We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont stay here choose another Hotel as chester is lovely”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mill Hotel
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Lancashire
1 review
“Dont stay here choose another Hotel as chester is lovely”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2009

The reception staff a rude and unhelpful everything was an effort. The rooms are standard and not up to date. The hotel resturant was overpriced and the food was cold and awful. The bar area was full of drunks watching football not even staying at hotel. The swimming pool was full of members who were also not staying at hotel and the children were looked upon for splashing and enjoying there holiday. Lifts are dangerous and the whole place needs a make-over. Would never go back.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesleymichael09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    488
    225
    49
    32
See reviews for
160
675
27
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2009

Check in efficient, charged us more than it would have cost via Laterooms. Didn't tell us about dining options or that a jazz band would be playing that evening - so we went out - had we known we would have eaten in - their loss not ours. Room tiny, with shabby dated decor. Dressing table stood before window and mirror obscured light and view. Too much road noise prohibited the opening of the window so the room was stuffy. Bathroom compact but clean. Nowhere to put our toilet bag - it had to sit on the floor. Only one set of towels, second set arrived promptly. Pool great.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L__022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, Derbyshire
Level Contributor
94 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2009

Booked for a 2 night stay with my husband and we thoroughly enjoyed it. When we checked in the reception staff were very helpful and had even given us a complimentary room upgrade. I thought it was because I had stayed there the previous week with my Mum, sister and 2 nieces for a girls Spa night but apparently not. We made use of the Spa facilities and the bar during the afternoon and dined in the hotel restaurant in the evening. The first night we requested a Chateaubriand steak off the A la Carte menu but they didn’t have any left so we chose from the set menu and the food was lovely, the second evening we dined in the restaurant again and they had reserved Chateaubriand for us (we asked at reception that afternoon when booking our table), again we could not fault the food or the service. After our afternoon sessions in the Spa we stopped off at the bar for a drink before getting ready for dinner. The bar staff were very polite and helpful and there was a nice atmosphere in there. We didn’t eat in the bar area but the food looked really good. Parking was no problem and it is just a few minutes walk into the centre of Chester. We will definitely go back again. Next time we will try the river cruise as it looked really good fun.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shoefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancs
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2009

Hotel staff were friendly and polite, bar was too busy with non residents watching sport, no where for us to sit.The lift was accessed through the bar, on saturday night, we couldnt even walk throug the bar to get to it.Our room (417)was hot and stuffy, also noisy, due to being above the kitchens, with a large outside extraction fan on the go all day and night. Did not use leisure facilities, but they looked 1st class.Meal in restaurant was average, and to be honest expensive for what it was.We ate in a restaurant in chester, 2 mins away, which was superb, and half the price.Parking was difficult.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gfdlancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2009

Been coming here once or twice a year for 16 years. Love the location - park your car up at the hotel and then it is just a short walk into the city itself. Restaurant food is excellent value for money as are the bar prices. Lesiure facilites great. Lively atmosphere in the public bar especially if you like your sport. The hotel may be in need of updating in some areas but this does not detract in any way form your enjoyment and loads of people you speak to are return visitors which speaks for itself.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb_Oll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.4 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#28 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Hotel

Property: The Mill Hotel
Address: Milton Street, Chester CH1 3NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Hotel Chester
The Mill Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing