We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic weekend stay!”
Review of The Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mill Hotel
Ranked #12 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed in this hotel for one night on the 8th of November in a business class room. Amazing view of the canal from our room, a short 2 minute walk into Chester city center, large and comfortable room, what more can you ask for? Didn't try out the spa but that will be next on the list, breakfast was lovely in the morning, the staff extremely helpful and polite, and the free hotel parking was a bonus, as when looking at other hotels in Chester this was the only one I noted with free parking. Can't wait to stay here again!

Room Tip: Business class room was £5 more expensive than a normal room, ask for the side across the bridge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mangan14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

646 - 652 of 1,476 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

Our room was clean, large and comfortable and over-looked the canal. The only noise we heard was from the inner ring-road close by. Breakfast was a bit corporate and very much a production line, especially on Saturday morning ( they warn you to try to get to the dining room before 9 am at weekends). The pool area was very nice, but it was a shame that the jacuzzi didn't seem to be working. Our area of the hotel had no hot water ( due to a gas failure) on the Sunday morning and the management were gracious enough to reduce the bill by £20.00

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Neurone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This hotel is ideally situated for a visit to Chester and the outlook from the room overlooking the canal is great. Although we only stayed for 1 night and didn't experience the spa and leisure facilities we imagine this is a great experience.
The choices at breakfast were varied and well cooked and the service by the friendly staff was exemplary.The only negatives were that the room with toilet/shower/bath was very small, certain tv channels weren't working and they only offered full fat milk(no skimmed or semi skimmed)

Room Tip: Our room was close to the lift so was a little noisy from people using it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank griffon36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Large room, a little run down. Just about close enough to the town, breakfast was good, the entire hotel was very busy, to the point where they had a significant waiting list for breakfast after 08:30. Slightly odd that you had to walk over an internal bridge to get to the other side of the hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank chad5k1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Me and my boyfriend went for a long weekend from the 02-04 November as it was his birthday on the 2nd November.

When we have arrived at the hotel, the lady on the desk was happy to help us with our booking, she also informed us that our room was already sent for us, even though we were 20 minutes early for check in which was a bonus.

When we have got to our room, there was a single and a double bed which was quite comfy, big enought for 3 people in there, bathroom was big enough size. plenty of towels for us, even though we have brought our own.
Also i have order a bottle of white wine from the hotel a few days before checking in for his birthday present which he said was lovely.
The staff at the mill hotel were lovely and the restaurant was recommended by another couple staying there, which was lovely and not bad for the price either.

The spa was lovely there to, was a bit upsetting as me and my boyfriend couldn't get a message down at the same time, as they have a big group of 50 people on a hen do but still managed to get a booking done at different times, which was lovely, would recommended it to anyone.

At the night time, we stayed in the reception part as the bar was abit full and no where to sit, the staff on the reception were lovely and sat with us talking about things which was lovely.
They were friendly and offered to show us the champion room, as we were talking about coming again for my birthday in January.

After spending a few days at the mill hotel, i would recommended this to anyone, it is very close to the center, like 2 minute walk and 10 minute walk to Chester races.

Downside is the car park is a bit small, was lucky to find a park space.

Room Tip: Very close to the town center, staff were lovely and happy to help in anyway, food there was lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam2013456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

my wife and i had our almost annual autumn break at the mill in chester.Always a delight with a bar serving guest ales---my treat.We had a club class room that was really spacious and quiet.The meals at the hotel are always of a high standard and the goats cheese starter was possibly the best starter i,ve ever had.Hotel location is pretty central and chester always a delight for shopping and relaxing.Once again a lovely break.

Room Tip: pay a bit extra and have a club room at least.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The room was large and clean with an excellent view of the canal. The hotel was in a good central location and included free parking. Every aspect of our stay was excellent from checking in with the pleasant helpful staff to breakfast which was delicious. Check out was at 11am which was a lovely bonus. Tea and coffee facilities were in the room with some nice biscuits too. I didn't have time to use the spar or leisure facilities but they looked great, regardless. Would definitely recommend and I will stay there again on my return to Chester. I would like to add a big thank you to all the staff at The Mill you made it an excellent trip x

Room Tip: I was on the top floor of the spar building and paid £95 for a superior room, well worth it the mone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrandmrsj20aug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 45 in Chester
1,700 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
5.4 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Hotel

Address: Milton Street, Chester CH1 3NF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Chester
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £83 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Hotel Chester
The Mill Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing