We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mitchell's of Chester Guest House
Ranked #16 of 76 Chester B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

It was all last minute for us and we came across this beautiful B&B. welcoming, grand, attention to every detail, clean, preserved, and homely. Our room was just outstanding, breakfast was exquisite, and the lovely owners great to talk to. Will definitely be returning and have told all of our friends and family!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Kellyjtee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cestrian, Owner at Mitchell's of Chester Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

It's great when an impulsive decision works out. Pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

Excellent stay. First class throughout. Breakfast superb. This is how all B & B's should be run. Well done Mr & Mrs Mitchell what more can one say. We would certainly recommend this to all our friends and family.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 which was very clean, comfortable bed and had everything you needed for your sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roberta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cestrian, Owner at Mitchell's of Chester Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thanks for your comments. 'First Class' is what we strive for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed for a night in the top room at the back. Cosy but beautifully appointed with every little touch you can think of. Slightly noisy when neighbouring room showers are turned on but otherwise a special place. Breakfast is excellent. Fresh, hot and tasty. Really good advice from the owners on the local area, traffic avoidance and sightseeing. Definitely recommend. A cut above the ubiquitous travel hotel.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Otinogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cestrian, Owner at Mitchell's of Chester Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

We try and fit the quietest of equipment but, in the still of the night, you can even hear an electric clock tick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We booked a room as we went to the Chester Races - the owners and staff were all really friendly and attentive - nothing was too much trouble :-)
They booked us a taxi, were happy to take our photo before we went out.
The breakfast was tasty :-)

Room Tip: We stayed in a twin room at the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Colette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cestrian, Owner at Mitchell's of Chester Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

We're pleased that we were able to compliment your good day at the races.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

As a family group we have stayed here on a couple of occasions whilst visiting Chester. This has to be the nicest B&B I have every stayed in - it is top-notch hotel quality with the fantastic and comfortable rooms containing all items you could ever require. The service is regal and the breakfast menu is superb with a great selection of cereals, fruit and hot plates to cater for all tastes. Ideally located in a quite area but yet only a few minutes walk to Chester centre. The rooms are beautiful and the house is a quiet oasis where a fantastic and peaceful nights sleep is almost guaranteed. It deserves every star and accolade it receives.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back and side overlook the garden with the sound of trickling water into the pond creat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ihanney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cestrian, Owner at Mitchell's of Chester Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thanks for ticking all the boxes. Returning Guests are always very welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We loved our one-night stay at Mitchell's of Chester. We were greeted by our host with tea and biscuits in the most beautifully decorated reception room. Our rooms were spotless and we had a beautiful garden view. Parking was easy with a nearby lane way available to us.Breakfast was delicious. There was great attention to detail and we felt that we were tasting the finer things of life - not only with regard to the food but especially with regard to the gracious service! Very classy!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica09_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cestrian, Owner at Mitchell's of Chester Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Having travelled so far from home and then touring the country night by night, we can really appreciate your experiences and so value your comments all the more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed here 2 years ago so naturally chose to return when travelling south. I would have no hesitation to return a 3 rd time. Very clean and comfortable. Only suggestion would be to add fresh fruit salad to the breakfast menu.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank AlanH46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cestrian, Owner at Mitchell's of Chester Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

We're always pleased to welcome returning Guests. A little puzzled over your comment as a fresh fruit salad is always on offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
1.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
8.3 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,226 reviews
1.8 mi away
Stone Villa Chester
Stone Villa Chester
#2 of 76 in Chester
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grosvenor Place Guest House
1.9 mi away
Chester House Guest House
4.7 mi away
Cotton Farm
Cotton Farm
#14 of 76 in Chester
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitchell's of Chester Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitchell's of Chester Guest House

Address: 28 Hough Green, Chester CH4 8JQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range: £94 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitchell's of Chester Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant and beautifully maintained Victorian residence,awarded a 5 star Gold Award rating from the AA and 5 star Gold award from Visit England, together with breakfast awards from both organizations. The house is situated an easy 20 minute walk into the City centre of Chester. We offer free parking and,a bus route into the city is situated outside the hotel. Bedrooms furnished in period style with fully equipped en-suite, central heating, TV with DVD and digital channels, hospitality tray, radio/alarm, hair drier,free wireless internet and many other comforts. From the Hallway one enters the period dining room where breakfast is served from an extensive menu, all cooked to your personnel preference using fresh local produce. The restful Lounge over-looks a quiet garden, and features a residents honesty bar with Beers, wines and spirits. A wide selection of books, and large TV are also available for guests use. Extensive local information on things to do and places to see is also available for you to read and take away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Mitchell's of Chester Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitchell's Of Chester Guest House Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing