We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's OK”
Review of The Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mill Hotel
Ranked #12 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2010

I stayed for the Mayday bank holiday weekend.

The hotel is about five to ten minutes walk from the railway station and five to ten minutes walkfrom the East Gate to the historic centre of Chester. You can also get to the City Walls by walking along the canal. The hotel is a confusingly laid out complex on two sides of the canal, connected by an internal footbridge.

The bedroom was fair sized, but with concrete beams at the walls that made it feel low. Soft bed. Large modern wall-mounted. Television with over 10 channels. Iron and ironing board. Trouser press. No fridge. Tea and coffee making facilities. Reasonable lighting. Thin curtains that let in the light - if you need darkness to sleep this is going to mean an early start to the day. It was quiet.

Bathroom OK, reasonable lighting, uninspired but adequate toiletries.

Breakfast was a reasonable buffet: choice of cereals, fruit, cooked, croissant and toast. The breakfast room apparently gets busy between 09.00 and 10.00 at weekends. Management's response is to leave notes under doors advising guests to get there early. While the thin curtains meant that I did so, it does not really seem to be a positive response to the problem. Pop music radio in the breakfast room added to the feeling that this was a bit of a cafeteria operation where they wanted to get you in and out.

Reception, waiting staff all friendly enough and efficient.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,351 - 1,357 of 1,476 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2010

Nine of us travelled to Chester to Celebrate my fathers 80th birthday. We had a brilliant time helped in no small measure by the Mill Hotel. We stayed in the Standard Rooms which we okay. We had five rooms in all one (510) was a little on the small side for a twin. The rooms on the whole were good and certainly the room we stayed in (420) was very nice indeed.

The food in the hotel was very good breakfast was excellent although you do need to heed the warning about the restraunt getting full after nine o'clock. On Bank holiday morning by 9:45 there was a long queque for the Cooked Buffet! We went at 8:45 and had no problems at all. The Canelleto Restraunt on Saturday night was Brilliant coping with my wifes lactose intolerance. Other nights we ate in the bar which was good but noisy as it is a public bar and getting a table was not easy. Access to the lift is via this bar and that can be awkward with lots of bags. (however there is another staircase leading to the bedrooms.)

Parking is mentioned as a problem in earlier reviews and this has been improved some what.

One good point is that the hotel has a residents and diners lounge above the restraunt get a drink in the bar and take it upstairs it is much quieter. The bar only opens in this room on Fridays and Saturdays at about 10pm.

The swimming pool and Jackusi was a great place to relax on Monday morning before we set off home.

Overall this was a very good place to stay and we will be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Revchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2010

I have just returned from 2 nights in the mill hotel over the bank holiday weekend, and although the hotel was very busy, we still had the best time.

After booking the hotel online i was a little worried about the rooms from the photos. i had booked a club class room at a cost of £201 for the 2 nights, but can i just say, the room we had (room 333) over the bridge on the new side, was absolutely fantastic. was a very large room, the decor was much nicer than what it looked like on the photos. we had a large sofa area aswell as a really nice sized wooden bed. very nice lcd tv too. the bathroom was also large and immaculate.

we ate in the hotel restaurant the canaletto on the saturday night. its a set menu for you to choose from, but the choice is good and the food was really really good, and hotel guests get a discount so its only £24 per person. would definately recommend eating in there.

we also tried out the pool and the jacuzzi and the sauna (unfortunately the steam room was out of order, bit gutted as this is my favourite thing, but never mind) they were all fab.

the staff were all very friendly and helpful. and i would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

hopefully will save up and go again in the summer time for another weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerryw30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

Stayed here last week with elderly parents. The rooms were large and very clean with good sized bathrooms. The food was tasty and the staff were all very friendly and cheerful from reception through to the restaurant. When my Dad's partner fell and hurt herself in a minor way in her room they were quick to assist and apply first aid. They had positive answers to all the questions we asked about our stay.

I used the pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi and all were excellent.

My Dad is very hard to please but he thoroughly enjoyed his stay too.

I can reccomend the hotel to anyone,plenty of parking there too. I shall be returning shortly for a short break with my wife.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orangerobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2010

The Mill Hotel tickets all boxes in terms of central location, customer focused staff, excellent food; in short it is really good value for money. Me and my two friends stayed here this weekend and the whole experience was really good. All staff were so helpful and hardworking. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, and urge you to book for the dinner & dance (disco) which takes place on Friday or Saturday nights. Our whole weekend in Chester was a pleasure and I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2010

My wife and I took my daughter and her husband to The Mill Hotel for a long weekend on 16th April 2010.
What a fantastic weekend. The hotel is comfortable, the staff friendly and helpful the food superb, and a trip on the "Boat Restaurant" is a must.
We upgraded to club rooms and they are large and very comfortable.
The hotel is about a ten minute slow stroll into the centre of Chester and there are plenty of restaurants on the way if you don't want to eat in.
I can only say a big thank you to all the staff at the hotel for making it such a superb weekend break.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keyboardCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2010

We spent 2 nights here, the hotel is very clean and tidy, staff are very helpful, rooms were spacious and well equiped. The food is excellent and the bar area is more than acceptable although crowded at times.
Minor negatives -
I expected a flat screen TV (we'd booked a top tariff room)
Parking is tight, not quite enough room for all cars but it looks as though this is being worked on to enlarge the parking area.
The bar is open to locals which can get a bit crowded especially when the football is on the TV. With a lot of the rooms you have to walk through the bar to get to them, this is tough when it is packed full of drunk football fans!
Tomato ketchup in sachets at breakfast, not Heinz either!

Yes, these are all minor negatives but these minor points are what makes other hotels out these better. But, this is a nice place to stay, if you've booked it I assure you, you've made a good choice.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mildcheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillHotel, Owner at The Mill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2010

Thank you for taking the time to review and recommend the Mill Hotel.

Your niggles, although you say are small, are by no means unimportant::

Most but not all rooms have flat screen televisions. We are awaiting delivery for the balance. We have ordered the LG 32" HD 1080 LCD with Freeview.

The car park has been further enlarged and will remain free to residents and guests.

Access to rooms via the Bar Area is also being addressed as a matter of urgency.

A slight hiccup with the Tomato Ketchup, our normal one, which came out best on a blind tasting, has been re-ordered and the sachets in question have been sent back.

Regards,

Gary Vickers
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 45 in Chester
1,700 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
5.4 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Hotel

Address: Milton Street, Chester CH1 3NF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Chester
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £82 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Hotel Chester
The Mill Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing