We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very average Premier Inn with staff with poor attitude towards customers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel
Ranked #9 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We have stayed here before and this time the experience was very disappointing. It was very crowded for a Monday and the reception staff, I think her name was Sarah, seemed very hassled and unhelpful. The room that we had was one of the refurbished one's and was better than our last visit. The hotel is very centrally located for Chester and other local attractions.

The food served in the Twirl of Hay, next door to the Premier Inn is very average in the evening indeed, and it is the only Premier Inn that serves breakfast with no Continental breakfast option, you pay one price of £8.25, even if you don't want the cooked full English breakfast, and the management don't give a damn about ripping off the customers either. No wonder many people choose to go over to the Sainsbury's on the other side of the road for a cheaper breakfast.
Because of this we will not be staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask of one of the quieter rooms at the back of the hotel as traffic noise from the main road can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadKevLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Thank you for your review.

At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to do this. Your comments have been noted and will be duly followed up by both our Customer Services Team and the Management team at this hotel.

Once again thank you for your review we do hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

997 - 1,003 of 1,140 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2012

Rooms excellent. Very quiet but it was a Tuesday night.
We did have the breakfast and very good, but quite expensive and cos you can help yourself I am sorry to say I ate too much. But we then set out for Edinburgh and we did not need lunch.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Lovely and clean and spacious as we have come to expect from Premier Inn! Reception staff very friendly and really helpful with local info etc. location deal for Cheshire Oaks, Chester Zoo and with a bus stop outside with bus service every 30 mins into Chester centre (£3 return), what more do you need!! Will certainly return here.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrunoScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We have stayed at this Premier Inn on several occasions, since our last stay it has had a refurbishment and our three night stay was even better than our previous visits. Highly recommended, though we did not eat at the restaurant after a bad experience last time.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed for two nights at this hotel. Although slightly out of town, the park and ride is a five minute walk away which takes you straight into the centre of Chester. The rooms very clean and bright, and the decor was in good order. We didn't have the hotel breakfast but went over the road to Sainsburys and had very similar for half the price. The reception and restaurant staff were very friendly and happy to help. We had two evening meals in the attached restaurant which were your typical pub food meal, but very good. On the second night we had the themed 'all you can eat' buffet, which was really nice and made eating out inexpensive. Would definately recommend, and I would stay again.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back - no view but no road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Stayed here during Easter break with kids. Absolutely brilliant. Checked in immediately. Room spacious and well equipped. Got cheap tickets to Zoo from the reception. Staff were brilliant and always willing to help. Despite works on the hotel we were on the top floor and we didn't hear anything but some air blew through the edges of the windows. Kids loved fun factory which allowed them to kill time while waiting for meals. When the meals came they were very nice. Breakfast was (Like most premier inns) was buffet style and (also like most premier inns) very nice. Only fault was lack of free wi-fi which in these days is very irritating otherwise amazing. I would certainly recommend this hotel to a friend. Do be awere that you have to book very early if you want £29 rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjbone1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

A lovely welcome, and a great experience at the best Premier we have stayed in so far. They are all good, but this one was exceptional. The room was bigger than average, with a great area for sitting and a brand new large flat screen tv. The bedroom and bathroom were both newly refurbished and absolutely spotless.

Despite being set near a busy road and a petrol station, we had a wonderful, peaceful night's sleep.
Parking was good.

The beautiful town of Chester is only a short drive away.

Only problem we had was finding it! We recommend putting the co-ordinates from the website into your satnav.

Although not in a picturesque setting, this is a fine example of what Premier Inn offers- low priced accommodation with high standards.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank europair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 45 in Chester
1,700 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
0.3 mi away
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
1.7 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#2 of 45 in Chester
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel

Address: Caldy Valley Road | Boughton, Chester CH3 5PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chester
#2 Best Value Hotel in Chester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £46 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located just 2 miles away from Chester, our hotel is the perfect base to discover local attractions, including Chester Zoo. Our hotel offers a variety of rooms for all requirements. With an all you can eat breakfast available and up to 2 children can eat free. Brewers Fayre restaurant also serves good pub favorites in a welcoming environment with indoor play facilities.There is free parking on site for guests and a 24-hour reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel Chester
Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing