We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice comfortable stay”
Review of The Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Mill Hotel
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
MANCHESTER
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice comfortable stay”
Reviewed 12 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed here again and as last time had a really pleasant time

Spent some time in the pool area, ha a sauna and a jacuzzi, are very clean and relaxing.

Had a club room which was very nice ( for only £20:00 extra ) very clean great powerful shower.

If I had any complaint it would be the breakfast, not the best all could have been cooked a little longer the bacon was a bit dreary.

But overall a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    508
    232
    51
    35
See reviews for
168
704
28
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

With 12+ handpumps of real ale and cider the Mill Hotel bar is testament to the quality and variety of real ales and cider around these days, and the regular turnover of beers shows their popularity amongst local Chester drinkers and visitors staying at the hotel. The bar seems busy every night of the week; on my last visit a band was playing (on a Monday night) and there was a pleasant atmosphere. It's a plain layout and I haven't tried any bar food so can't comment, but the beer is really the star attraction here.

The MIll is well situated for those who want to do a mini pub-crawl between here and nearby Union Vaults and Harker's Arms - three very different pubs all with great ale along a stretch of the canal.

I haven't stayed at the Mill but my parents have on a dozen or more occasions and are always happy with the bed and breakfast (the kippers are much praised).

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nhb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a Christmas function. The staff were friendly and helpful, and you could check in early if your room was ready. We arrived around 1pm, but our room wasn't ready. We had trouble finding a parking space, but did manage to squeeze in the car park eventually. There is another car park around the corner as well. The room was a bit small, but adequate for an overnight stay. It is a 5-10 minute walk to the shops and a cathedral, and about 10-15 minutes to the river. The evening function was very enjoyable, both the food & entertainment were good. Breakfast was buffet service, as in most hotels now. Check out was at 12, which wasn't too early. You also have access to the fitness centre while staying here, but we didn't have time to use it. The hotel is half on one side of the canal, and half on the other, connected by a footbridge. All in all an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikkit00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergele, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Just got back from a short break at The Mill, Chester. This hotel has a unique atmosphere with a blend of class and home comfort. Our room (407) was warm, clean and fitted with TV, bath, shower, comfortable bed, easy chairs, radio and wi-fi (free). Breakfast was in the main restaurant which is very swish and offered a full range of juices, cereals and everything needed for a full English breakfast. On our first night we dined in the bar. This has a good well priced range of meals and I can particularly recommend the steak and ale pie. There is a selection of real ales and cask ales as well as all the usual lagers and mild. Monday night is jazz night! We were royally entertained by the Walled City Jazz Band with Irene Martin. I believe they have dancing events at weekends. Check out their web site for further details regarding chartered canal boat trips and their fitness facilities. My only slight, very slight, criticism was the extra bed in our room, ours had a double bed and a single bed, this made it a little cramped.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I booked the stay via Last Minute.com when I booked in, the reception staff advised me that if I make another visit I should contact them as they will match the price, I thought that was very good. Our Club room was generous in size with a comfortable settee and a very comfortable bed, it overlooked the Shropshire Union Canal as opposed to the busy Chester ring road. The bathroom was a little tired and the bath sealant was in need of replacement, be aware that the hot water is that, very, very hot, great if you like long lazy soaks. We took advantage and booked the evening dinner cruise on the Hotel owned broad beam canal barge. This was an excellent decision, the food, staff and general ambiance was very good, the staff going the extra mile to ensure a great evening was had by all on the boat. Breakfast follows the buffet route and worked well, a small wait for a table at the busy 9.15am on a Sunday should never be a cause for complaint. The staff constantly updated the various food displays, and tea/coffe/toast appeared within a very short time of occupying a table. The Hotel has ample free parking which in a busy city like Chester is a bounus. A mere 10 minute canal tow path walk and you are in the city or on the city walls. We will re-visit in the summer when the nights are light and again enjoy an evening dinner cruise.The managers should be complimented on their staff training programme, it works and it showed.

Room Tip: If possible get a canal view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WolverhamptonRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Stayed here between Christmas & New Year 2012/13
Room good size, room was very hot even with heating switched off had to ask for a fan, which was in room by the time we had breakfast. Bathroom good size but could have done with a bigger sink. Good choice of breakfast food, hot, you needed to order mushrooms, kippers if needed. On the Friday we went on the cruise, food & service excellent well worth going on. No problems with staff the small complaint we did have was sorted in 10 mins. We did not us the bar so cannot comment on it. Hotel has free parking and is only 10 min slow walk into city centre.
Only problem with hotel is next to ring road so if you have window open you hear traffic, shut window cannot hear anything.

Room Tip: Furthest away from Ring road
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenfly01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Made a 2 night booking direct on the hotel website for our daughter and her new husband as a surprise. Within half an hour I received a phone call from Linsey at the hotel discussing options. Linsey sent us a voucher for our daughter to present on check in. Which was very helpful.
Our daughter enjoyed her break so much she and her new husband extended their stay. Loving the complimentry use of the swimming pool, sauna, steam room and gym.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusielouScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,612 reviews
5.4 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,075 reviews
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.6 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Hotel

Property: The Mill Hotel
Address: Milton Street, Chester CH1 3NF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Hotel Chester
The Mill Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing