We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic night”

The Oaklands Hungry Horse
Ranked #347 of 553 Restaurants in Chester
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic night”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Just thought I'd leave a review to thank the oaklands for what can only be described as a fantastic night. Great food, excellent service and thoroughly enjoyed the speed quiz. Woul highly recommend this to everyone

Helpful?
3 Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    52
    33
    15
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Called in for a meal recently while visiting chester. Food is good standard pub grub, good value but football everywhere was a little off putting.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb meal with friends”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Today I visited the Oaklands in Chester with a few of my friends let me tell you. This is no ordinary hungry horse the staff were extremely friendly and we were served with welcoming arms our starters were at the table within 5 minuets by a lovely waitress who ensured everything was to expectations which is was. After our starters the plates were taken away rapidly and out came our main meals cooked to perfection. Who again the waitress ensured everything was to our expectations finally when we had finished our meals we were asked if we would like anything else deserts coffee teas Couldn't of had a better experience!! Will be defiantly visiting this establishment again! Barvo!!!

Helpful?
3 Thank XJ03YXJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wont be going there again”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

No lager, no peppercorn sauce, knifes and forks were dirty, onion rings were burnt, asked for well done steak and got a a rare-medium (still bloody) food was a bit cold.
Wont be eating there again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
157 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Don't turn your nose up at the name!”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Yes this is a "Hungry Horse" but as another reviewer has said, the steaks are surprisingly good - and it was nice to see, in such a 'good value' place, some healthy options. Just popped in as it had started raining and we didn't want to continue into Hoole - was very surprised at the choice on the menu, varied crowd in there, but all 'nice'; couples, families, locals by the look of it. Myself and two sons had plenty to choose from, one of the steaks was a little 'sinewy' my son explained this to a passing waitress and she immediately apologised and removed the meal - she quickly returned with a whole new meal (onion rings & 2 fried eggs that had been eaten replaced) and a genuine apology once again. You do expect this from 'higher establishments' but the service here was excellent - and the toilets were very clean! We will now definitely return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Moira A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Oaklands Hungry Horse also viewed

Chester, Cheshire
Ellesmere Port, Cheshire
 
Bromborough, Wirral
 

Been to The Oaklands Hungry Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing