We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, much better than expected!!”
Review of The Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mill Hotel
Ranked #14 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, much better than expected!!”
Reviewed 4 May 2010

I have just returned from 2 nights in the mill hotel over the bank holiday weekend, and although the hotel was very busy, we still had the best time.

After booking the hotel online i was a little worried about the rooms from the photos. i had booked a club class room at a cost of £201 for the 2 nights, but can i just say, the room we had (room 333) over the bridge on the new side, was absolutely fantastic. was a very large room, the decor was much nicer than what it looked like on the photos. we had a large sofa area aswell as a really nice sized wooden bed. very nice lcd tv too. the bathroom was also large and immaculate.

we ate in the hotel restaurant the canaletto on the saturday night. its a set menu for you to choose from, but the choice is good and the food was really really good, and hotel guests get a discount so its only £24 per person. would definately recommend eating in there.

we also tried out the pool and the jacuzzi and the sauna (unfortunately the steam room was out of order, bit gutted as this is my favourite thing, but never mind) they were all fab.

the staff were all very friendly and helpful. and i would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

hopefully will save up and go again in the summer time for another weekend.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerryw30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    515
    530
    239
    53
    35
See reviews for
178
723
28
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2010

Stayed here last week with elderly parents. The rooms were large and very clean with good sized bathrooms. The food was tasty and the staff were all very friendly and cheerful from reception through to the restaurant. When my Dad's partner fell and hurt herself in a minor way in her room they were quick to assist and apply first aid. They had positive answers to all the questions we asked about our stay.

I used the pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi and all were excellent.

My Dad is very hard to please but he thoroughly enjoyed his stay too.

I can reccomend the hotel to anyone,plenty of parking there too. I shall be returning shortly for a short break with my wife.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orangerobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2010

The Mill Hotel tickets all boxes in terms of central location, customer focused staff, excellent food; in short it is really good value for money. Me and my two friends stayed here this weekend and the whole experience was really good. All staff were so helpful and hardworking. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, and urge you to book for the dinner & dance (disco) which takes place on Friday or Saturday nights. Our whole weekend in Chester was a pleasure and I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2010

My wife and I took my daughter and her husband to The Mill Hotel for a long weekend on 16th April 2010.
What a fantastic weekend. The hotel is comfortable, the staff friendly and helpful the food superb, and a trip on the "Boat Restaurant" is a must.
We upgraded to club rooms and they are large and very comfortable.
The hotel is about a ten minute slow stroll into the centre of Chester and there are plenty of restaurants on the way if you don't want to eat in.
I can only say a big thank you to all the staff at the hotel for making it such a superb weekend break.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keyboardCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2010

We spent 2 nights here, the hotel is very clean and tidy, staff are very helpful, rooms were spacious and well equiped. The food is excellent and the bar area is more than acceptable although crowded at times.
Minor negatives -
I expected a flat screen TV (we'd booked a top tariff room)
Parking is tight, not quite enough room for all cars but it looks as though this is being worked on to enlarge the parking area.
The bar is open to locals which can get a bit crowded especially when the football is on the TV. With a lot of the rooms you have to walk through the bar to get to them, this is tough when it is packed full of drunk football fans!
Tomato ketchup in sachets at breakfast, not Heinz either!

Yes, these are all minor negatives but these minor points are what makes other hotels out these better. But, this is a nice place to stay, if you've booked it I assure you, you've made a good choice.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mildcheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillHotel, Owner at The Mill Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review and recommend the Mill Hotel.

Your niggles, although you say are small, are by no means unimportant::

Most but not all rooms have flat screen televisions. We are awaiting delivery for the balance. We have ordered the LG 32" HD 1080 LCD with Freeview.

The car park has been further enlarged and will remain free to residents and guests.

Access to rooms via the Bar Area is also being addressed as a matter of urgency.

A slight hiccup with the Tomato Ketchup, our normal one, which came out best on a blind tasting, has been re-ordered and the sachets in question have been sent back.

Regards,

Gary Vickers
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2010

The Mill is really well located for the city, and the free, large car park is a real bonus. The bar has an impressive selection of real ales, but it can get very hot in there. We stayed in the old part of the hotel rather than the newer annex and the room was very small - think opening the wardrobe door onto the opposite wall, a 3/4 size bath and only 1 person being able to walk around the bed at a time. Rooms in the annex look to be bigger. The room was however clean, but it did need some updating. Sports fans will appreciate Sky Sports 1 in the bedroom and in the bar. Excellent breakfast. We paid £91 a night for a double room so all in all I'd recommend The Mill

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NottinghamDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2010

Only had time for one night in chester and we chose to stay at the The Mill Hotel. The receptionist were very pleasant when we checked in and the room was very clean and so was the bathroom. The hotel bar prices were very reasonable and the bar next to reception was always busy every time we went past it. We did not have an evening meal in the hotel but the breakfast that we had there in the morning was delicious and and you had a good choice to choose from from pastries, fresh fruit or a full English and the staff were very attentive. We made use of the pool which was big enough for a decent swim and the sauna and steam room were an added bonus. All the staff we encountered were very friendly and we will be looking to come back here again for a longer break next time.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkTravelmister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,634 reviews
5.4 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,159 reviews
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.6 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Hotel

Property: The Mill Hotel
Address: Milton Street, Chester CH1 3NF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Chester
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Hotel Chester
The Mill Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing