We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The good, the bad and the breakfast.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mill Hotel
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Manchester
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The good, the bad and the breakfast.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

Stayed at The Mill hotel on 19th and 20th October with my partner. We arrived somewhat earlier than the advised 2:00pm booking in but were pleasantly surprised to be told that our room was ready. All staff at the front desk were polite and efficient and our room was well appointed with a comfortable bed, spacious sofa area and good sized tv.

The only reasons for not giving the hotel a five star rating would be the following:

The single sheet toilet roll dispenser in our room seemed cheap and akin to a public lavatory, perhaps there have been trust issues with supplying rolls in the past!

The organisation of breakfast. Notably the hotel do advise that guests try to attend as early as possible as the dining area can become very busy, and in a busy hotel this is easily to be expected. However having to stand up to 25 minutes at the front desk waiting for your number to be called out as other guests arrive/depart is somewhat frustrating. Waiting so long without being offered a soft drink or tea is hard to understand and seeing other guests being 'called to breakfast' who have been waiting less time that you is simply rude. This I would suggest is an area that needs looking at.

Barring that both my partner and I had an enjoyable time at The Mill Hotel and would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nivag123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    488
    489
    225
    49
    32
See reviews for
160
677
27
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012 via mobile

Lovely hotel close to Chester shops. Excellent friendly staff throughout our visit. Lovely meal at canaletto restaurant and yummilicious breakfast. Definately would stop again, am sure we will be back next year to go Xmas shopping again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Djwolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

Travelling to the North of England for a gold wedding celebration when you live in a sunny land takes a lot of courage. Cold weather is not for me or my family! This time as we made our way down from Berwick to Chester the sun shone, the birds sung and the grey English sky was blue. It was warm in fact as warm as home! Chester greeted us in full bloom with enough flowing of air to make it just right. Trees everywhere and lovely Roman sites too.

The Mill Hotel & Spa was so unexpected too. Built on both sides of the canal and joined by a bridge it was rather captivating. Our room was big for UK standard and furnished with some nice pieces of antiques but extremely comfortable offering all the conveniences. In fact we were greeted not only with a fine bouquet of flowers but also fruits and a bottle of champagne!

A holiday on its own - we went on a Queen Mary deluxe six course dinner which was an experience on its own with the 'ship's' Capt receiving us with whistles and all. Excellent service drinks and food all inclusive in the dinner price. A Roman tea party river cruise another unique experience with rather a handsome and charming Roman soldier imparting stories of those bygone days. Dinner dances, discos everything you want. I am not a lover of sausages and mash but when I finally ventured to taste I ate two of the three 'bangers' and what delicious mash mixed with cabagge and bacon as well as cheese! As you can see, food was excellent. I have hardly ever seen my husband eat so much and so well away from home!

As for my daughter and I we had a ball at the spa enjoying quite a number of beauty treatment and at very good price too. Since we had hired a car we were able to travel to nearby Wales which was also quite a unique experience. Close to shopping outlets it was a delight. We were lucky to be able to attend the Horse Races too A place I can fully recommend and so central too. The week we had there went far too quickly.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen,Wales
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

Just returned from a lovely stay at this hotel. The staff were outstanding - friendly and helpful at all times. We booked a two night midweek break which had an automatic upgrade as we booked direct. The hotel is located on either side of the canal with a link bridge which was nice and the city was an easy stroll along the canal - about 5 mins to the shops. We had no issues with noise, which I know some people have mentioned before, but we were in the new building. canal side, possibly if we had been on the other side overlooking the road it would of been different.
The restaurant was excellent! The food was of a high standard and a wide choice and the environment in the restaurant was really nice as well. Superb service from excellent staff - not a bad one amongst them. Also reasonable prices for the quality of food.
The Spa - this was the only thing that threw me a bit.....when I think of a spa I think lounging around the pool, reading a book, pottering off to have my treatments and then going back poolside. Now to be fair there is nothing to suggest this in the info, but just to be clear, and so you are not confused, the pool, jaccussi and sauna are in one building and are functional in that there are no loungers around the pool (nor room for them to be fair) they are part of the health club......the spa is actually part of the beauty suite - rooms off of the nail and hairdressing area are used to give massages and treatments in, this is fine and they have done their best with the room available, but unfortunately the sound proofing between the two areas is not good so during my hour and a half massage I discovered exactly what hours the nail therapist worked, the shift pattern etc. and what her client had been up to. I had a lovely massage from a competent therapist and it was cheap by comparison so I am not complaining just explaining that this is why they charge for robes as you wouldn't normally need them.
We had a great time and would definitely return to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms over the canal in the new block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bexinwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

Have just spent 2 days ,on a midweek break at this hotel,and quite honestly don't know how it's done for the price.
After looking for hotels offering mid week breaks in Chester I chose this one on the merits of its description on the website,which proved to be an excellent representation!
On arrival,after an 8 minute walk from the railway station we were greeted by extremely friendly,polite and helpful reception staff who,after informing us of the hotels location some 5 mins walk from the centre of Chester, directed us to our comfortable room.All the usual needs were catered for and the television was a modern flat screen 32 inch,which pleased my wife,as did use of the spa facilities,an early afternoon swim was enjoyed !
The bar staff were excellent and the prices for drinks were on a par to most high street hostelries.Also in our package was a 3 course meal in the excellent restaurant,which was geared to cater for my wifes special dietary needs(ceoliac,in fact the Chester coeliac society meet in the hotel !)and we enjoyed a really excellent meal.
Breakfast was also a joy it was the first time in a number of years that my wife was able to enjoy toast! We both enjoyed the very good buffet laid out!
On the second evening we also chose to dine "in house" and were very pleased with the menu and prices!
In all we both would have no qualms in recommending this hotel to anyone thinking of a mid week break in Chester at a realistic price with comfortable surroundings

Room Tip: To be honest the best rooms are probably overlooking the canal,but we had no problems overlooking th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

Excellent hotel had everything we needed staff were friendly and helpful excellent location beside the canal and walking distance to Chester we would definitely recommend this hotel and would not hesitate in returning

Room Tip: Stayed in room 326
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jules0906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

just come back from a three night stay at the mill, pleasant staff at check in but the two members of staff that do deserve praise is firstly the gentleman behind the bar at the morning buffet very very friendly indeed, secondly the gentleman on duty at reception at 2.30 am , after tolerating a noisy room next door to ours he came up and sorted the matter out for us .. the only staff member that was not helpfull was the girl at the spa reception she obviously had other things to do when we went there and had no time for us, which was a shame as the pool and sauna ect was very good . just one more gripe the room walls seem very thin..
but on the whole a good hotel

Room Tip: avoid room 318 as the sound travels in from 316
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yetsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.4 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#28 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Hotel

Property: The Mill Hotel
Address: Milton Street, Chester CH1 3NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Hotel Chester
The Mill Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing