We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing enjoyable weekend”
Review of The Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mill Hotel
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Excellent hotel had everything we needed staff were friendly and helpful excellent location beside the canal and walking distance to Chester we would definitely recommend this hotel and would not hesitate in returning

Room Tip: Stayed in room 326
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jules0906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,446)
There are newer reviews for The Mill Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

954 - 960 of 1,446 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2012

just come back from a three night stay at the mill, pleasant staff at check in but the two members of staff that do deserve praise is firstly the gentleman behind the bar at the morning buffet very very friendly indeed, secondly the gentleman on duty at reception at 2.30 am , after tolerating a noisy room next door to ours he came up and sorted the matter out for us .. the only staff member that was not helpfull was the girl at the spa reception she obviously had other things to do when we went there and had no time for us, which was a shame as the pool and sauna ect was very good . just one more gripe the room walls seem very thin..
but on the whole a good hotel

Room Tip: avoid room 318 as the sound travels in from 316
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yetsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Having normally stayed at the Queens in Chester, we would not have even looked at this hotel (usually only go for 4*) but were recommended it by friends. We were a little apprehensive having read reviews but really not necessary. From the time we arrived until the time we left, the staff were pleasant and helpful, the hotel very clean and the food appetising and reasonably priced. Considering that parking is complementary, the room rate relatively cheap and the hotel is within easy walking distance of the town centre, we will certainly stay here on our next visit to Chester.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

I must admit this wasn’t our first choice for the marathon weekend in Chester, but I’m really pleased we ended up here. The hotel is located right on the canal; literally a 5 min walk from the main train station and similar to the centre. We stayed in a club double as it was advised the only standard doubles left were over the bar, which I presume gets loud in the evening. Our room however faced the canal, and although the décor is dated, it was spacious, comfortable & quiet. Service was super friendly and the pool area was clean and perfect for a post-race cold rainy afternoon. Breakfast, which was included in our rate, offered a selection of continental and hot options, and good coffee in nice surroundings. We also had lunch at the Old Harkers Arms pub literally a right turn and 2mins down the canal from the hotel which I would definitely recommend for good gastro pub food.

If you’re looking for edgy & cool, this is probably not it! But the Mill Hill for us hit the mark totally on all the important things – great service, super comfortable bed, great shower pressure ( & fluffy towels!) and a convenient location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GEGLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I really liked this hotel. There was everything you could possible want/need here. The staff were really helpful, the breakfast was amazing, the rooms absolutely spotless with great bedding, very clean modern bathrooms with lovely fluffy towels. I couldn't fault a thing. Further, the hotel is literally minutes away from Chester city centre. We parked the car in the hotel car park and didn't use for 2 days!! I definitely would recommend this establishment. PS: Great spa facilities in the hotel too!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Basic room but very comfortable bed - pity we were wakened at 5am by the rain coming in. Work on the roof above hadn't been sealed and the rain came down. No alternative room available. Leaks in the bedroom required moving the bed but the bathroom was literally a wash out - shave and showerd at the Leisure centre. Reception apologised but would have expected better response.
Swimming pool really good - 15m - great for a swim instead of usual hotel "dip". Leisure centre open to public so might get busy - not a problem at 6pm when I visited. They have lanes roped off for swimmers. Good sauna & steam room beside the pool. Gym looked reasonable but not of interest to me.
Could have been a much better experience so wouldn't rule it out in future

Room Tip: Avoid upper floors if roof works ongoing. At least 2 rooms were affected when I visited
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lachlan75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

On arrival we were allocated our business class room which unfortunately was amidst scaffolding and building work. After a call to reception we were moved across the bridge to a complimentary club class room.
The room was spacious, well equipped with a king size bed.
Our meal in the restaurant was lovely accompanied by a very good affordable wine list.
We made use of the pool, jacuzzi steam room and sauna which were beautifully clean
The mill and spa is a 5 minute walk from the centre of Chester along the canal path.
Staff were very helpful and we recognised many from a previous new years stay some years ago which must say something.
We would highly recommend this hotel and will look forward to our next stay

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giljonmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,687 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Hotel

Address: Milton Street, Chester CH1 3NF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Chester
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £79 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Hotel Chester
The Mill Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing