was excellent and well worth spending the extra money on. Keep up the good work boys - as usual cannot would highly recommend to anyone visiting Chester - it is an absolute must to stay here - that's if it is not fully booked and someone has beaten you to it. Also didn't manage to say "goodbye" to Tim as we had a walk along the wall on the Saturday before going home!! See you both next year. Thanks again from Hilary and Philip. Feedback Code: N5UB54B

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hilarybt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Hilary and Philip
Thank you ever so much for another great review. We're humbled! We look forward to seeing you again soon - hopefully sooner than next year :)
Very best wishes,
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk District, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed at Edgar House on the first part of our summer break and we were very impressed. The hotel is everything it says on the website and in the reviews and more. Our room was very well appointed and had lovely views over the river. We really liked the comfy sofa and the beautiful bathroom. We also really liked the understated nature of Edgar House as a hotel there were no large intrusive guest signs and notices and it really was luxury The most impressive part of our stay was the service. Both Mike and Tim were superb hosts and nothing was too much trouble. We really enjoyed having breakfast in the garden and we thought the quality of the breakfasts was outstanding - we particularly liked the homemade bread!! Overall a fantastic stay and like many others, we will return.

Room Tip: We enjoyed a room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Lesley
Thank you sooo much for your lovey review. We've been quite lucky with the weather being nice first thing in the morning so have had quite a few takers for breakfast outside by the river. We're thrilled you enjoyed it too. I hope we can welcome you and Alastair back again very soon. Very best wishes, Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Myself and my partner had a 1 night stay in the Junior suite with its copper bath feature was perfect! Great hosts, rooms, food, location. Will definitely be back again and recommending to all our family and friends!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarliJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Carli
Many thanks indeed for your lovely review - very kind of you. Glad you liked the copper bath :)
I hope we can welcome you and Darren again in the not too distant future
Very best wishes
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broxburn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My new husband and I recently stayed at the Edgar House Hotel in Chester on 7 July for 3 nights.We received a very warm welcome from Mike when we arrived and we were shown our fabulous room and how everything worked. We had a suite with a lounge and a hugh TV set which was great to watch the World Cup games on, the bathroom was amazing with a fabulous shower and Molton Brown toiletries which also included a complementary treatment at the local shop. The hotel has a great situation looking out on to the river and just next to the ancient wall walk round the city. Mike and Tim were wonderful hosts and made our honeymoon stay very special. I loved the brownies that appeared in our room every evening, the honesty bar is a great idea and is well stocked and the breakfast was to die for. We will also be back hopefully very soon as we would love to do more around Chester. The only down side is that the Edgar House Hotel has spoilt us for every hotel we stay from now on. I cannot recommend this hotel high enough.

Room Tip: Quiet room with a lounge and a copper bath tub in the bedroom, a fabulous rainfall shower room and v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Julia
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We're thrilled that you stayed with us at the start of yours and Hugh's married life together and I hope we can welcome you back another time in the near future
Very best wishes to you both
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Edgar House certainly deserves the position of no1 Bed and Breakfast in Chester. Tim and Mike made us extremely welcome this weekend and we had a superb night (shame it was only 1). Edgar House is in an excellent position to take in the sights of Chester, or just perfect to enjoy the luxury provided in this superb accommodation.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ClaireLWo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Claire
Many thanks indeed for your lovely review
Keep winning those pub quizzes and we hope to see you and Simon, and Karen and Des next year! :)
Very best wishes
Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,232 reviews
4.9 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.1 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#6 of 44 in Chester
1,149 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgar House

Property: Edgar House
Address: 22 City Walls, Chester CH1 1SB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Edgar House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgar House is a fine period building overlooking the River Dee, offering peaceful riverside luxury in the heart of Chester. Spacious boutique rooms, dreamy beds, Egyptian cotton sheets, comfy sofas, real fires, bespoke furniture, internet TVs, Wi-fi & hard wired internet as standard. Bathrooms all have underfloor heating & fab showers, some with a freestanding bath & your own balcony overlooking the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Edgar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgar House Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing