We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An average hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mill Hotel
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Chester
manchester
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“An average hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

Excellent location and good value for money compared to other hotels in Chester. The rooms are clean but basic and the hotel is very hot.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manchesterfemale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    489
    225
    49
    32
See reviews for
160
676
27
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Garstang, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

We stayed at the hotel for a couple of nights in July , decided to have a standard class room . The standard rooms are quite small but clean and well enough equipped, but they are so hot and stuffy even with the window open. The beds and pillows are just passable for comfort . For a short break to recharge the batteries this was not ideal.The public bar provides plenty of choice if you like your ale.The restaurant provides a splendid evening meal, quantity as well as quality. The gym and pool are great for those who need to keep the flab away. The restaurant staff are always friendly but one or two of the bar staff were at times bordering on ignorant. We have stayed here before and have found the overall quality of the hotel on the down grade.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terry d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2010

No problem on arrival, checked in and parked car in nearby car park which belonged to Hotel. Had paid for an up-graded Classic room with balcony. The room was very nice but the light coloured carpet was in a terrible mess with stains all over. Called reception and they said they would get housekeeping to check it when they came on duty in about 2 hours time. The 2 hours passed and I called them again and advised that nothing had been done and I was not happy with the condition of the carpet. They offered me a club room which I was told was an upgrade but at no extra charge. I inspected the Club room and it was acceptable. The meals at the Hotel were very good, especially the pub grub which was excellent. Found that the smokers area outside the pub looking on to the canal was very noisy at nights until 0100hrs.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank romanboy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

ideally situated for centre of chester. sits astride the canal i.e. built on both sides of the canal connected by covered glass bridge.rooms very small but appear to be newly decorated.only one lift which was a little out of the way from reception.check in easy.plenty car parking space. buffet breakfast was alittle limited. mushrooms and beans had to be ordered if required which i thought was a little odd.overall ideal location and facilities for short break in chester.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brandesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2010

My husband and I have just returned from a 4 night break to this hotel, we had an excellent time, the hotel is very centrally located, and within walking distance to all of Chester's amenities. The breakfast times were ideal- served until 10.00am, when away not everyone wants to get up early for breakfast!! There were lots of options for mealtimes, but we only tried the food from the hotel pub, which was delicious!! so much so we ate there on 3 of our 4 day stay! The pool, sauna and jacuzzi were an added bonus to this fab hotel. If i had to write any downside, it would be the size of the room, we stayed in a standard double, and its the smallest we have stayed in yet, however dont let this put you off, the room is just a base after all. We will definately return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LancashireMummybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2010

we found this hotel by chance and what a find, spanning both sides of the canal this hotel boasts a superb restaurant at reasonable prices serving a great full english buffet breakfast, a superb real ale bar with canal frontage at better than pub prices, a great gym,spa and swimming pool, superb large bedrooms, even though ours faced the main road there was no noise at all. it even has it's own barge for evening meals and to top it all it's own car park. being only 4 minutes walk from the centre of chester makes this hotel a must.
we can't recomend it enough

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamieson483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2010

Easy to find near town centre.Stayed for birthday treat and enjoyed the spa package.Excellent in every way.Really comfortable room,spacious and very clean.Excellent treatments in spa.Dinner first class food and good ambience in Canaletto restaurant.Good hearty breakfast,buffet style with good choice.Friendly staff.Would love to return.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonandCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.4 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#28 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Hotel

Property: The Mill Hotel
Address: Milton Street, Chester CH1 3NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Hotel Chester
The Mill Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing