We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice change!”
Review of Prohibition

Prohibition
Ranked #44 of 555 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar
Restaurant details
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice change!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The cosmos are dirt cheap and are really tasty. The best part about the bar is definitely the poker table hidden away in the background. Jamie the bartender definitely made our time in the bar more enjoyable.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klievage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    11
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Chester has so many fantastic bars and restaurants but this is not one of them. Cold room, ugly decor with no atmosphere. worst thing was my wine tasted like the bottle had been open for days. Don't waste your money

Helpful?
Thank luxurybackpacker7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Popped in to this bar as it was the first one we came to after we left our hotel. Fantastic Cosmos and prosecco. Really comfy seats and good music but not too loud so we were able to chat easily. I will definitely call in next time I'm in Chester

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Irene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewloe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great place for a relaxing drink in Chester!”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Prohibition66 is a great place to have a drink in Chester! From a nice cool draught Perroni to a more sophisticated Prosecco! In a lovely location in Chester's Watergate Street. Anyone going to Chester should nip in here for a drink! Fantastic!!

Helpful?
Thank Pagarooni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A perfect bar to unwind in.”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Having had a tiring day sightseeing and shopping we were definitely in need of of somewhere to relax and unwind. As it was only 2 weeks since reopening after refurbishment staff were outside inviting passersby to step inside. The interior had been furnished in the style of an American 1920's " speak easy ". We relaxed on a large comfortable leather settee and were served by the landlord, a newcomer to the licensing trade. The music was perfect for the setting as were the pictures on the walls which featured many familiar "gangster" actors such as Robert De Niro, Al Pacino, Dean Martin and Orson Welles. A friendly welcoming bar that we we would definitely go back to.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Geoff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Prohibition also viewed

 

Been to Prohibition? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing