We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of The Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mill Hotel
Ranked #12 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Unfornalty we only stayed for one night however we had a great stay at this lovely hotel. If your looking for a good value for money here is your place. The swimming pool, steam room and sauna were great and could really relax in there all afternoon. The bedroom was a good size, bed was really comfy and the bathroom really clean and well kept. When we arrived we were anxious for what would be inside as the outside looks quite outdated but when you walk in everything changes! Breakfast was also good and all staff very helpful and pleasant.

Lovely stay, would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeckyStacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,575)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

806 - 812 of 1,575 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

Six of us planned dinner aboard the canal barge which is run by and moored outside the hotel.We started with drinks in the hotel then selected our courses .The starter was taken on as we left, and sailed into the city.Following which we reversed and took on board the main course.We then travelled for about a mile out of the city passing through a number of locks on route which was interesting.The barge carried a good range of drinks ,although the beer was limited to draught lager.We rounded off with very nice deserts.
Overall we all enjoyed the evening, the dinner was delicious, drinks and service was excellent, and price reasonable .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Had a 2 night stay with my daughter and granddaughter in the hotel. Excellent location a 5 minute walk into the town centre.
The rooms were spacious, we paid extra for a business room. Bathroom was clean but the shower cubicle was a little small. Rooms are hot at night. My only concern with the room was the carpet was quite stained and with a baby crawling we needed to put blankets on the floor.
We used the pool which was good but didn't use the spa. Staff in the pool were very accommodating and helpful.
We ate in the restaurant and the bar and the food was good in both and reasonably priced. Breakfast was good with a variety of foods. Be careful if you use the highchair, some don't have any straps. Staff in the restaurant were helpful and pleasant.
Receptionists were helpful, although I was a little disgruntled on checkout as the receptionist was dealing with me then started to chat to another person whilst I paid the bill and didn't even ask if everything had been ok. I felt like I was disrupting her social time.
We bought zoo tickets in the hotel which were cheaper and saved us queeing.
Overall we had a great time and would visit again and stay in this hotel.

.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deb b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed there for a weekend away with our 15 months old daughter, we were very impressed with the staff, nothing was ever too much trouble, they all were very happy and friendly, very helpful and all made such a fuss and effort of our daughter. It was a pleasure to see how good the customer service was, special mention to the waiter in the health club bar/trattoria as he was helpful even after his closing time and the tall blonde waitress at breakfast for always acknowledging our daughter. The hotel was very good value for the money, it does maybe need a bit of a revamp but I'm sure it'll come in time. Only downfall is the heat, so hot in the room even with the heater switched off.overall we had a lovely family weekend, with no upset or stress so big thank you to the staff of the mill hotel!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Papadraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel in great location! Free parking and spa! Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Only bad point rooms way to hot and our window didnt open properly. Would benefit from air con but overall great value!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauramay123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Overall we had a pleasant two night stay in the Mill Hotel:

Rooms- We stayed in room 218 on the main hotel side overlooking the canal. Rooms were very modern with flat screen tv and a nice double bed and all needed essentials. The bathroom was a good size and had nice long bath and quite a nice powerful shower. The bathroom had complimentary shower gels and soaps. The only downside of the rooms was that they got considerably hot at night time and was sometimes uncomfortable to sleep in, we left the window open but it was very humid outside and no breeze came through the window. Air con would help a great deal!!

Staff- All staff we encounted were very friendly and helped wherever needed.

Bar/restaurant- The bar was very nice and resonably priced and they offered local beers as well, the outside seating along the canal was very nice and chilled out.
When we arrived we had booked our meal in the restaurant, we were offered the canal cruise. This was the menu that was in restaurant but on the cruise. You were allocated a table number and given your starters then it set off one way down the canal. Then came back and picked up main meals and desserts and went off in the other direction. The meal was very nice and to a high standard. Staff were always on hand to help and it seemed very organised. Well done to them.

Location- The mill is in a great location and only a 5 minute walk into the town centre. You can take the longer route along the canal and this is nice also.

Food- Breakfast was nice and there was plenty of choice with cereals, croissants and hot choices like bacon, sausage fried and scrambled egg. My girlfriend ordered poached eggs, this was no trouble for the staff and these were very nice. All food we had at the hotel was nice.

We enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to stay again. Thank you very much

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank schoey1790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Myself and three work colleagues booked this hotel for two nights due to the good value of the "corporate rate" upsold over the phone, including breakfast for £98.
We walked from the train station through a council estate and were slightly confused if we were at the entrance to the hotel due to the cobbled together carpark we had to walk through. On entry to the hotel reception, we were greeted by a very entusiastic fast talking lady who radio'd Norma to check if our rooms were ready. We were told (very quickly) to take the elevator to the "great glass bridge" to the west wing. We then had a little hope that the dark, dated look in reception would improve in the west wing. Much to our disappaointment the great glass bridge was a bit of a tunnel to our 1970s velvet striped, carpet stained, bleach scented room.

Good points about the room were: large room, mattress soft and comfortable

Bad Points: no aircon and with the window open the hotel is next to the main road so it is very noisey; toilet roll dispeser (i think only schools have these?); don't bother looking for a light switch, spend 10 minutes turning on your 6 lamps; bath mat looks like it previously belonged to a heavy smoker; there are about 5 signs stuck on the wall telling me not what to do, noisy pipes.

Breakfast was average, nice service but they my ruined taste buds by cleaning the table next to us with bleach. Hot food looked unappetising. My coissant tasted like rubber. Coffee was nice.

To top off the trip on our last evening, I looked out my window and found rooms on the other side of the hotel have beautifully furnished modern rooms with a balcony we feel we have been mislead after being upsold on the phone to the "corporate room."

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#13 of 45 in Chester
1,795 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#3 of 45 in Chester
2,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
5.4 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Hotel

Address: Milton Street, Chester CH1 3NF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Chester
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £81 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Hotel Chester
The Mill Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing