We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Location”
Review of The Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mill Hotel
Ranked #12 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2011

All you come to expect of your typical 3* hotel really.

Advantages being free parking, the location, and the spa/swimming pool.

The negatives, No air con, (I know so many people have said this, but it was very stuffy) the shower cubicles were so small you could bearly move in them. (I'm 6ft tall and 10.5st wet through so im hardly fat) Then there were several staff members who can only be described as not really being happy in there work.

You really couldnt fault the ladies in the spa, they were so friendly, as were the ladies in reception, but come to get a drink in the bar or ask for something at breakfast and there is were the levels of customer service drop.

One other thing that would have been nice is hot drink supplies being topped up in your room. We had all our coffee on the first afternoon there and this was never replaced.

We spent 2 nights at this hotel and it wasnt a bad find. Nice breakfast, free parking and a fry up to start the day all make it worth considering if you are planning a visit to Chester.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aldosmyhero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,575)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,333 - 1,339 of 1,575 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2011

well what can i say , very welcomin first stayed in february ,we managed get a last minute booking after a cancellation as we had booked in with another hotel crown plaza which was really bad so we packedour stuff n went to the mill. very welcomin n very pleased to be their, staff always nice, they made us feel stress free after the exsperience we had been through that day,will be goin back as we would always prefer this place from know on...big thankyou to everyone...

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derek w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Stayed for one night on our way south to visit family. We checked in early and were surprised to find our room was ready and we had been upgraded to a club room. The room was spotlessly clean and spacious, only downside was that we were on a busy road and the traffic noise meant we had to keep the windows closed - not ideal as it was so hot! The hotel is only a few minutes, easy walk into the centre of Chester. There was enough parking available, which isn't the same for other city centre hotels. We didn't have an evening meal in the hotel so can't comment but breakfast was good. Lots to choose from and the staff were attentive.

Perhaps not the best hotel we have stayed in but we certainly had no complaints and we will return.

Thank you Mill Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We went for a 2 night stay mainly to visit the zoo, we arrived midday on Sunday. Rooms were not ready but we were able to park the car and go into the centre. We took a short stroll along the canal side towards the centre. Went back about 4pm and went upto rooms, we had a family and twin, which were located next door to each other. We went down to the pool, we did find the water on the cool side and it did get busy, but overall very good facilities. Breakfast was of good standard with the usual choice. The hotel offered a group discount ticket for the zoo(as this is a good saving).

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twain_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Within 4 minutes walking from the main shopping area of Chester,this was a real find !Free parking,super food with totally attentive staff,absolutely spotless bedrooms..we were in the bit across the bridge linking the two parts of the old building and the new,....a spa and swimming pool at no extra cost....just perfect for all ages . This is a hotel that has everything you could want and its own unique canal cruises,different types of restraunts,and loads of staff, it copes brilliantly with the fast turnover of guests. Yes, if you want to drive into the centre of Chester,not be feeding a Council parking meter, have a super stay and all at a very reasonable rate....LOOK NO FURTHER!!

Room Tip: I didnt ask for a disabled bedroom but we got one! Super space!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 38barry38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Stopped for 2 nights for races weekend... The Good... great, convenient location, friendly staff in reception, restauarant and housekeeping. The Bad...hotel badly in need of refit - shabby in places, bedrooms and corridors more like a sauna than anything else... The ugly... the downstairs bar is dark and dingy and more akin to a brothel that anything else. Middle aged couples trying very hard to "get to know" other couples...would not stop here again if you paid me to do so. WEIRD vibe...

Room Tip: take a fan! FAR too hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anonpoiuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

This hotel is ideal for the city centre with a pleasant walk along the canal towpath - an easy 20 minute stroll. 10 minutes walking from the railway station, or use the free bus to the centre. The rooms were pleasant and clean and the breakfast was very good with a wide choice and friendly staff. Hotel has a restaurant and a bar serving snacks, plus a spa with a lovely pool. Will use again and thought it good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road and the outside terrace to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheCommanderLeyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#13 of 45 in Chester
1,796 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#3 of 45 in Chester
2,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
5.4 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Hotel

Address: Milton Street, Chester CH1 3NF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Chester
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £82 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Hotel Chester
The Mill Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing