We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice lunch”
Review of The Square Bottle

The Square Bottle
Ranked #135 of 554 Restaurants in Chester
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice lunch”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We visit Chester a lot to see family so popped into this wetherspoons for lunch to get a break from shopping last week. Ordered two burgers and the chicken skewers as one of us is gluten free. Food arrived quickly and was tasty and hot just what we wanted for a quick lunch. Only complaint was that it was a but stuffy in there when we arrived but asked the staff and they opened the doors to get some fresh air in and we ended up staying for another drink.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie G, Manager at The Square Bottle, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your kind words we hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    130
    46
    35
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great visit”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Came in and had a sunday roast my family, couldn't fault it. Great food for the price, served hot and with a smile. Good sevice and atmosphere, happy visit

Helpful?
1 Thank emskidelarue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie G, Manager at The Square Bottle, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Were glad you enjoyed it were very proud of our Sunday roasts. Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Wetherspoons Value”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

A reasonable meal at an amazing price at the end of a busy day. The highlight of a Wetherspoons visit are the jugs of cocktails and this was no exception. After a nice meal, the jug of Pimms went down very nicely and we were able to relax for a while. You know what you're getting with a Wetherspoons and while I feel the portions could be a bit bigger, the meal was tasty.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moany_mum65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie G, Manager at The Square Bottle, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Hello,
Were glad you enjoyed your experience here at The Square Bottle. Look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Always good value at a Wetherspoons but why do they all have to be so dark? We had to sit near the fire exit, the only place where we could actually read the menu. We ordered fish and chips and a beefburger. The chips were very tasty even before we added salt and vinegar but the fish was a thin white sliver encased in thick batter. The beefburger was nice and thick and it came with some lovely bacon so no complaints there. I cannot fault the staff, they were very friendly and helpful and our orders arrived in good time, not too quickly and not too tardily. Overall, a good place for a drink and a quick lunch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“what a disappointment”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

On a short break in Chester and decided to eat here in the evening. Menu looked average as other pub menus do. But we were short on time so decided to give it a go.
The pub wasn't busy, only a few people drinking. Tables were dirty and sticky and there didn't appear to be many staff around. Hubby had a mixed grill and I had a gammon steak with egg.
All meat was very greasy and tough, mushrooms were almost swimming in fat and mixed grill meat was hard to distinguish as it looked all the same. We were told to help ourselves to condiments on the table in the corner and then left alone.
We left some of our food and made a quick exit. We don't use rate Wetherspoons as they're pretty average, but this excelled at being awful.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teresa425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Square Bottle also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to The Square Bottle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing