We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing,”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Square Bottle

The Square Bottle
Ranked #138 of 553 Restaurants in Chester
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing,”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Visited this wetherspoons for food and drinks on a weds afternoon. We arrived after first having drinks at their sister bar -The Forest House around the corner, what a contrast! This pub was busier than the previous place but none of the staff seemed interested in either our custom or being there in general. The drinks were served and change chucked onto the bar by a barmaid who barely acknowledged us, and proceeded to stand chatting about her children to a fed-up seeming barman. The food was ok, a standard Wetherspoon offering, tasty and hot, at a good price, but it took far longer than we would normally expect, especially as it seemed not a lot of other customers were eating around the place. Will return to Chester again in the future, but will avoid this Wetherspoon pub, especially with another not far away.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie G, Manager at The Square Bottle, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Hello Steven,
Were very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience here at the Square Bottle. Thank you for your feedback i have passed to comments onto the team on duty that day and we hope to improve on customer service from them. If you would like to pop in and speak to a manager and maybe find some way to compensate for this mistake then please do so.
We wont let this happen again and hope that next time you visit you have a more pleasant experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    125
    46
    34
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We visit Chester a lot to see family so popped into this wetherspoons for lunch to get a break from shopping last week. Ordered two burgers and the chicken skewers as one of us is gluten free. Food arrived quickly and was tasty and hot just what we wanted for a quick lunch. Only complaint was that it was a but stuffy in there when we arrived but asked the staff and they opened the doors to get some fresh air in and we ended up staying for another drink.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie G, Manager at The Square Bottle, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your kind words we hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Came in and had a sunday roast my family, couldn't fault it. Great food for the price, served hot and with a smile. Good sevice and atmosphere, happy visit

Helpful?
1 Thank emskidelarue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie G, Manager at The Square Bottle, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Were glad you enjoyed it were very proud of our Sunday roasts. Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Wetherspoons Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

A reasonable meal at an amazing price at the end of a busy day. The highlight of a Wetherspoons visit are the jugs of cocktails and this was no exception. After a nice meal, the jug of Pimms went down very nicely and we were able to relax for a while. You know what you're getting with a Wetherspoons and while I feel the portions could be a bit bigger, the meal was tasty.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moany_mum65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie G, Manager at The Square Bottle, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Hello,
Were glad you enjoyed your experience here at The Square Bottle. Look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice friendly atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Always good value at a Wetherspoons but why do they all have to be so dark? We had to sit near the fire exit, the only place where we could actually read the menu. We ordered fish and chips and a beefburger. The chips were very tasty even before we added salt and vinegar but the fish was a thin white sliver encased in thick batter. The beefburger was nice and thick and it came with some lovely bacon so no complaints there. I cannot fault the staff, they were very friendly and helpful and our orders arrived in good time, not too quickly and not too tardily. Overall, a good place for a drink and a quick lunch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Square Bottle also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 
 

Been to The Square Bottle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing