We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoying the perfect coffee” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jaunty Goat Coffee

Jaunty Goat Coffee
Ranked #1 of 47 Coffee & Tea in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$7
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoying the perfect coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Where does one start?
Centrally located in the heart of Chester, on one if its busiest streets. An aesthetically pleasing coffee house, with a high level of customer service and product knowledge. The meticulous attention to detail and level of care put into their coffee is second to none.
My favourite being the 8oz skimmed cappuccino, which easily gives any other coffee establishment a run for its money. Not to mention the handmade selection of cakes they have on offer.
On my most recent visit to the Jaunty Goat it was apparent that the workforce was ever expanding with the presence of several new junior staff, which is good to see in such independent businesses especially in recent years. The new staff were clearly being put through their paces under the careful supervision of Ed, the proprietor and Bella, the Head Barista, ensuring that the highest possible standards were adhered to.
A relatively new independent business and one which I wish every success in the future in paving the way for a superior quality of coffee to that offered by any “chain”. And competitively priced at that!
I would highly recommend the Jaunty Goat for those simply looking for a quiet coffee or an informal business meeting, or merely catching up with friends.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anton006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    76
    25
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ruthin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best coffee in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Really great coffee and delicious homemade cake. Will definitely be our choice for a cuppa if we're in Chester.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Efenechtyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Daddy bought his son a coffee shop.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

The tittle is the impression I got, because the 'owner' sat at the end of the table I was on with two of his friends and talked at length about it. If kings school boys want a place to hang out and talk nonsense, then this is the place for you. But for myself and my boyfriend, I don't think we'll becoming back. The latte was warm at best, and really rather bitter...like it was burnt. I had red velvet cake...which in fairness was a large piece and was rather tasty, and I like the decor....but overall the place lacks atmosphere and the very young staff on the tills really didn't know what they were doing, as the manager had to jump on and help which led to a 10 minute wait.
It's far to pretentious and everyone is trying to hard.
A piece of advise- visit bold street coffee in Liverpool....there trying the same thing..but succeeding.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Megan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Coffee and Best Ever Carrot Cake!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Funky, cool and relaxing coffee shop. Love the chic vibe and chilled out atmosphere. Wonderful coffee (although I wish the cups were bigger) and as I said in the title the best EVER carrot cake! Big portion and I'm confident you won't find any better in Chester in fact the uk and is worth traveling for :) Hurry though as it can run out fast it's that good :(
Two really friendly girls behind the counter that are only too happy to advise on sweet snacks which I tend to mull over at times! Great service and will be back again and again for sure.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Poppybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
237 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
“Sooooooooo goooooooood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Great coffee, snacks and cakes. Really good service, love having a coffee here. Great to meet family and friends or have a break from shopping.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank EnglandHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jaunty Goat Coffee also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Jaunty Goat Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing