We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chester's best kept secret - but probably not secret for long!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edgar's Riverside Eating

Edgar's Riverside Eating
Ranked #158 of 548 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Edgar's Riverside Eating, the most peaceful and relaxing garden environment for light meals, delicious hand-made sandwiches, sweet treats, Afternoon Teas and even for a glass or two of fizz by the river
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Chester's best kept secret - but probably not secret for long!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Truly a fantastic evening in a stunning setting! Staff are warm and welcoming - interested in chatting but not intrusive; surroundings really special but still homely - oh, and did I mention the food was fantastic?? Been to Edgar's several times for coffee and lunch but this was our first experience of their dining menu - the vegetarian option was a real treat and easily matched the gourmet beef dish for the meat eaters.

Edgar's has only just started opening up at night but get a reservation soon before they book out. We'll be back as soon as we can!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karyn20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    34
    16
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
94 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very nice food with nice views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

This place is strategically located for views of the river, and luckily enough beyond the point in which boats can go, so it remains very quiet.

On days with nice weather I doubt one can find a much better place to have lunch on this town, I would go as far as suggest that you should make a point of visiting, it is quite pleasent and a nice point of resting from whatever else may have brought you into town, and Chester being relatively small you can't be further than 10-15 minutes walk from this place

The food choice was quite nice, brunch and lunch overlap for 30 minutes from noon, so in spite of being lunch time we still could order the excellent eggs Benedict, which were nicelly presented and tasty.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TzctlpcLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
276 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Nice lunch in pretty garden on a Chester City Wall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stopped here for lunch this Sunday. They have a pretty garden with a good splattering of tables laid out with plenty of room around them. Service was polite ( I'll forgive the waiter forgetting to bring our bottled water) that cost a 5* rating! but everything else was good. We had a selection of open sandwiches served on homemade rye bread. Very nice and good to have something a bit different from the norm. There's a good drink selection and sides to choose from and from what I could see a decent range of more formal dinner/lunch dishes. Would recommend for a lazy afternoon lunch.

Helpful?
1 Thank Hypothalamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Absolutely Spot On, a hidden gem.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Fab restaurant tucked away almost hidden from view beside the walls, good menu for both breakfast and dinner, it has rooms as well but never stayed there, only went for food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank musicstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Simply Divine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Had brunch here by the river, the trees were in blossom and sitting outside with the sounds of the river was simply divine. The food was excellent. The staff very friendly. Would absolutely recommend and can't wait to go back. Such an experience being surrounded by beauty and eating outside. Lovely x

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Edgar's Riverside Eating also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Edgar's Riverside Eating? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing