We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Tory Goat!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jaunty Goat Coffee

Jaunty Goat Coffee
Ranked #1 of 47 Coffee & Tea in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$7
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The Tory Goat!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

One of a select band of independent coffee options in Chester, the Jaunty Goat is in some ways representative of the city as a whole in its merits and flaws. Its in an attractive location on upper bridge street and the outdoor seating is a definite virtue at this time of year, yet on entering there is a distinct feel that the tropes of an aspiring hipster coffee bar have been repackaged for a provincial conservative crowd. Self aware quirky name? tick. Food served on wonky wooden chopping boards? tick. Surface before substance? An enormous tick!

The interior feels sleek but not particularly welcoming: the stools and high level tables clearly take their cue from continental espresso bars where people get their caffeine hit and leave, but they're certainly not comfortable for relaxing/eating with friends and i'm not convinced such an espresso drinking culture exists in this kind of locality. Likewise the seating by the broad window below street level seems more suited to being seen than watching the street, in keeping with the mildly pretentious aura that pervades this place.

On our 2/3 visits we've tried the velvet cake and chocolate brownies, both admittedly very good. The coffee which is often a key element to these places is good without being spectacular, the flat white had a great texture but the latte wasn't sufficiently hot - i can understand a desire to avoid burning the milk but lukewarm isn't anybody's cup of tea(or coffee!). The staff are polite but disengaged in a kind of public school way, and i'd hazard a guess the owner is male judging from the female staff looking like they've been chosen from a Hollister/A&F commercial!

Ultimately this place is a step up from the chains, and in a city that's still largely conservative with a big and little C i'm sure there's a receptive crowd for what they offer but i personally prefer a more inclusive, warm and comfortable environment to get my caffeine fix!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank milan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    76
    25
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chester's Best Coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

I was introduced into the whole coffee 'scene' when living in London and was a bit disappointed that when moving home to the North I had to make do with the really bland offerings of the regular high street chain coffee stores. In reality I just stopped going out for coffee.

So I was more than happy a few months ago when I discovered the Jaunty Goat in the town centre. I'd quite happily eat/drink anything they offer and am now a regular visitor to what I think is the best coffee shop in Chester! The Jaunty Goat doesn't offer as many roasts or varieties of coffee as the bigger coffee houses I have visited, but for what it does do it holds it's own against the coffee stores of London/Bath. Ed and all of his staff are really friendly and welcoming. I couldn't recommend highly enough. PS I recommend the Dual Bar BarCake (it will make sense at the till what one is).

Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navenby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great coffee and cakes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Some of the best coffee we have had for a long time - an excellent latte and smooth flat white. Rich and satisfying. A good selection of cakes but not so good on the paninis - they admitted to being a bit behind schedule that morning. Great service and a lovely atmosphere - well recommended.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank WanderingIslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Jaunty Goat Poem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

The Jaunty Goat! A name so strange
To kick start my brain. I must engage
And go inside to explore
Such a funny name for a coffee store.

'Well Sir.' A smiling face explains
'Coffee does ease my aches and pains
But a goat once chewed upon some beans so raw
That into the sky his spirit did soar.
And from such actions both strange and wild
We brew our coffee, both strong and mild.'

So next you see The Jaunty Goat, go inside, take off your coat.
Sit upon the tractor seat. Be served by waitresses polite and neat
And let your spirits soar and float.
And be as one with the Jaunty Goat


Rod Brookfield

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChesterRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“The best name and coffee in Chester”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Seriously, Jaunty Goat?! I salute the namer of this fine establishment. Not only have they captured the hearts and imagination of the people of Chester, but they also consistently provide finely roasted beans brewed into an exquisite cup of joe. As Spinal Tap once turned it to 11, so the Jaunty Goat follows in the baristas equivalent.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TRStunts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jaunty Goat Coffee also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Jaunty Goat Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing