We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet another brilliant stay”
Review of The Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Mill Hotel
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Yet another brilliant stay”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

The third time we have been to this hotel and as always, we loved every minute of it. Hotel, room, staff, pool, breakfast all brill. Can't fault the place - just wish they offered a loyalty card as we are definitely be going back again. Even love the very short walk into the city centre as its quite picturesque.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsajs2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    508
    232
    51
    35
See reviews for
168
704
28
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Great value: We paid £180 for two nights in a spacious standard "family room" (a double and single bed) including breakfast an evening meal on one night for us both in the restaurant.

The restaurant experience was excellent and our included evening meals were delicious. There's around 10 real ales to choose from in the bar - great stuff.

We found the staff throughout the hotel very friendly, welcoming and helpful.

It was great to be able to park free of charge at a hotel close the centre of Chester with less than a ten minute walk along the canal towpath to Marks & Spencer, the famous Chester "Rows" and the Roman & Medieval City Walls.

Most city centre hotels are noisy. Our room at "The Mill" was close to a busy ring-road flyover. It was also located over the bar where a live band was in full throttle just when we were hoping to get our heads down for an early night.

I suggest you book a room that's furthest from the ring-road and not directly above the bar.

I agree with others that the hotel decor is tired and dated, dark and dismal in many areas.

Room Tip: As distant as possible from the ring-road flyover, and not above the main bar either, if you want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CreweAlexForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in a standard room, June 2012 Hotel can be difficult to find due to one way system so make sure sat/nav is up to date. Ample car parking outside the Hotel and across the road in a secured parking area with barrier.
Hotel appearance and internal decor is a little shabby, but considering the amount of people that use this hotel, I am not surprised!! The large bar on the ground floor is open to the public, but prices are good and there is a fantastic selection of beers, but you may have to stand for a while to get a seat. But Hey this bar is lively and I know what I would prefer…
Reception and staff in this hotel are really friendly and eager to help, the breakfast was limited in choice but the quality of the food was above average for a buffet .. The main restaurant is a must for a little money you get a lot of quality. We booked as part of the room reservation which made it a lot cheaper.
Rooms are good, fairly spacious (we were in a standard room) with large wardrobe, tea making and biccys, hairdryer, ironing board and iron. Only nit pick was lack lustre shower over bath, but constant hot water so no prob really.
The City Centre is just around the corner less than a 10 min walk away. Good eatery is the Victoria Pub in town. Mecca Bingo less than 5 Mins. Chester racecourse is 15 minutes away, and the walk around the chester wall is worth an hour one morning…
Overall good value for a short break especially if you are going to use the spa facilities!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveH_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Everything was perfect! Visiting our daughter to celebrate her 21st birthday then bring her home with all the baggage! Found the Mill Hotel and Spa on the internet - what a find. Free use of the lovely swimming pool for residents, with towels provided. Booked The Captains Table Ultimate Dinner Party for the 21st birthday meal and were not disappointed. Extremely reasonably priced as it included all the drink including a champagne reception. Staff were very attentive. Room great, service great, staff friendly and helpful, clean and tastefully furnished. No complaints at all. Have booked the hotel again for daughter's graduation in November. Lovely setting also along the canal. Would also mention that Chester is a beautiful city and well worth a visit - walk around the wall if you can.

Room Tip: We stayed in a more expensive room (can't remember which category) as the standard rooms were al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yamgma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwyn Bay, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

stayed for 2nights room ok very dark, shower over bath not ideal,dining staff very helpful food very good we all had an enjoyable time disco good. gym lots of machines to use but altho manned by 2 young men they made no attempt eye contact so felt unable to ask for some guidence on using the equipment very disappointing they let the hotel down.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We opted for a Club Class room overlooking the canal – a decent size with a comfortable large double and a single bed, but, like the rest of the hotel, buy-by-the-yard hotel furniture and dated, slightly oppressive decoration. Functional and lacking touches of luxury – a basic coffee/tea selection, no goodies in the slightly shabby bathroom, excellent towels, but no sign of dressing gowns which might be expected in n hotel marketed as a Spa. Two hair dryers, but take your own mirror if you need to use the wall plug. I expected better for the price.
The rambling arrangement of the huge hotel straddling the canal and incorporating old and new buildings creates a challenge. Be prepared to manhandle luggage and tackle a maze of corridors, staircases and short lift hops - and get lost.
Dinner in the Canaletto Restaurant was excellent in every way. The ideal choice would have been to take a Canal Restaurant Cruise, but these were solidly booked. It would be advisable to reserve well in advance and perhaps it could have been suggested as an option at the time of booking the accommodation.
The bar and lounge areas – Sky TV, wall-to-wall sport channels and all open to the public. It happened to be the weekend when England were playing Sweden and the rugby internationals were on – and a hen party. All was very good spirited, packed, noisy and with no hiding place for residents. The young folk of Chester must be very pleased to be able to watch sport with their mates in such comfortable surroundings, and enjoy the remarkably reasonable bar prices.
The staff in every area, even when extremely busy, were unerringly cheerful, helpful, friendly and efficient. Full marks.
The city centre is a fair walk away, particularly in the rain, and the roads around the hotel are not attractive but taxis are very reasonable and arrive promptly.
We stayed in June as a party of six for our annual city centre get together – our priorities are comfortable surroundings, ease of access, good food, pleasant bar areas and lounges where we can relax and catch up, helpful staff, and proximity to city centre. Three out of six is not too bad.

Room Tip: Be specific when booking about what you want and any limitations, particularly mobility,you might ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We were part of a Hen Party, very disapointed with our room it was really small, asked for a replacement but was told the hotel was fully booked. Don't think it was checked. Very tired decor, wouldn't recomend this hotel at all.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank connollyconn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,612 reviews
5.4 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,075 reviews
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.6 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Hotel

Property: The Mill Hotel
Address: Milton Street, Chester CH1 3NF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Hotel Chester
The Mill Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing