We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, small carpark, nice breakfast, decent spa/pool”
Review of The Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mill Hotel
Ranked #12 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The hotel is less than a 5 minute walk to the City Centre. although it has its own car park it can often get quite busy due to the small size of it. The rooms have adequate storage space and the bathroom isn't an awful size, free wifi also!

The reception staff are attentive and polite. Breakfast is quite good and varied, as is the evening menu which includes pub snacks and pizzas to more traditional meals. The bar has more atmosphere than the average hotel bar which is nice

The facilities are good with the swimming pool, sauna,steam room and gym being clean and adequately equipped. the canal boat that the Mill Hotel has provides meals with trips along the canal, the food is good and the staff here are also efficient and friendly... it's quite a nice touch!

Room Tip: have stopped here numerous times, can get very warm in the rooms in summer. Also, try securing a can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnyDeals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

603 - 609 of 1,476 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2013

Average hotel weirdly set out 90% of staff eastern European so very hard understand bathroom if your large good luck using toilet breakfast ok part from industrial bacon staff at breakfast looked unhappy stood around miserable

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zondac12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Another excellent Christmas break at The Mill. Room spotless, food excellent and very nice spa centre. Great staff and really well organised by Steven and Emma, plenty of staff on to make the break very easy. Only disappointing thing was weak entertainment this year, it was better with the stage in the centre and a separate dance floor. The band on the 23rd was good, but the others, um.
We will still be back. Thanks all. Terry

Room Tip: Fantastic location for a visit to Chester, have a business class room, it's worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Hotel in an escellent postion for Chester and the canal for walks or cycling. First problem on arrival parking! What a nightmare had read reviews where they said no parking problems! This is definitely NOT our experience! We spent the first ten minutes driving round the car park waiting for somebody to leave so we had a pitch! We made the decision then that we better not move it until we were leaving not a great idea as we were there for three nights and would like to have taken a drive out to visit other places but we decided the hassle with the parking it just wasnt worth it. On arriving in reception it was a Friday afternoon the place was heaving with people obviously Christmas "do's" going on. At reception staff were very pleasant didnt really give us any info about the hotel we had to ask where and when breakfast was served. The only thing we were told was "i hope you dont want a meal in the restaurant tonight because if you havent already booked we are fully booked so you will have to go elsewhere to eat"! We were told you could get a bar snack but to be honest even at that time of the day it was impossible to even get into the bar! Plus when it looks like there is a private party going on we didnt feel like we wanted to go in there. The room was pleasant quite small but quaint, if you are looking for modern dont stay here. Bathroom very small and i would agree with other reviewers a bit shabby round the edges. If you had a good look there was paint peeling off, rusty towel rail and other shabby bits. However it was clean. Breakfast staff were very pleasant not much choice of hot food for vegetarians unless you wanted beans and toms! Not much choice of cold food so not over impressed with breakfast. To be honest for the money we paid it was not cheap and i thing over priced. Would i stay there again not at the price we paid. If we got a speical offer then i would probably stay there BUT it would have to be a speical price otherwise it is just not worth the money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris69kidderminster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

The hotel is initially very pleasing with a spa. Having parking on site was excellent. The breakfast was average but not unpleasant. We were given a family room on a high floor which had loads of space with a view over the canal to the other half of the hotel reached by a tunnel over the canal. The on-suite was, to be kind, a bit shabby around the corners.
On a more positive front we found all the staff we came in contact with an absolute delight, helpful and courteous.
The biggest problem for us was the Friday / Saturday dinner dance with a very loud disco so don't expect to sleep much before 1.0am.
We also did the roman experience with afternoon tea on a canal boat which was quite enjoyable, this is run from the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room furthest from the disco or avoid Friday / Saturday nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Friendly staff, good value, great location, very good food. When we stay in Chester (about 8 times a year) and having tried the rest we continually go back to the best it's definitely the best value for money hotel in Chester.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alan4irene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

A hotel with friendly staff, service is excellent and food is always of a high standard. It is close to the town centre and excellent value for money. This is hotel of choice in the area and have stayed there numerous times.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gibsonsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 45 in Chester
1,700 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
5.4 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Hotel

Address: Milton Street, Chester CH1 3NF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Chester
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £82 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Hotel Chester
The Mill Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing