We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chester Civil War Tours”

Chester Civil War Tours
Ranked #3 of 21 Tours in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bringing to life Chester's amazing story of its Great Siege, The Battle of Rowton Moor and the Pubs and Houses from the 17th century, all wrapped in the overall story of the English Civil War.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chester Civil War Tours”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This is a fantastic way to see Chester and to learn some of its amazing history. Our guide Ed (in full Cavalier costume!) was really knowledgeable and engaging. It was not only fascinating but good value for money too. I would recommend this tour for visitors and residents alike.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank CJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    21
    1
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Awesome”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Absolutely brilliant. This was interesting, entertaining and well worth the investment. Ed (who does the tours) was really knowledgeable, fun and was able to adjust the tour to suit what we wanted to know. I highly recommend this - you won't be disappointed. Great value and well worth doing....

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank CERISR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Civil War Tour of Chester”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Excellent. Very knowledgable about Chester, it's history & the Civil War. Staying with a friend in Rowton, near one of the sites of one of the major battles. Fascinating detail - would seriously recommend all who visit Chester to go on one of these walking tours.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JeannieBrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Siege of Chester Tour”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

A really interesting and informative tour by our guide Ed. He really knows his stuff and has a real passion for the history of Chester. As a local who regularly walks around the City its amazing how little we've ever really seen or known about the city's history but the tour was a great way to learn. We would highly recommend to others.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DomC210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Walking Chester's civil war”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

An informative and entertaining evening with our guide Viv, who knows her stuff! Having lived in Chester for more than 30 years, it is embarrassing to realise just how little of my home town I knew!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MFBEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chester Civil War Tours also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Chester Civil War Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing