We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mill Hotel
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Northants, UK
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

What a great find, if you fancy a weekend in Chester stay here. Atmosphere was one of the top plus points for me, we normally end up staying in sole less modern hotels, and this was so different. The bar was like a lively pub everyone meeting and enjoying themselves. I've never seen so many staff; everything was so organised, well run and slick. Breakfast was excellent, prices reasonable. Thought the spa was very good, a pool you could actually swim in, spacious changing rooms. The location was perfect nice bars and restaurants close by away from the Fri/Sat night hen/stag parties. Free parking a big bonus, didn’t need to use or move the car all weekend. Chester shopping was lovely just how I remembered it 20 odd years ago! I guess the shops must struggle with Cheshire Oaks only 15 mines up the road, it was nice to see so many independent shops and restaurants. Really enjoyed walking the walls with lovely views. Plenty we didn't have time to see and do so would love to go back and can recommend this friendly hotel good value for money. Only down side, as in a lot of hotels it was extremely hot, probably not helped by the unseasonably warm weather we had.

Room Tip: Let them know if you are over 6ft as some of the rooms have low beams as it was an old mill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissLBNorthants_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    488
    225
    49
    32
See reviews for
160
675
27
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We had a weekend away at Chester, with some friends we met 20 years ago on holiday, we stayed at the Mill Chester, and I must say it was execellent. the service is very good.The swimming pool is really nice.The bar in the hotel is a bit noises but it is ok., with plenty of atmospher.I wish we had had our evening meal on the barge at the hotel, which looks really good. I think we do that next time

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Our stay at the Mill hotel was very pleasant ,it is a very vibrant hotel ,friendly and helpful staff. Plenty of free car parking (always a bonus with town hotels) The restaurant is a gem very nice food and extremely slick service. The real ale bar is well priced with plenty of choice. My one downer was the advertising screens in the restaurant , but that wouldn't stop me from staying again.

Room Tip: If you like bigger bedroom go for an upgrade the cost is minimal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed at the hotel from Friday - Sunday. Although as previous guests have pointed out, the decor was dated and one side of the hotel was next to a busy road and the shower was difficult to adjust the hotel did have a lot going for it. It's centrally located, clean, friendly and helpful staff, good entertainment and food and a great gym and spa - there are not many in this price range that could tick all these boxes - we would defiantly go again - thank you

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed here recently for the Chester Marathon and it was great. It is very centrally located and the staff are brilliant. We arrived late evening and the hotel was already extremely busy, yet they still found space for 12 of us to eat together and the food was good, something for everyone.

The car parking is a bit of a nightmare and it feels a bit grotty when you arrive, but it is only a car park.

The hotel rooms are basic, 3 star rooms and very dated, but you get what you pay for. The beds are comfortable though.

The very best part of the hotel is definitely the staff, nothing was too much trouble, they are helpful, friendly and make you feel very welcome.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Underwoodfamily3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

The best things about this hotel were the price, location and swimming pool. Within easy walking distance to the town centre which was great and the free car park meant that we could leave the car safe. The swimming pool again was free to use as a hotel guest. The only thing that we found was that the hotel is in need of some updating. The décor is old fashioned in the bedrooms, corridoors and the breakfast room. The room was plenty big enough and clean however you couldn't get to the toilet without closing the bathroom door and it was very dark. I wouldn't choose this hotel if I was looking for a luxury weekend away however for a couple of nights it was reasonably priced for the facilities.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathrine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I've stayed at the Mill Hotel & Spa a number of times on short business trips. It is well run, clean and is excellent value with gym, pool, good bar food and restaurant all in a scenic setting. It is a 10 minute walk from the station and 15 mins to the centre of town, and a free car park is available. There are a number of othe pubs and restuarants nearby for variety. Occasionally there is live jazz music in the bar which is a good place to watch football on Sky as well. Bar has a very wide range of beers with regular guest appearances. The rooms do differ (as does the price) and generally choose the cheapest but if very hot please note these lack air conditioning.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.4 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#28 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Hotel

Property: The Mill Hotel
Address: Milton Street, Chester CH1 3NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Hotel Chester
The Mill Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing