We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“waffletastic”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Central Perk Chester - CLOSED

Central Perk Chester
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: American style coffee house based on the hit US sitcom F.R.I.E.N.D.S nominated locally and finalists of the taste Cheshire food and wine festival in category of best coffee shop in Cheshire two years running. Serving in addition to great coffee and tea are sandwiches and our amazing US style Pancakes and Waffles with plenty of toppings to choose from. We host quiz evenings from 7pm every Thursday which is free entry and a chance to win prizes. Central Perk we will always be there for you"
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“waffletastic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Went here 24th October via a groupon deal

Got 2 coffees and 2 American waffles for £6-50, which was a decent price

The waffles were plenty big enough and very tasty, I had the chocolate sauce on mine, it was thoroughly enjoyed. The decor was ace, just what you'd expect from a theme related cafe

My one complaint about the place, would be the lukewarmness of the coffee (hence 3 instead of 4 out of 5)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank twar1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig N, Manager at Central Perk Chester, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Great feedback!! I'm Really glad to hear that you had a great time while you was here enjoying our food. I will certainly look into why your coffee wasn't as hot as it should be but a good tip is if you ask at the tills for your drink to be made extra hot our trained barista will ensure the coffee you recieve will be lovely and steaming.


Kind regards

Craig NIcholson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    76
    38
    22
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“In search of Chandler Bing....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Being a fan of the show i had to go & i thought it was great. Lots of comfy sofas and big tv screens showing episodes of friends.
We both enjoyed our coffee and the surroundings. Think they need to promote the food better though as we missed the menu completley.It wasn't until we heard another customer ordering waffles and panini's we realised they did any.
Hope to visit again while we are in chester may even try the waffles this time.

Helpful?
1 Thank Misty_8_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig N, Manager at Central Perk Chester, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Following your feedback I have drawn up a full menu for the sign that is usually placed outside so that customers can find what food we have before they enter our store, The menus can also be found online at www.central-perk.co.uk/chester, This was great feedback because I have been able to see how our food is presented from your perspective and have been able to make changes to help improve our business and make our customers live a little easier. On a exciting note I'm really happy to hear that you loved our little place.

Kind regards

Craig NIcholson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Style over substance”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

The coffee shop was fairly busy when we visited but there were only two people in front of us at the counter and it took a while to be served but ascthe range of drinks seemed so inviting this didn't matter. My coffee arrived very quickly but I was shocked that people who were seated when we arrived were still waiting for their drinks. My son had to go back and ask for his drink (can of root beer) and the coffee (an americano)was so flavourless that if I hadn't have had cinnamon in it, then it would have tasted of nothing ( I know this as I got my coffee hating son to try it and even he said it tasted of nothing) like in previous reviews it was served in a chipped mug. I didn't finish it and would only recommend the place to hardcore Friends fans as the theme is obviously the selling point

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pocketdragonslizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig N, Manager at Central Perk Chester, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
I am sorry that your experience did not meet our aims, my apologies for the oversight of our staff with the root beer however I can assure you that it's very unusual for mistakes to happen in our store as we have a very good procedure in place to ensure that mistakes are avoided but I have to concede this is not fool proof as human error will always be a factor within any customer service role. I can't comment on customers who were seated before you as from the information you have provided they may not have even ordered a drink at the time you sat down and may have been waiting for fresh waffles from our kitchen.

We have mixed reviews on our coffee blend some very good and some not so good because as I'm sure you will agree coffee is very much open to interpretation, But we at central perk are very proud of the blend of coffee that is made specifically for us by our roasters Joe Blacks and is same blend that is used in all of our stores. It is a mild blend and people who do like strong coffee would need to request an extra shot of coffee be made into the drink when ordering as I always do when ever I go to any coffee shop. I would happy to discuss anything else with you if you have any more questions just ask for me in store

Kind regards

Craig Nicholson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north wales
Level Contributor
96 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely coffee, comfy chairs.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

We called in here for a coffee and cake Groupon offer and had never noticed the café before. We were pleasantly surprised at the lovely comfy chairs and sofas. The café had run out of cake due to the Groupon offers final day but we were kindly given waffles and maple syrup instead which more than made up. We didn't like the sweets on display on the counter which made it look like a sweet shop. The café is modelled on the café in the FRIENDS tv series and this was playing silently behind screens.
Well worthy of a visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rockchickNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig N, Manager at Central Perk Chester, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
I am pleased that you enjoyed your experience within our store and I am glad you took full advantage of our Groupon offer. I have taken your feedback on board and understand your point of view regarding the presentation of our sweets and would love to hear your suggestions on how you feel they could be presented better. As of course we are limited with space and also the sweets are proving to be a unique part of our store as they are almost as popular as the theme within our store. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Kind regards

Craig Nicholson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral,Uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't Bother”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Visited mid-week, place was quite busy but not a lot of choices of things to eat . Staff unsure exactly what was in the fillings of the Paninis etc and had to lift them up and look as to what was inside. A vegetarian ended up with a chicken one! My overall impression was that the sofas were very grubby and our coffees were served in large chipped mugs, very hygenic! Wouldn't go again

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank optirec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig N, Manager at Central Perk Chester, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
I am very sorry that your visit did not meet up to your expectations and our very high standards on this occasion. I have reviewed your feedback thoroughly and taken your points on board. going forward we are putting measures in place to make sure all our Baristas are aware that it is extremely important to fully inspect all the cups for cracks and chips prior to using them as I agree it is not acceptable for you to be receiving a mug in a poor condition. I have inspected all of our furniture for excess dirt and cleanliness and have found that it is generally of a high standard and very clean considering the level that they are being used as it is our practice to thoroughly clean the whole store including all the furniture on a daily basis I can only attribute you finding our furniture dirty on this occasion due to use throughout the day from other customers using the sofas. The procedures we are putting into place are instructing our team to make regular checks throughout the day on the condition of the furniture to ensure that no other customer feels that our furniture is looking tired.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Central Perk Chester also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing