We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The worst stay in my life”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The worst stay in my life”
Reviewed 28 April 2012 via mobile

They charge more than other 4 star hotel in Chester for a property with no personality and the room was really dirty. Never again

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franglai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.

It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards as we endeavour to meet all of our customers needs.

Our pricing policy works in the same way as many airlines where prices are driven by market conditions at the time. Although prices may increase at times of demand, they may also reduce on nights which are less busy. We do have a Team who closely monitor all hotels to ensure they are competitively priced as we always try and give you the best value for money.

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    568
    381
    95
    15
    8
See reviews for
399
418
26
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Paid £97 for 3 nights stay. Excellent value. Staff very polite and very helpful.. Bedrooms are a great size with all amenities needed and very well kept. Location perfect for Chester and surrounding areas. Restaurant next door, supermarket opposite. We were advised that alterations were in progress but we did not experience any problems at all. Will certainly use Premier Inns in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bear3977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockport
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed for 1 night with our 5 year old daughter in a family room which had just been refurbished and it was lovely. We paid just £34 and it was well worth the money. On arrival we were greeted by a friendly receptionist who explained all we needed to know and also made a reservation at the restaurant next door. The beds were really comfy and they provided you with a choice of pillows to suit you. Great location for Chester and Chester zoo which we visited. The Hotel made us aware of work being done whilst we were there but we didn't experience any noise and we were told to use the secure car park in the restaurant, we will be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jolouStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south yorkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Stayed here for one night after a visit to chester zoo. Check in was efficient. The room was adequate size. Only complaint was one of the kids beds was a camp bed so not particularly comfortable but cant expect more for £29, Also the room was a little warm and could have been a bit cooler. Restaurant next door served nice evening meal and breakfast. Receptionist very helpful on checkout when asking for advice about parking in Chester. Would stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dancinqueen0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Went to Premier Inn for a night between visits to Blue Planet and Chester Zoo. Good location for both, although google maps instructions were worse than useless.
Hotel was exactly what I had expected: rooms were an ok size, TV was large (Freeview), not too many 'extras' included. I received a good welcome, check in was quick and easy, and the rooms were both immaculately clean, and set up exactly as booked (an extra bed in one room, two extra beds in the other).
I booked the week before we went, so paid a fairly high price, and because we've got 3 children had to have 2 rooms, but otherwise I can't really fault the place, even though there was work going on there.
One thing to note - there's a Sainsbury's across the road, useful for snacks or proper milk, and they've got a cafe if you don't want to go next door for food.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I Stayed at this premier inn for one night over the Easter holidays with my husband and 8 year old daughter. Great location for visiting Chester and other local attractions (Chester zoo definitely worth a visit). The hotel was undergoing refurbishment during our stay. We were made aware of this before our arrival and that there may be some disruption. The disruption was minimal ( Alternative car parking was made available at the adjoining Brewers Fayre restaurant). Our family room had recently been renovated and was located at the rear of the hotel in a very quiet spot. No complaints whatsoever. The bed was extremely comfortable, and the room was spotless. The large flat screen TV with freeview was an added bonus. Will definitely be returning in he future.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Currently undergoing refurbishment, but minimally intrusive to the paying guest. No complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellersMate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
1.7 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
5.8 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel
Address: Caldy Valley Road | Boughton, Chester CH3 5PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chester
#2 Family Hotel in Chester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located just 2 miles away from Chester, our hotel is the perfect base to discover local attractions, including Chester Zoo. Our hotel offers a variety of rooms for all requirements. With an all you can eat breakfast available and up to 2 children can eat free. Brewers Fayre restaurant also serves good pub favorites in a welcoming environment with indoor play facilities.There is free parking on site for guests and a 24-hour reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel Chester
Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing