We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do you want dinner at the weekend”
Review of The Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mill Hotel
Ranked #12 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Cant book a table when you arrive on Friday or Saturday as they only do a basic dinner dance or boat trip and outsiders have them all booked up. Breakfast good. Reception staff scary and we could have done without bossy notes about getting up early for breakfast. Parking is a real issue as full of gym users and outsiders. Such a shame for a good hotel

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Di S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,000 - 1,006 of 1,509 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2012

The hotel was lovely, right on the river bank. Room was really comfortable. The best thing about this hotel was the staff, without exception all were cheerful and could not do enough to help the guest. Really made us feel special will go back for another visit.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the main block on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juddgilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Having stayed here last year my daughter and I returned again this year and took my sister along. the staff were lovely and food was great. They managed to find us a room with 4 single beds so we had loads of room and very cheap. We had a lovely Christmas shopping trip again and we will see you again next year. I might see you before must bring the husband next time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorna-and-Gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

We spent four days here. The staff were friendly, rooms clean and cosy.Car park and only a few minutes walk into the centre. Couldn't be more perfect.... Well except for breakfast!!! It does depend on what you are used to, but for the first two mornings we had to queue simply because they were not on the ball at filling up!! Cooked breakfast was only in a small area and choice was limited, but in the ten minutes we queued, no one came out to check on it..... We cannot excuse the hotel due to being busy as this was midweek and plenty of tables free. By the weekend staff were keeping the buffet filled up. But this only showed that wknd guests were considered more. Guests should be considered every day!! Having stayed in many 4 star establishments we found the choice basic, but adequate. Staff were not always polite... pushing past to get things without any manners! This was annoying!! We had an evening meal booked prior to arrival and after the breakfast we were worried as to what was to come, but no complaints about that meal. It was truly delicious. Still we enjoyed our stay here. Breakfast is not everything. The rooms were cosy and the location was perfect to walk into the centre. We will return. I'm sure.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Foxymama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

This was our fifth visit to the Mill Hotel over the past 10 years.

We stayed in a double room 'over the bridge', the decor was very modern. The room was very spacious (quite big actually), large flat screen TV, iron & ironing board.

Buffet style breakfast (excellent food), busy, but very organised & no queues.

We usually walk out into the City centre @ night, only takes 5 mins, lots of places to eat & drink.

The hotel has a great atmosphere and will always stay here when staying in Chester.

Pool & jacuzzi were great.

We went to the firework display at the Racecourse, which again was brilliant.

Hotel has dinner (or dinner cruise) & disco Friday & Saturday, we have done this in the past but not this time, But would recommend.

Room Tip: Request a room 'over the footbridge' , nearer the pool/spa and newer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My friend and I got put here by lastminute.com after they failed to book us into the hotel we'd originally booked. We arrived and check in was incredibly quick, the reception staff were very friendly and welcoming. Our room was nice, bathroom was lovely, beds comfortable, lovely wide screen TV and the rooms had sound proof windows to stop the sound of the outside traffic. It's in a lovely area by the canal, and there is a big car park free for residents which was a big bonus for us. It's also only a 10 minute walk to the shops, nightlife etc. Next time we are travelling to Chester I will be sure to stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Potteh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Mill for 2 nights for my birthday. The room was quite large and clean with tasteful decor. The bed was large and comy, and our room was in a quiet situation overlooking the canal. Breakfast was very good, it was a buffet style with plenty of choice. The evening meal was very enjoyable too. Use of the pool was included, which we took advantage of. The Mill Hotel is in an excellent position, only 5 mins walk from the town centre. We will definitely be returning. My only slightly negative comment is that the entrance and reception area could do with some updating.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandySkipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 45 in Chester
1,732 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Hotel

Address: Milton Street, Chester CH1 3NF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Chester
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £79 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your The Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Hotel Chester
The Mill Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing