We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mitchells - fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mitchell's of Chester Guest House
Ranked #12 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton
Level Contributor
93 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Mitchells - fantastic”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed 3 nights and love the way in which the proprietors put you at ease to start your break / holiday. They are attentive, thoughtful and make the stay more enjoyable. They offered a helpful map of Chester and advice if required on how to enhance one's stay in Chester and the area. The room was lovely,comfortable, clean and had everything you might want, even down to a pair of scissors!

Breakfast was very good. The waiter was very attentive!

A lovely place to stay, only 20 minutes walk from town or £3.00 (yes only £3.00 !) by taxi.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    19
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
112
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

My wife and I stopped for only one night, but what a great place to stay! The room was brilliant with some touches you would not expect. The proprieters were attentive, thoughtful and very welcoming. When go to chester again we will definately stop here.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meboDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I stayed for 2 nights with friends. The bedrooms were extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean with little extras, such as slippers and dressing gowns, that one doesn't get in far more expensive hotels. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. The owners were friendly and helpful.My leaving gift from the owners now lives in my car (the owners gave each of us a little jubilee bear). I would recommend Mitchells to anyone wanting to stay in Chester

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2012

My partner and I stayed here for two nights on a weekend getaway from London. With all the comforts of home, this charming B&B provided everything we needed with a few extra touches, in a luxurious setting. Helen and Colin were very helpful and welcoming and cooked us wonderful breakfasts. Would recommend this to people wanting to stay somewhere with character at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0amingTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights and were very pleased with the size, comfort and standard of cleanliness of the room, the helpfulness of the owners and the peaceful area in which this excellent B&B is set. There was only a small problem with the shower running too hot which the owner did not have time to rectify while we were there.

The walk into the city is very easy so the car can be left at Mitchell's.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanH46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

This is a beautiful B and B. The facilities are great, the rooms are charming and the proprietors are attentive and friendly. Why stay in a chain hotel devoid of any character when you can stay here?

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WMMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Lovely place and owners. Very large house converted into 7 bedroom B&B. The home is very lovingly cared for and spotlessly clean. Our room was quite a small double but had everything we needed. Nice walk into Chester centre.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen_Abingdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.8 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 44 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,052 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitchell's of Chester Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitchell's of Chester Guest House

Property: Mitchell's of Chester Guest House
Address: 28 Hough Green, Chester CH4 8JQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitchell's of Chester Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant and beautifully maintained Victorian residence,awarded a 5 star Gold Award rating from the AA and 5 star Gold award from Visit England, together with breakfast awards from both organizations. The house is situated an easy 15 minute walk into the City centre of Chester. We offer free parking and,a bus route into the city is situated outside the hotel. Bedrooms furnished in period style with fully equipped en-suite, central heating, TV with DVD and digital channels, hospitality tray, radio/alarm, hair drier,free wireless internet and many other comforts. From the Hallway one enters the period dining room where breakfast is served from an extensive menu, all cooked to your personnel preference using fresh local produce. The restful Lounge over-looks a quiet garden, and features a residents honesty bar with Beers, wines and spirits. A wide selection of books, and large TV are also available for guests use. Extensive local information on things to do and places to see is also available for you to read and take away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Mitchell's of Chester Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitchell's Of Chester Guest House Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing