We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel to explore chester”
Review of The Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Mill Hotel
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Lovely spot just minuets walk from town, nice clean big rooms ours overlooking canal ( did have a bit of early morning noise due to them cleaning a canal boat( however did have window open!) reception staff were lovely, hotel main original building floors a bit slanted but you have to remember it is an old building and all adds to the character of the place. Breakfast was AMAZING!! not to busy all you could eat buffet style, looking restaurant a excellent breakfast staff , nothing was too much - as i am food and beverage manager at a hotel, this is always something i look on and wonder how other hotels par, and they were exceptional. Thank you MILL HOTEL for a lovely stay and allowing us to use the car park for free before check in time-a very nice touch.
Only advice It could do with a slight upgrade in the hall ways maybe new decor, refresh carpets. But it is an old building and this did not effect our enjoyment

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vickymorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,445)
There are newer reviews for The Mill Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,195 - 1,201 of 1,445 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2011

Not impressed with this hotel at all,and would definitely discourage anyone from staying there. When booking I asked if they had a room on the 1st floor and was discouraged by the member of staff as they advised the room would be over the bar and therefore noisy. I never expected to then be put on the 5th floor, even though we had booked a triple room I'm sure this didn't warrant only using the 5th floor.

The stairwell up the many flights of stairs was damp and smelt very musty. The lift was obviously old, hence the work currently being carried out (which we were not told about at all either at time of booking or on arrival, work started about 8am each morning.

The room was sad with old furniture and extremely hot at all times.

Breakfast the first morning was adequate, marginally better the following morning. This put us off eating in the hotel in the evening and so we went out in to Chester each night to eat.

I think the hotel needs a complete refurburishment or something. At £120 prpn I would expect far better.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank choppy001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

well i am not sure why anyone would give the hotel 5* unless they have never stayed anywhere else in their lives or they like this sort of thing,because its worth at best 2* book back in Jan for our honeymoon and was given a free upgrade to a balcony room for £100 a night (at best id have paid £40)..arrived to sound of a loud noisy bar..which was the real ale bar (0ne reason i picked the place) that had 3 tvs in 2 with different sports on and no one drinking real ale..went to the room on 5th floor (which is actually 4th) via an old life, and well not sure of a polite way to put it..a dump...furniture was older than me and if you look under the bedside tables you will see they dont clean under there...i dropped something i wasnt searching....i was really really disappointed and upset as the only job i had was sorting the honeymoon.....went swimming once, pool area is small and dirty, as were the changing rooms....breakfast was distinctly average but alright....i had booked a evening meal for the sunday night on their barge and that was very good the food was lovely...for the rest of the week we didnt use any of the hotels facilities and as the sun shone on us we were out everyday and night there are lots of real ale (tv less ) pubs...we used one on the canel near the hotel old hawkers arms as it was always busy food good and it was a child free pub too...there is also alexanders bar on north street for live music and at that end of the street are some top class restaurants joseph benjamins for one.....one final thing the hotel decided it would be good to build a new lift so were woken every day at 8.15 by banging and drilling, why they didnt think to do it out of season god knows, but a taxi driver told me the owner was trying to sell the place.......the staff were all very friendly........having stayed in many hotels across the country this is a fair assesment of our trip, as the 2nd week of our honeymoon we stayed in the peaks and that hotel was 5* all the way....so if you have booked expect old bedroom furniture and loud shouty people in the sports bar but dont pay their prices enjoy:-) ps no aircon safe or fridge

Room Tip: room 520 over looked canal with balcony no aircon safe or fridge
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nobby1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

stayed here several times,but this time felt they were cutting back on little touches in the bedrooms,service in the bar meal area was very poor this time ,but in the main restrant is still exelent,cannot fault the food would recomend it to anyone,desparately needs air con,found the rooms far to hot very uncomfortable

Room Tip: just getting very tired and far to hot
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank serandipety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We stayed here this weekend, got back earlier today! It's one of the nicest hotels we've stayed in. It's a perfect location if you want to be close to everything but not right in the centre. It's situated on the canal and is surrounded by lovely pubs and restaurants, but is still only 15 minutes walk on the canal to Chester centre.

The hotel is split into two buildings with are separated by an enclosed walk way. We had a triple room which had everything we needed. Good size bathroom, tea tray provided etc

We ate in the hotel on the first night and the food was amazing and really good value with a good choice. The bar itself was really cosy and perfect for watching the England match! Breakfast was also lovely, a full English buffet but also having, fruit, croissants, cereal etc available.

Made use of the pool while we were there, which again was really nice and would definitely come back again. Our only gripe was that parts of the hotel were really hot, but other than that everything was perfect, staff were really good and couldn't do enough for you and we had a perfect weekend overall.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmclah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We chose this hotel as it was £79 per night and with a spa/pool this seemed a bargain. The spa/pool was not easily accessible in the hotel and was also fully booked for all 3 days we were there - book early to avoid disappointment. The hotel is very dated and rooms are very basic. The beds ( we had 2 rooms - 1 for us, 1 for our son) are very uncomfy, the light from the corridor fills the room and the hotel is also noisy and hot. So, don't expect a good nights sleep. Breakfast was minimal and over cooked but edible. The location is the best thing about the hotel as you can walk down the canal to town or walk the nearby Walls. We wouldn't use hotel again and instead, if on a budget again, would book the Travelodge by the amphitheatre, which looked much better and was a great location. If you're not on a budget I suggest Abode rather than Grosvenor spa hotel, as the Grosvenor is slap bang in the middle of a shopping centre and not what you'd expect for your money.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuLuKittyBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

This hotel is the perfect location for a stay in this wonderful old city of Chester, the hotel has the perfect amenities swimming pool,sauna, gymnasium and of course restaurants yes more than one, we had a meal in what you would call the main restaurant and it was wonderful and good value for money, the price of the drink in the bar was far cheaper than I had imagined and a vast array of real ales for those who like them.
The room was quite comfortable albeit a little warm at night, the hotel staff were very polite and efficient, the breakfasts were absolutely great full English or continental whatever you preferred (buffet style) free parking if the main park outside the hotel was full there is a fenced in car park over the road with a barrier which you obtain a ticket to raise, the hotel reception validate the ticket for exiting and it is free.
The hotel is good value for money and we would highly recommend to family and friends and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steviegthered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,686 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Hotel

Address: Milton Street, Chester CH1 3NF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Chester
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £79 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Hotel Chester
The Mill Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing