We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the Best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Mill Hotel
Ranked #12 of 45 Hotels in Chester
swift33
Level Contributor
117 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“One of the Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed 3 nights including Valentines Day, excellent room overlooking the Shropshire Canal, plenty of room and storage, and everything worked!
An added bonus was the gym, swimming pool, steam. sauna and jacuzzi.Good car park and only 5 minutes walk to the city centre.
Staff friendly and helpful. We ate in the restaurant - food and service excellent.
On Valentines evening we did the canal cruise which we joined the boat from the hotel, food excellent again and a jolly good evening. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the canal - really quiet and nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swift33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    468
    471
    217
    49
    31
See reviews for
151
655
25
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We have known these premises since they opened and we have attended functions there, members of family have stayed there, and we have had a drink and bar snacks in the bar and the range of beers is great and prices are reasonable. Last week we held an 80th birthday lunch at the premises and it was excellent. Three courses for under £15, branded House wines under £15, and service that would not disgrace the best Hotel in the City. Nothing was too much trouble. Afterwards some sat in the quiet lounge and chatted and a few of us went into the bar and enjoyed Premiership Football followed by Englands Rugby Match accompanied by a good range of drinks served at a reasonable price for a top class Hotel. Whilst the place was busy everyone was friendly, the atmosphere was great, and everyone was polite and chatty. We didn't stay but the quality of the rooms is well known to us and our relatives and is well described in other reviews. This Hotel is excellent for family functions.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnEF33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran Wales
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed here Friday and Saturday night, 17th and 18th Feb. Room given was over the bridge with great view of canal and hotel boat. Found room to be large, clean very quiet and comfortable. Breakfast was very nice with good selection of hot and cold food. Breakfast manager was very friendly and helpful with all staff including front desk and bar staff giving excellent service and were extremely polite and friendly. Found bathroom to be on the small side but did not detract from the stay. An excellent hotel at a very good price with good selection of varied food to suit all budgets. Taking a wider view we have visited many cities home and abroad and were astounded at the quality of service we met in all places we visited in Chester. We were met by extreme politeness from cafes, bars, war musuem and all other places we visited, all staff encountered were extremely pleasant and friendly. WELL DONE CHESTER AND THE MILL HOTEL.

Room Tip: Rooms over bridge do involve a walk and two lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adventure18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Just spent 4 nights here. Brilliant value, so inexpensive for what you get, gym etc included. Food was very good and serve was excellent. Staff were all very friendly. Very close to the centre of the city and so many different places to eat at, a definate to go back again. Will tell others about this place. Any one saying that this hotel is less than 4 shouldn't be allowed out.
PS love the Rhino's around the place.

Room Tip: We selected to stayed on the top floor, we are fit enough to use the stairs but the lifts are quick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newbiggin by the sea
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

So near the city centre with (now) good car parking it's difficult to suggest an alternative. They are putting in a new lift - not before time.....but be careful that you do not go for the middle grade room they are, I guess, 10% bigger for a price increase of 20%; and still small by modern standards but clean, well serviced and more than adequate if used a a "bolt hole" for looking around the city.

If you're tall be careful on the passageways, it is an old mill and built when people were smaller??

Food excellent albeit breakfast is all self-service and bar even better for choice of beers; a bit busy as well used by the locals when a "footy" match is on.

Not "Posh" but very acceptable (and improving) over the last five years I have been visiting my daughters who live in Chester.

Room Tip: Go bottom or top of the range
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wallace243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

I have just returned from a weekend at this hotel for my mother in laws 65th birthday, there was 4 of us for a girly weekend, we had such a great time from start to finish.

The hotel is very easy to find and has 2 very large car parks ( which are free if you are a resident). Its a 5 miniute walk to the cathedral ( which may I add is lovely for a spot of lunch).

The people on reception are fab and all have a great sence of humor, are room was ready straight away, which was lovely, old beams, tea and coffee and the hottest shower ever.

The spa is deffinatly worth a visit, Fionas full swedish body massage is the best ever, and she was so lovely, the swimming pool and spa arnt in the same building but its only a short walk across the covered bridge.

We opted for the dinner and disco, which was such good fun, the food is nice and the staff in the restuarant are very good and always on hand if you want something. The disco is a good giggle, it comes on at 10pm and finishes at 1am, full of differant types of people which is always the medicne for a good night.

Breakfast is out of this word... buffet style with everything you could want.

This hotel is very popular and busy which is always a good sign, I would deffinatly return for the weekend.

If you are looking for 5 star facilities and bedrooms than this is not for you but if your looking for a lovely family run hotel, when all the staff treat you like you are the only person staying at the hotel than you will love this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank claire s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

The Mill Hotel and Spa Destination was recommended to us by friends, and we are so glad they did, what a gem. It was close to the town centre about a ten minute walk away. We could not fault anything will be going back for my birthday in october.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donospoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.4 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Hotel

Property: The Mill Hotel
Address: Milton Street, Chester CH1 3NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Hotel Chester
The Mill Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing