We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic B&B Hotel in Chester”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mitchell's of Chester Guest House
Ranked #12 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic B&B Hotel in Chester”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed for 2 nights with our 2 children mid October 2013.
We were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived and this really is a little gem of a Hotel.
It is ideally located for walking into Chester which takes about 20 mins or for visiting nearby attractions.
Our room which was the 4 bedded room was a delight. The room for cleaned to a very high standard and the extra little touches make this hotel stand out; sweets in the room, luxury toiletries, fantastic hospitality tray, lovely fluffy towels, it really was impressive.
Colin was extremely helpful in his knowledge of the area.
Breakfast was faultless and really set us up for the day.
If you are looking for a quaint family run hotel at good prices with those little extras then this really is the place to stay and well deserved in its 5 stars.
We will be back and will recommend this hotel to all our friends

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flossy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cestrian, Owner at Mitchell's of Chester Guest House, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you. We, and Chester, are great touring centres for Liverpool, Wirral and North Wales, and not forgetting the little gems in Cheshire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    19
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
111
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Just wanted to say that in all the places I've stayed in Chester over the years Mitchell's is by far the best. Colin gave my wife and I a very warm welcome on arrival and a nice cup of tea with some help on getting around and places to see in Chester. Loved the room (6) which was more than generous and would be fantastic for a family of 4. We particularly loved the relaxed atmosphere (and great breakfast).
My wife is likely to be going back to Chester with my son and her mother at Half Term and will certainly be making a booking.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjdring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cestrian, Owner at Mitchell's of Chester Guest House, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
We're pleased thaty you enjoyed your stay in Chester and you are welcome anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Thanks to Helen and Colin we had a splendid break in and around Chester. After a good nights sleep and a hearty breakfast each day setting us up to do the tourist things. The walk from here into Chester is a very pleasant one if you avoid the main roads and Chester itself is a delight to walk around.
From the first greeting to the final farewell on the last day, Helen and Colin did all they could to make our stay as pleasant as possible, especially the way they treated our daughter who can be very demanding at times.

Room Tip: The family room is up a flight of difficult stairs but poses no access problems unless your mobility...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaff_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cestrian, Owner at Mitchell's of Chester Guest House, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Thank you for your comments. The stair to the second floor is no steeper than a modern house, but does have two sets of winders that give the illusion of being more steep than they really are.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Mitchell's of Chester. Our room was on the 1st Floor (UK). It was attractive, immaculate and had a lovely view of the garden. The Mitchells provide many amenities to cater to their guests' comfort: tea and coffee in your room, free wifi, a very reasonably priced honesty bar, high quality bathroom products and a bountiful and excellent breakfast. Their breakfast menu included a number of options in addition to the yummy Full English: award winning sausages, blood pudding, kippers and smoked salmon. They even provided washcloths and changed the towels out every day, which is not common in Europe. Our bed was very comfortable as well. The location is convenient to downtown Chester and North Wales, but the walk to downtown is about 20 minutes - we drove and parked with no problems. This is an excellent B&B, and we'd be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoreTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cestrian, Manager at Mitchell's of Chester Guest House, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
I couldn't have written a more glowing write-up for a web page advert. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

I've registered with trip advisor just to leave this review.
I stayed here recently with some girlfriends, for the races. I had a lovely single room with a garden view. The entire place was spotless, the breakfast was lovely, and it was all very homely.
When my friend told me how much it was, I was expecting it to be at least double.
That's it really. It was very nice, peaceful, clean and restful. The service was impeccable and the owners should be very proud. x

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acostac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cestrian, Owner at Mitchell's of Chester Guest House, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Thank you for your comments but we're all driven by market forces.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dargaville, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We arrived on a Friday night at 19.45 and were met with tea and biscuits. Our room was lovely a twin at the top of the house. My wife and I enjoyed the exercise of the stairs though so not a problem for us. Breakfast is outstanding.We had the full cooked breakfast each day of our stay and it filled you up to just have dinner in the evening.
I would recommend staying here as you can be as private as you like it is a gentle stroll into the city. The house is so clean and it was a pleasure to stay in. Thank you very much.

Room Tip: If you struggle with walking rooms other than the second floor are perhaps easier as the stairs are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cestrian, Owner at Mitchell's of Chester Guest House, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you. Reviews like this make all our efforts worth-while.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

From the warm greeting on arrival to the fond farewells on our departure, everything at Mitchell's is faultless. We have a wonderful stay and can't wait for our next visit.

Very many thanks Helen and Colin, we look forward to seeing you again.

Room Tip: We opted for the 'luxury' first floor room. It was luxurious, quiet and oh so comfortable wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gglightning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cestrian, Owner at Mitchell's of Chester Guest House, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.8 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 44 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitchell's of Chester Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitchell's of Chester Guest House

Property: Mitchell's of Chester Guest House
Address: 28 Hough Green, Chester CH4 8JQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitchell's of Chester Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant and beautifully maintained Victorian residence,awarded a 5 star Gold Award rating from the AA and 5 star Gold award from Visit England, together with breakfast awards from both organizations. The house is situated an easy 15 minute walk into the City centre of Chester. We offer free parking and,a bus route into the city is situated outside the hotel. Bedrooms furnished in period style with fully equipped en-suite, central heating, TV with DVD and digital channels, hospitality tray, radio/alarm, hair drier,free wireless internet and many other comforts. From the Hallway one enters the period dining room where breakfast is served from an extensive menu, all cooked to your personnel preference using fresh local produce. The restful Lounge over-looks a quiet garden, and features a residents honesty bar with Beers, wines and spirits. A wide selection of books, and large TV are also available for guests use. Extensive local information on things to do and places to see is also available for you to read and take away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mitchell's of Chester Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitchell's Of Chester Guest House Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing