We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Mill Hotel
Ranked #14 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed for two nights for her 18th and it was excellent the room was spotless the breakfast in the morning was amazing good choice and all hot and the room service was brilliant and try and take advantage of the pool and jacuzzi :) would recommend this to any lad who wanted to treat his girlfriend for the weekend

Room Tip: Room 520 great view of the canal off the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    512
    528
    237
    53
    35
See reviews for
176
720
28
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in mid feb 2013. We booked through laterooms which was an easy process. When we arrived we had no problem parking on the on site car park, lovely bonus that it was free to use! Check in was smooth and our room was spacious and adequate.

We used the complimentary spa facilities on our first evening; they're not the largest facilities but plenty of space and was not over crowded when we visited. Lovely staff at the spa reception too.

Breakfast was average and let the overall hotel experience down. Plenty of cooked breakfast but no vegetarian option. Continental options were a joke- one little basket of baked goods (guarded by staff!) and a plate of old looking cheese and ham- also very little in the way of fresh fruit.

We ate at the main restaurant one evening and had an enjoyable meal which was reasonably priced.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again, but it would be nice if breakfast options could be improved! Overall though, a lovely stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinkbooboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from one night at the Mill Hotel in Chester and it lived up to the good reviews it has received in the past. Our room was on the small side ,probably only to be expected from a standard room but it still had everything you could want. Sky TV was a bit " speckled" but watchable and on the bonus side we picked up the WiFi very well. Excellent pool and gym and the hotel bar was more like a friendly pub, very popular, excellent prices (cheaper than the city pubs) and good food ( light snack)
The breakfast was also very good. The staff and service throughout were friendly and helpful with immediate attention to a small problem with a radiator. All in all an excellent choice for a city break in Chester and we would definitely use it again.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LynDavPen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid Wales
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We booked a last minute room and were offered an executive overlooking the canal for £90 which I thought would be worth the extra. Unfortunately our room, 430, was disappointing, in as much as the bathroom was tiny - the whole room was an odd shape due to the proximity of the lift and the bathroom suffered as a consequence. There was no bath which was disappointing. The shower cabinet was about as small as you get and the sink was tiny, making it virtually impossible to even wash your face. There was nowhere to put toiletries either in the bathroom or in the shower cubicle. On the plus side the furniture in the actual room was good quality and the bed comfortable. The spa facilities were a bonus, although the changing room was chilly. The breakfast was uninspiring and pretty tasteless and the bacon under
cooked. I've stayed before but I am not convinced I will stay again, there are a lot of hotels out there in this price range, I really think The Mill could buck up their ideas a little.

Room Tip: Avoid 430 - so called 'executive' as I believe it to have the smallest bathroom ever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadybugMidWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Found the hotel on the Internet. Wanted a hotel with spar and pool and this we felt fitted the bill. Staff were very helpful and the room we had was clean. The only problem I had with the room was you had to be a contortionist to use the hair dryer and mirror at the same time and you could hear noise from above..
We booked an evening meal in the restaurant and have no complaints it was lovely as we're the breakfasts.
The only thing to watch out for is the price of wine in the hotel bar. A medium glass of white wine cost £4.70 which we thought was rather overpriced. The beers were very reasonably priced between £2.50 - £3.00
Overall a lovely hotel and we will certainly be going back again.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room at the front of the hotel as it can be a little noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Stayed here just before the New Year, booked via the hotel's website and got a good deal. Having stayed at a few hotels outside Chester we were surprised with the prices for food and drinks, we thought being a city hotel it would be dearer but we found the hotel cheaper than hotels just outside Chester.
Have to be honest we did drive around for quite a bit because we kept missing the turning for the hotel but that's one way systems for you!
Reception staff were friendly and polite and we were soon checked in. We walked to the shops, only takes about 10 minutes.
We ate in the bar in the evening, food was nice and good value. Breakfast was good too.
We have already booked to go back in May and August.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ella2008Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in a business room. Room was very oldfashion, dark and needed redecoration (some horrible stains on chairs). The bathroom was also very basic with no room for personal toiletries and you could see some stains on the showercurtain. Some of the staff was quite grumpy and not really helpful.
Overall the hotel was ok-ish, but for the price we paid I would expect much more.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,630 reviews
5.4 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,143 reviews
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.6 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Hotel

Property: The Mill Hotel
Address: Milton Street, Chester CH1 3NF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Chester
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Hotel Chester
The Mill Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing