We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay”
Review of The Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mill Hotel
Ranked #12 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 November 2012

We enjoyed a two night stay and found the hotel to be of a very good standard. Our club room was in the new part of the hotel and was large, clean and very comfortable with all the facilities expected. There was one small problem in consistantly obtaining and maintaining the right balance between hot / cold water from the mixer tap based shower.... yes it can get hot!!

Food was very good at both dinner and breakfast and the bar provided an excellent choice of drinks / beer which proved welcome whilst catching with the sport on one of many TV's. Leisure facilities are excellent and provide a perfect way to relax after a few hours pounding the streets and shops.

xternal building work is going on but you dont really notice things and although space is limited due to contractors vans etc the large car park can cope easily.

Overall good value for money, excellent location for the city centre which is easily walkable and very good customer service.... we would certainly return

Room Tip: We chose a Club based room on the new side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 35PaulC35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,512)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

998 - 1,004 of 1,512 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2012

Ok so are first thought when we got in the Room was dated and in need of a spruce up but it grew on us we were in the Old part which had a old Beam running through the ceiling it was clean and warm good TV and Tea and Coffee and the bed was really comfy,it was Saturday so was very busy there was also Building work going on but you did not Notice it only The Scaffold on the Outside this Hotel has a very Good Resturant and good bar which is popular with Locals as its got a great choice of Real ales and its not expensive unlike other Hotel Bars,Breakfast was also good and staff all very nice and helpful we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bogmalobobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

My wife and I stayed for two nights on the 8/10 November 2012 and overall we had a great time at the hotel and Chester. We found the room to very large and it over looked the canal which was good to people watch, the room itself had all you wanted, the walk into the shops only took a few mins and had lots drinking / eating places all within a small area. We were well looked after at breakfest by a little grey haired LADY with glasses with a first class service by her. We will be returning to the MILL very soon.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAWBEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

What began as a most enjoyable evening on the dinner cruise was spoilt by the attitude of one 'senior member of staff' to feedback asked for in relation to the quality of pen element of the main course. Let me begin by extolling the virtues of the superbly cooked rib eye steak one of the bet pieces of meat I have tasted in a long time. But diners beware do not dare to criticise the quality of the potatoes which appeared to be processed/vacuum packed. You will be 'assured' strenuously by waiting staff that they are not. However, this is not the end to proceedings as prior to disembarkation you run the risk of being verbally accosted by said 'senior member of staff' not a pleasant experience to be subjected to at the end of an otherwise enjoyable evening. Be warned in the eyes of this individual customer service is extinct. The only conclusion I can draw is 'me thinks they doth protest to much'. Julia McCall and friends

Room Tip: This review is for the diner cruise only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

First visited the hotel last year when all the sales were on in Chester center, just a few minutes walk away. The hotel has plentiful parking, the staff are pleasant and the rooms clean and comfortable, with a decent full English breakfast. Missed the Xmas lights and the Xmas market, which would have made the purpose of our visit so much better. Get our timing better next year..Highly recommend this hotel. I would also recommend the Victoria pub, which is a real pub! Gets my vote for the liver and bacon and onion gravy, which I,m not allowed at home:)

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffcann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Cant book a table when you arrive on Friday or Saturday as they only do a basic dinner dance or boat trip and outsiders have them all booked up. Breakfast good. Reception staff scary and we could have done without bossy notes about getting up early for breakfast. Parking is a real issue as full of gym users and outsiders. Such a shame for a good hotel

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Di S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

The hotel was lovely, right on the river bank. Room was really comfortable. The best thing about this hotel was the staff, without exception all were cheerful and could not do enough to help the guest. Really made us feel special will go back for another visit.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the main block on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juddgilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,735 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
5.4 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,495 reviews
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Hotel

Address: Milton Street, Chester CH1 3NF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Chester
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £79 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your The Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Hotel Chester
The Mill Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing