We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best restaurant in chester!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Bell 1494

Blue Bell 1494
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Bell 1494 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 548 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, International, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Enjoy the ambience of dining in the oldest surviving domestic structure in Chester,where the first licence to serve ale was granted in 1494 !A genuine medieval inn
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best restaurant in chester!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We came on a friends recommendation and boy were they spot on. Lets start with the decor, such a beautiful and building and they've done so well on creating a warm cosey spanish feel inside, we had the pleasure of attending on a lovely warm sunny evening so we enjoyed our meal in the amazing spanish style court yard at the back of the resaurant, it was just a perfect setting, lovely spanishy decorations, they even had a box of blankets outside for when it gets chilly and i just loved this idea!!!!!! So onto the food, wow! Honestly the best quality food going in chester, i went for the ribs which just fell off the bone and came in this amazing bbq sauce, they were out of the ham and cheese croquettes so the waiter suggested the spanish omlette (i loved how he put in his opinion) and he was bang on, it was so nice i had the whole table i was with asking for some ;-) we had a desert from the specials menu, strawberries and marshmallows hanging over a hot chocolate sauce with our local cheshire ice cream farm icecream ! This was just out this world, so inventive. It was just heaven. And finally i have to comment on the staff, they were so friendly and very attentive and helpful. And not to mention its great value for money too, they have lots of deals mid week and weekend, brilliant!
Overall it was one of my best restaurant experiences of all time and i can not wait to go back!!! I highly recommend this place it was truely an amazing night.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank carrissa88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    477
    162
    50
    23
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ellesmere Port, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“paella night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

went for a paella at the blue bell.we all sat out on the court yard weather fantastic,food was great value.staff very friendly.will be back to watch Spanish world cup games on television outside in the court yard. should have great atmosphhere

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flint, United Kingdom
1 review
“Waitrose AGM”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Waitrose held are AGM at this restaurant, The food was lovely and the hospitality was warm and welcoming. We would recommend this restaurant. Thank you Chris and Joanna and all your staff.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ursularuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best restaurant in Chester!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

I was looking the other day a Spanish typical restaurant because i'm a huge fan of this kind of meal. Normally i'm very estrict with the quality of the tapa's world since i was living in Spain during two years.
In this restaurant i've found the real spanish deal. If you ever tried this kind of restaurant, you know perfectly that the tapas is small portions of food filled with a big flavour of classic spanish meal like chorizo, paella,ribs...
The staff was absolutely fabulous, very attentive and helpful and the atmosphere was totally like a small restautant you can find in a street of Barcelona everyday.

I recomend everyone this place if you want to discover the real spanish food. (Many thanks to all the staff and special thanks to the curly waitress who was very kind and smiling with us)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Borja L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

After eating at the bluebell only about 2 months ago and having a lovely tapas meal (although having booked a table for 8pm and not being seated until 9!) we decided that despite this long wait, the food was lovely and. That we would return. My boyfriend and I booked a table for 8pm on a friday night and when arriving the restaurant was completely empty apart from one other couple, who they sat us directly next to, although the entire restaurant was empty. We felt extremely awkward, as I was almost touching the arm of the man sat next to me, so we asked if we could move. We were told that there was a big fire in the room next door and that we could be seated by there, even though the fire was not even lit and there was a heavy draft coming in from the main entrance. On ordering olives, the waitress recommended we try the bread with the olives because it is lovely, so we agreed and ordered bread. After having finished our olives the bread still hadn't come, and when I asked the waitress she said she had forgotten (we didn't even want bread in the first place, it was her that asked us!!). When our main course came, the table was so small that we had to put our wine glasses, bottle and half the food on the floor because it wouldn't fit on the table, so although the food was pleasant, it was not enjoyable, plus we were still freezing from the draft, and there were waiters and waitresses walking past us constantly, although the restaurant was dead. When we finally came to pay and asked if we could pay the bill by card split half down the middle, the waitress said she would have to work this out on paper because she didn't "know how to work out the tip from this" which we were appalled at, and obviously did not tip. Overall the worst restaurant I have visited in Chester and one that I will certainly never return to again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank anonomous555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Bell 1494 also viewed

Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Blue Bell 1494? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing