We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Chester”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

So central 15mins car journey from Chester Zoo, The Blue Planet which is brilliant for the kids as well as the adults. Also Cheshire Oaks Shopping Outlet. The historic town of Chester is worth a visit anytime of year lovely walks along the river and he local canals close by. So many things to see and so many places to visit enjoy

Room Tip: No problem with any
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    554
    361
    86
    15
    8
See reviews for
379
400
25
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

Booked 5 rooms for a works Christmas shopping trip. Rooms booked were twins, but we were given double rooms with a smaller, lower single bed in the corner of the room. Not as shown in the photo on the hotel website. I would not book a twin again because of this.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Princess_Peach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

Stayed here for a weekend Christmas shopping in Chester.
Staff very pleasant and helpful. Reasonably priced pub next door, service was good.
There is a bus stop right outside the hotel which runs every 30 mins into Chester, its about £2.70 return takes 15 mins. Saves the hassle of parking in Chester.
Across the road is a Sainsbury's for any bits and pieces and a cheap breakfast.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveldudeEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEW WALTHAM
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

We booked this Premier Inn on a Friday & Monday to break up a long weekend journey to Anglesey. We were fortunate to be able to secure the £29 room offer for both nights. It is up to Premier Inn's usual high standards but we were woken early (before 7 am) by traffic noise on the Saturday morning. We put this down to the major road works at the top of the road and went on our way. On our return on the Monday we found ourselves in a room two doors down from the one we had on Friday. Unfortunately the traffic noise was even worse on the Monday morning. We drifted in and out of sleep from before 7am but were then woken by the cleaner at 8am - a knock on the door and then the door opened - fortunately my wife had put the chain on it - not very professional - a room number mix up perhaps? My wife decided to complain. The receptionist was very polite and did say that the website mentions road noise when you book. I would have to say that I don't recall seeing that and it certainly doesn't mention it on the description. There is also no mention of it on any of the paperwork I printed off. When my wife told the receptionist of the attempt by the cleaner to get in the room at 8am, she agreed to refund our night's stay without hesitation. I am a big fan of Premier Inn and I do find complaining dificult but I think they need to be more transparent with the noise issue at this hotel (full marks to the reception staff though!). The Tripadvisor hotel location map is wrong too - it indicates somewhere on Liverpool Road opposite the hospital - this is opposite a big Sainsbury's!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GBGY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

Visited this hotel for the second time this year.The same high standard for a budget hotel.The Buffet breakfast has changed for a help yourself as to being served your hot meal.This I do prefer .The rooms were well appointed and the staff friendly.Its over the road from a park and ride but we walked into chester in about 1/2 hour.

Room Tip: if you get a room on the first floor you don't get the overhead stmping of other guests children
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigfredthegoalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a sight seeing trip of Chester.

Whilst in Chester we were lucky enough to be able to go to the service at Chester Cathedral on the sunday at 11.30am. We felt really priviledged to have been able to be part of such a beautiful service with a full choir.

We paid something like £54 or £58 for the room so we didn't get one of the better offers due to booking late but the hotel was super. The room was really spacious, clean, comfortable and quiet. When we checked in the lady on reception was delightful. We had a couple of hours in the room before going to dinner in the Twirl of Hay next door. The room was really good for relaxing after a busy day sight seeing as it was so quiet. We were on the ground floor which was great for us and we were over looking the hotel car park. There was absolutely loads of parking space which was great.

We were really looking forward to our meal at the Twirl of Hay which is a Brewer's Fayre but we were really disappointed. The staff were very efficient and friendly but the food was a real let down. Both my husband and I had pate but it was tasteless. I then had lamb for main course which was exceptionally fatty, the veg were really watery as though they had been re-heated in hot water, the gravy was also watery and tasteless. My husband had chips with his meal which were very greasy. They looked and tasted as though they had been re-heated in fat that wasn't hot enough. I had chocolate indulgence for dessert. That would have been nice but the chocolate brownies were huge. They were rock hard due to being served in ice cream but as they were huge they needed cutting but I'm still trying to work out how to cut a rock hard brown with a dessert teaspoon.

The breakfast was buffet style and was fantastic.

All in all we had a great stay but if I was to use this Premier Inn again there is no way that I would eat at the Twirl of Hay I would have to find an alternative.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed for three nights and all was as expected. Good sized room, comfy bed and lovely staff. A lovely short walk along the canal into the beautiful unique city and too many attractions to mention, Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KPNutTruro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
1.7 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
5.8 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
1.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel
Address: Caldy Valley Road | Boughton, Chester CH3 5PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chester
#2 Family Hotel in Chester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located just 2 miles away from Chester, our hotel is the perfect base to discover local attractions, including Chester Zoo. Our hotel offers a variety of rooms for all requirements. With an all you can eat breakfast available and up to 2 children can eat free. Brewers Fayre restaurant also serves good pub favorites in a welcoming environment with indoor play facilities.There is free parking on site for guests and a 24-hour reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel Chester
Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing