We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of The Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Mill Hotel
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Batley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The mill hotel is clean and bright and in a good location for chester centre. Lovely pool and spa. Large rooms, clean and comfortable. Plenty of restaurants and a good bar with friendly staff. Package weekends are quite reasonably priced- good for a girly weekend.

Room Tip: Family rooms are nice and roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allipol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    508
    231
    51
    35
See reviews for
168
703
28
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Our visit was on the weekend of the marathon so some aspects of the review might not be applicable for other times.....however.

It's a rather tired building and decor to match, rooms are clean and fairly decent but I would have expected more for the money. The car parking is poor, they seem to be using an old building site for most of the cars - not sure why this hasn't been sorted out. It's leaves a poor impression of the facilities.

Major issue was the overcrowding for breakfast. We didn't think we had purchased a room, a long wait and then breakfast (overcrowded at best). If I want to spend time in the lobby or bar of a hotel I didn't realise I should just order breakfast. Never had this anywhere - you either cater for the rooms or just don't attempt it. Saying that the food was fairly good but range was not that brilliant.

Would I stay here again? I doubt it, the central location would ahve to be very important to override the issues mentioned.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffpix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Just returned from an overnight stay everything was excellent,great room,excellent food friendly service from all the staff , nothing was too much trouble,would thoroughly reccomend. Looking forward to another stay. Many thanks too everyone who made our stay so good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djvccr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
147 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I have been visiting the Mill Hotel for years now and find it to be relaxing, friendly and clean. Facilities are also good.

I visited recently to attend a dinner with some friends. The service was very good as was the food, I cannot fault it at all.

Really enjoyed my evening here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracieo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants, UK
Level Contributor
110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

What a great find, if you fancy a weekend in Chester stay here. Atmosphere was one of the top plus points for me, we normally end up staying in sole less modern hotels, and this was so different. The bar was like a lively pub everyone meeting and enjoying themselves. I've never seen so many staff; everything was so organised, well run and slick. Breakfast was excellent, prices reasonable. Thought the spa was very good, a pool you could actually swim in, spacious changing rooms. The location was perfect nice bars and restaurants close by away from the Fri/Sat night hen/stag parties. Free parking a big bonus, didn’t need to use or move the car all weekend. Chester shopping was lovely just how I remembered it 20 odd years ago! I guess the shops must struggle with Cheshire Oaks only 15 mines up the road, it was nice to see so many independent shops and restaurants. Really enjoyed walking the walls with lovely views. Plenty we didn't have time to see and do so would love to go back and can recommend this friendly hotel good value for money. Only down side, as in a lot of hotels it was extremely hot, probably not helped by the unseasonably warm weather we had.

Room Tip: Let them know if you are over 6ft as some of the rooms have low beams as it was an old mill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissLBNorthants_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We had a weekend away at Chester, with some friends we met 20 years ago on holiday, we stayed at the Mill Chester, and I must say it was execellent. the service is very good.The swimming pool is really nice.The bar in the hotel is a bit noises but it is ok., with plenty of atmospher.I wish we had had our evening meal on the barge at the hotel, which looks really good. I think we do that next time

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Our stay at the Mill hotel was very pleasant ,it is a very vibrant hotel ,friendly and helpful staff. Plenty of free car parking (always a bonus with town hotels) The restaurant is a gem very nice food and extremely slick service. The real ale bar is well priced with plenty of choice. My one downer was the advertising screens in the restaurant , but that wouldn't stop me from staying again.

Room Tip: If you like bigger bedroom go for an upgrade the cost is minimal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,611 reviews
5.4 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,073 reviews
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.6 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Hotel

Property: The Mill Hotel
Address: Milton Street, Chester CH1 3NF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Hotel Chester
The Mill Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing