We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Mill Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$90
US$80
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$112
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ABode Chester(Chester)
US$118
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$119
US$116
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$156
US$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$147
US$140
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$112
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$153
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,625)
Filter reviews
1,625 results
Traveller rating
647
613
264
58
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
647
613
264
58
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscanal boatreal ale bardinner cruisecanaletto restaurantbusiness roomoverlooking the canalclub roomcity centrepremier roomdinner dancecar parkbar priceshealth clubbreakfast was buffet stylespa facilitieslovely hotelbar area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,248 - 1,253 of 1,625 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We stayed here on a Friday night, following the races. The hotel was very busy but check in staff are very efficient. Rooms aren't normally ready until 2.00 so if a change of clothes is required, then I recommend using the changing rooms at the spa / gym. The hotel is split in two by the canal, with an internal bridge linking them. The bar is always busy with stag and hen parties, or race goers. Good choice of real ales, and is more of a sports bar. The Canneletto restaurant is very large, and serves dinner, breakfast, and doubles up as a function room until 1am. All the hotel is okay, just shows signs of wear and lots of people. Reasonable prices for a 3 star, but not a place for a quiet relaxing spa break. Great place for stag and hen parties, 15 mins walk to racecourse, 5 mins to walls and centre. Canal and the immediate area not the most attractive, but is ok. Free car parking until 1.00 next day, and then on about £1 a hour. Great staff make up for any negatives, but don't pay above £100 for B & B or you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derekwozthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

I've stayed here with my husband in February, and came back with my mum in May. It was even better than I remembered - while the double room me and my husband stayed in back in Feb was clean and comfortable but fairly average, the room we got this time was spectacular (definitely try and get a business class room!!). It was huge and spacious, tastefully decorated and had a huge double bed and two singles! We had a lovely bathroom with a jacuzzi bath, and a lovely view overlooking the canal. Bliss!!

The staff are very friendly and helpful and let us fill in the paperwork and leave our bags with them as the check in time isn't until 2pm and we arrived at around midday. Gave us chance to grab some lunch and do some shopping before returning to check in. I feel a bit like we underused the hotel as it has a pool, gym and spa, and a number of different dinign options all which sounded good but we were out and about round Chester for our one night stay.

There is a nice pub called the Lock Keeper just round the corner from the hotel. The hotel is in an excellent location, a few minutes walk from the town centre.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzB1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We stayed at The mill Hotel for one night. cannot find any faults. The rooms are clean and tidy.
The breakfast was first class, plenty of waiters and waitresses to help your every need.
A real ale bar which my husband found very enjoyable.
The area is beautiful, the hotel is situated at the side of the canal, avery quiet and beautiful area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AWorldwideTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012 via mobile

Hotel in good location for Chester town centre, good free parking.
Miserable surly staff booked us in,The room was dated but clean but very very hot even with radiators off. We couldn't open the window because of the road nois. The rooms ate very poorly sound insulated to the extent that we were woken by the guy next door farting and arguing with his missus. Worst place I have stayed in Chester - disappointed as it was not cheap

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chunkymunky24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Not a luxury hotel but enjoyable experience. Have stayed here twice in 2011 for 1 night with my husband. Good location, short walk to centre. Free parking. Rooms are a little dated but clean and homely with everything you need for a nigt away. Pool was quite small and busy but used at peak time. Good gym facilities. Had a great night in the hotel during one of our stay's...cheesy music and we were the youngest by a good 15 years but we had a blast. The bar sells a good selection of beverages and serves pub snacks aswell. There is a restaurant on the canal boat which looks lovely but we didn't try it. Breakfast was average in the morning, there was a bit of a queue for a table then for the buffet style breakfast but no major problems. Will probably stay here again at some point but for our next trip to Chester will try somewhere else.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank jane f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews