We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hen Weekend”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Holly House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Chester, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hen Weekend”
Reviewed 5 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018
2
people found this review helpful

12 of us stayed at Holly House for 2 nights for my Hen Do and it was perfect! The house completely lived up to expectations and is exactly as you see in the photos. Beautiful interior, grounds and views! The house is extremely spacious, even with 12 people, and the facilities & amenities are great. There is also plenty of parking space. On one of the nights we had a chef come in, and the food was lovely and the chef was very professional and friendly. Equally, owners Paula and David were a pleasure to deal with, and were extremely helpful throughout the whole process and always quick to respond to messages. I would highly recommend Holly House and shall defiantly look to return in the future!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2018
Thank you so much Charlie for your very kind comments. We're so pleased you all had a lovely time at Holly House,

Best wishes, Paula and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Feb 2018
Thank you so much Zoe. We're so pleased you all had a lovely weekend,
Best wishes to you all, Paula and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hlg389tri...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Epic ”
Reviewed 22 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Holly House is a fantastic little spot right on the edge of Wales.
The house itself is a very large beautiful building. The different aspects and spaces in the house are perfect for a group.
We very much enjoyed the Arga oven and games room, it added a certain touch of something. The rooms are large and comfortable. The house is in an excellent location very close to beautiful sandy beaches. Paula was a great host, and the provision of tea and coffee milk and cake was a lovely touch

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2017
Thank you so much Siobhan, for your lovely comments. We really appreciate them, and are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Holly House
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuliaH4M
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Second stay-fabulous weekend”
Reviewed 9 August 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This was our second stay at this beautiful house and I'm sure we'll be back again. It's perfect for a group wanting a retreat somewhere that feels rural, but doesn't take too long to get to and is easy to find. We like that there is a downstairs bedroom for older members of the family and the kitchen is a great social space for entertaining. The views are breath-taking-we could see Blackpool tower on a clear morning. From the initial booking to check out, Paula was wonderful and ensured everything ran smoothly for us and our guests. I would highly recommend a stay at Holly House.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mellingto...
Bishops Castle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The nicest thatched cottage you will ever stay in!”
Reviewed 20 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We booked Ty Celyn for a family/ girlie 'hen' weekend. Have just come back and everyone has not stopped talking about Holly House! What an absolutely fantastic place to stay. It was not far from Chester and 'Go Ape' which was our activity for the weekend. Mum enjoyed cooking a sunday lunch on the Aga oven. We felt so relaxed as there was plenty of space and areas to chill. The under floor heated conservatory with stunning views of the sea and county and a gorgeous fireplace.
Paula was fab from start to finish as we changed our minds quite abit! What a place to clean though, it took 12 of us to get it looking back to as it was.. gleaming! Best weekend from start to finish!! Thank you- would recommend to anyone.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Mar 2017
Thank you Louise for your very kind comments. We're so pleased you had an enjoyable time, kind regards, Paula and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally1488
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hen Weekend!”
Reviewed 20 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We've just had a brilliant weekend at the cottage for our friend's Hen weekend. The views were amazing, facilities brilliant, very welcoming owners and such a spacious place to relax in. Will definitely be visiting again! Sally

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2017
Thank you Jess. We're so pleased you had a good time, and you're welcome back anytime. Best wishes, Paula and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing