We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service”
Review of The Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mill Hotel
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Made a 2 night booking direct on the hotel website for our daughter and her new husband as a surprise. Within half an hour I received a phone call from Linsey at the hotel discussing options. Linsey sent us a voucher for our daughter to present on check in. Which was very helpful.
Our daughter enjoyed her break so much she and her new husband extended their stay. Loving the complimentry use of the swimming pool, sauna, steam room and gym.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusielouScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,445)
There are newer reviews for The Mill Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

903 - 909 of 1,445 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2013

We stayed at this hotel because of the locality and that I have to say was ideal, the food was excellent but the cleanliness of the room could have been better with a cobweb that must have been there for a while. The bed had sharp edges which you caught yourself on whenever you got into bed. The worse part of the hotel was at night the rooms were so warm and dry, no heating was on but even with the window open it made it an uncomfortable night’s sleep. When checking out the reception manager asked if we had enjoyed our stay, we gave feedback but we were completely ignored! Why ask then :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annabel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

We visited the mill for a post Christmas chill out as recommended by a friend. We had a great time, the hotel was fab. Great service in main reatuarant and ale bar, good food in both. We stayed in standard club class in old part of hotel, room had plenty of space and of good decor. location 5mins away from city centre with plenty of things to do, only a short drive away from the zoo. Wod highly recommend and hope to visit again soon!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

As regular visitors to Chester, I like to share the fantastic service and food severed at the The Mill & Spa in Chester. We've used this hotel numerous times and for value of money it can;t be beaten! Staff excellent, food very good indeed, rooms clean and fresh and just 5 to the main street with fantastic shops! What more could you want or need? Would recommend highly to friends and family....If you have problems booking on line, call them direct and usually they can accomodate you.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jefhurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

A four night Christmas package in a Club room was a fantastic time. The staff were all friendly and helpful, the food was amazingly varied and good, the little party type touches were many and the general atmosphere very happy. The dinner cruise and the entertainment were excellent and the close proximity to the city centre all goes to make this an ideal place to stay at Christmas which is probably why so many fellow guests come here year after year. The general organization and planning which went into the package were highly efficient and if they can handle a very busy four days of festivities so well then it must be an excellent place to stay throughout the year.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank sheila t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Just had an overnight here. this hotel is great. i stayed in a club room which is a nice size and looks over the canal well worth the extra. its a 5 min stroll to all that Chester has to offer. The hotel has much to offer although on this occasion i did not use the spa i had lunch in the canalleto restaurant. the lunch was very good and amazing value at £12 for three courses and tea. breakfast was the usual but what was impressive were the number of staff on duty so no dirty plates were left around.

whilst all the staff are very efficient and try to please they could be slightly friendlier. also it rained alot when i was there and the car park had very large puddles in it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leedsutdskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Stayed for one night after Christmas,The staff are very welcoming upon arrival, The club rooms over the bridge were spotless and roomy , good selection of tea , coffee and biscuits on the tray.We dined at the Canaletto Restaurant that evening , the food was delicious with a good selection of vegetables served on side dishes.The staff here were also very friendly and helpful and the team worked like clockwork with only a few minutes between each course - well done ! We used the pool , jacuzzi etc which was lovely after a days shopping , spa facilities very clean.We had a light lunch the following day at the cafe near the Spa it was lovely , once again food plentiful and friendly staff.The hotel is situated only a few minutes walk from the main shops which is ideal as you don't have to move the car.Thank you for an enjoyable stay,

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetpotatoruthin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,686 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Hotel

Address: Milton Street, Chester CH1 3NF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Chester
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £79 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Hotel Chester
The Mill Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing