We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Mill Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$90
US$80
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$112
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ABode Chester(Chester)
US$118
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$119
US$116
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$156
US$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$147
US$141
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$112
US$95
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$153
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,625)
Filter reviews
1,625 results
Traveller rating
647
613
264
58
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
647
613
264
58
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscanal boatreal ale bardinner cruisecanaletto restaurantbusiness roomoverlooking the canalclub roomcity centrepremier roomdinner dancecar parkbar priceshealth clubbreakfast was buffet stylespa facilitieslovely hotelbar area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,070 - 1,075 of 1,625 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Just writing this makes me want to go there. Its a warm, friendly, cosy hotel in a simply perfect location for a Chester break. With the spa and the canal and the gym, and short walk to town, It just could not be better. Free WiFi is a BIG attraction for me. Very reasonably priced room service is another. This is the hotel to choose in Chester.

Room Tip: I like paying for a larger room, and try to be away from the lifts and corridor doors.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

This is the 2nd time I've stayed here, the first time was in a basic room that I was't impressed by. This time paid £80 through a corporate booking to get a business room - mmm..... their idea of business room and mine is a bit different, what on earth are the frosted windows in the room about? Even if there is no view I want to see out! My original room was next to the lift and was noisy so the reception staff were good about moving me. Unfortunately the room I went to next was across the canal next to the main road and was subject to lots of traffic noise until late at night. And someone had set the alarm to go off for midnight - thanks last guest! The room was okay but the bath had some nice black mould around the edge.
Breakfast was nothing special but the basics were all there. Had the excitement of a fire in the laundry room as we left.

Room Tip: avoid one near the main road.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonyotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Stayed here for one night and really cannot fault it, service was good, room was excellent, not to sure I would want one over looking the busy main rd tho,
Good value for money considering its location,
Can,t wait to go back to try their restaurant on the canal.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Stayed here for 1 night in January. Reception staff were most welcoming and we received a free upgrade without asking. Most impressed with the breakfast and the friendliness of the staff and people staying. The real ale bar had a good selection of beers and drinks in general. We didnt have time to use the spa & leisure facilities but will do next time as we are definitely returning. This is very handy for the shops and pubs.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaddyDudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a friday and saturday night in January. Found it difficult to get to even with sat nav. Room was ok quite spacious however i was not impressed by the frosted glass window or the fact that the standard lamp had no shade ! The bed although comfortable was very squeaky and just turning over made a terrible noise! The walls are very thin and we had a cougher next door to us who coughed all night. You could also hear someone using the toilet... and not just the flush ! Our room was on the 3rd floor and located over the restaurant where they hold dinner dances and we could hear the music quite loudly until 1am so not suitable for children or someone wanting an early night.
The spa was great we used the pool steam room and sauna both mornings and it wasnt busy.
The breakfast was nice too but if you only want 1 slice of toast do tell the server or they'll automatically bring you 3 slices. It was nice to have coffee in a pot with enough for 3-4 cups.
The barstaff were friendly and helpfull in their choice of real ales but it can get very crowded.
I would stay here again but probably midweek or on a sunday.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaygal29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews