We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They don't charge enough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mitchell's of Chester Guest House
Ranked #13 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
1 review
“They don't charge enough”
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

I've registered with trip advisor just to leave this review.
I stayed here recently with some girlfriends, for the races. I had a lovely single room with a garden view. The entire place was spotless, the breakfast was lovely, and it was all very homely.
When my friend told me how much it was, I was expecting it to be at least double.
That's it really. It was very nice, peaceful, clean and restful. The service was impeccable and the owners should be very proud. x

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acostac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cestrian, Owner at Mitchell's of Chester Guest House, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Thank you for your comments but we're all driven by market forces.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    19
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
113
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dargaville, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We arrived on a Friday night at 19.45 and were met with tea and biscuits. Our room was lovely a twin at the top of the house. My wife and I enjoyed the exercise of the stairs though so not a problem for us. Breakfast is outstanding.We had the full cooked breakfast each day of our stay and it filled you up to just have dinner in the evening.
I would recommend staying here as you can be as private as you like it is a gentle stroll into the city. The house is so clean and it was a pleasure to stay in. Thank you very much.

Room Tip: If you struggle with walking rooms other than the second floor are perhaps easier as the stairs are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cestrian, Owner at Mitchell's of Chester Guest House, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you. Reviews like this make all our efforts worth-while.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

From the warm greeting on arrival to the fond farewells on our departure, everything at Mitchell's is faultless. We have a wonderful stay and can't wait for our next visit.

Very many thanks Helen and Colin, we look forward to seeing you again.

Room Tip: We opted for the 'luxury' first floor room. It was luxurious, quiet and oh so comfortable wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gglightning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cestrian, Owner at Mitchell's of Chester Guest House, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome by our hosts. The house may have been Victorian, but it was very clean.
The room we had was very clean also and there were no complaints about the Bathroom.
The Breakfasts were enough to sustain you for a very long time. I had the Full English Breakfast and that was delicious and very filling. There is a good choice of Breakfasts and nothing was too much trouble. In fact there was nothing too much throughout our stay.
Unfortunately I have trouble with my knees and we were on the top floor, but Colin gladly took our suitcases to our room - what an absolute hero.
The only downside for me was the walk into Chester, which I didn't do and used my car.
An excellent stay, much better than your Holiday Inns etc..

Room Tip: All rooms are Excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Den34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cestrian, Owner at Mitchell's of Chester Guest House, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Thank you. Visit Britain, the hotel/guesthouse assessors, have also granted us an award for breakfasts,but we're pleased to be recognised by our Guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My friend and I found this lovely guest house for our "girly" weekend in Chester. We were made to feel at home straight away with a welcoming cuppa and Helen providing us with great info on Chester and suggested places to eat. The room, like all the house, was lovely and it's the little touches that make all the difference, fresh flowers, sweets and a full selection of teas and coffees.
The breakfast was delicious, with a full selection of hot and cold items - this kept us going until afternoon tea in town!
Helen & Colin certainly deserve the 5 star rating they have, I would definitely recommend this guest house to anyone visiting Chester.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cestrian, Owner at Mitchell's of Chester Guest House, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Warm, pleasant, safe and comfortable. That is what we expect when we go away, and that is what we try to achieve. Thank you for your response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

The hosts are longtime residents of this lovely city (when you mention the name, everyone in Chester knows exactly where you are staying) and they have a wealth of very helpful knowledge which they impart to you on arrival. The guesthouse is a very elegant Victorian villa that is ideally located only a 10 minute walk from town. There are any number of nice touches and the hosts have gone to great lengths to maintain the Victorian character of the building while providing modern facilities. Breakfast is excellent and is served with style. You even get a teddy bear when you leave! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: As with all Victorian buildings access to the top floors is via a narrow staircase. Lower floors ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cestrian, Owner at Mitchell's of Chester Guest House, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you. It's amazing how many people enjoy stepping back in time, but blended with all the modern comforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
197 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed here recently and were welcomed after a long journey with a refreshing cup of tea in the lounge. We could not fault the room even though it was very warm, so the addition of the ceiling fan was most welcome. At breakfast we were served politely and courteously by the owners. The choice and presentation of meal was excellent. Next time we are in chester shall stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ted87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cestrian, Owner at Mitchell's of Chester Guest House, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for your review. The hot weather can be a blessing, but can also be a bind. We look forward to meeting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
1.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
4.2 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,615 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
0.6 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#20 of 44 in Chester
2,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitchell's of Chester Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitchell's of Chester Guest House

Property: Mitchell's of Chester Guest House
Address: 28 Hough Green, Chester CH4 8JQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitchell's of Chester Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant and beautifully maintained Victorian residence,awarded a 5 star Gold Award rating from the AA and 5 star Gold award from Visit England, together with breakfast awards from both organizations. The house is situated an easy 15 minute walk into the City centre of Chester. We offer free parking and,a bus route into the city is situated outside the hotel. Bedrooms furnished in period style with fully equipped en-suite, central heating, TV with DVD and digital channels, hospitality tray, radio/alarm, hair drier,free wireless internet and many other comforts. From the Hallway one enters the period dining room where breakfast is served from an extensive menu, all cooked to your personnel preference using fresh local produce. The restful Lounge over-looks a quiet garden, and features a residents honesty bar with Beers, wines and spirits. A wide selection of books, and large TV are also available for guests use. Extensive local information on things to do and places to see is also available for you to read and take away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mitchell's of Chester Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitchell's Of Chester Guest House Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing