We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit to this hotel spoiled a little by parking problems”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel
Ranked #9 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This is the second time we have stopped at this hotel. It is ideally placed on the outskirts of Chester only a 10 minute park & ride bus ride away from the city centre. The hotel is also situated just off the main roads to North Wales, Port Sunlight, Chester Zoo & many other interesting places to visit. The staff are helpful & friendly and the food in the Brewers Fayre next door is very good value.
Unfortunately when we visited at the beginning of October overnight parking was a real problem due to the number of large vans & other commercial vehicles being parked by workmen staying at the hotel taking up much of the car park with their large commercial vehicles. Even the Brewers Fayre pub car park was full. This meant that if you went out in the evening or arrived late legal parking was practically impossible except on double yellow lines or in disabled spaces.
I think even some of the van drivers found parking a problem.
As parking was one of the main advantages of staying on the outskirts this caused us & many other residents a few problems. Hopefully this was a unusual set of circumstances.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the rear of the hotel away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Organgrinder186332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

759 - 765 of 1,160 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

Stayed overnight at Chester in the Premier Inn Caldy Valley Road, and was really pleased with the reception from the staff and the whole Premier Inn experience. Great value for money, a good nights sleep and a quiet hotel, even in mid-week. Also right next door to a Brewers Fayre pub, where the food was good value and the service was truly 5-star. Not often you can say that for a budget hotel, but this was really good.

Room Tip: The hotel is in a generally quiet area, so there are no advantages of one room over the other. We f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I have visited several Premier Inns in the last 18 months and have found them all of a very good standard. Our experience of Chester Central - South East was very enjoyable. The reception staff were very welcoming and efficient. Our room was clean and comfortable with everything we needed. My husband was very impressed with the large television screen mounted on the wall. Our room, although overlooking the car park, was very quiet throughout our visit. Sainsburys was no more than a few minutes walk across the road and we had a very good breakfast there on one of the days. We left our car in the hotel car park and used the bus into Chester. The bus stop is just up the road from the hotel, turn right out of the car park and you will find it opposite Sainsburys. We did walk into Chester one day but I would recommend catching the bus. Chester is a beautiful City with a great deal of history and well worth a visit. I look forward to visiting again and would definitely stop at the same Premier Inn. Thank you to all the staff for making our stay a happy one.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolUK_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This Premier Inn is very well located being just outside Chester and convenient for visitors to town or for those seeking to spend a night en-route to North Wales. The room was larger than most and very well cared for. The bathroom was spotlessly clean

We have paid much more for much less elsewhere.

We chose not to have breakfast in the hotel and instead walked 100m to Sainsbury's which has a rather good cafe attached with good food at low prices

We shall be staying at this hotel again soon

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DPALTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This is the second time that we have stayed in this hotel. Having wanted a couple of nights away in the Chester/Wales area, this was the best available and also a bargain at £60 for 2 nights midweek! It's in a very handy location as only 10 mins drive into the centre of Chester and just off the main route into Wales.
Checked in with no problem at all, receptionist was friendly and efficient and had no problems later on when we asked for an extra towel & tea/coffee/milk etc.
The room was spacious and the bed comfy. We were on the ground floor which overlooked the hotel entrance and thought we would have a noisy room but hardly heard any external noise at all.
Breakfast was available in the pub next door but we decided to venture across to Sainsbury's over the road and paid a total of just under £10 for 2 x breakfasts/drinks both mornings. Premier Inn breakfasts are £8.25 each - probably better quality at Sainsbury's and they serve breakfast until 11.30am.
We ate in the pub on one of the evenings and sampled their curry night - can't say we were impressed with the food on offer and not much spice to them either. Coming from Yorkshire, we've sampled a few decent curry's!!
Would definitely stay here again / recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mirfield_Sian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I stopped at for 1 night in October 2013 in a double room.

Summary
A modern & comfortable hotel in a quiet area of Chester, yet located close to Chester city centre.

This review is based on my stay in room 61 which is on the 2nd floor .

The rooms amenities include: 1x double bed, table & chair, large flat screen TV, tea & coffee making facilities with kettle & mugs, hair dryer, chaise longue, bath with over head shower.

Hotel amenities include: Limited free wifi, reception with seating and vending area, bar and restaurant (adjacent), free car parking.

Located on Caldy Valley Road, opposite a petrol station, a super market and nearby is an out of town retail area, but with only a 10 minute drive to the city centre.

My room (61) was clean, comfortable, quiet and modern with a comfortable bed with duvet. The room was of a decent size, but was very warm, despite turning down the heating via the thermostat. The room is typical of a Premier Inn.

On arrival the reception staff was very welcoming and friendly, however, my room wasn't ready, despite being well past the advertised check in time.

Breakfast wasn't included in the room rate and was Buffet style and included a selection of fruit, yoghurt, cereals, breads and traditional cooked breakfast items (soya milk and vegetarian sausages available to order).

Overall I would stop at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TortMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Ten of us stayed at this hotel over the weekend of the Chester Marathon with seven of us running. From the moment we arrived to when we left all the staff were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant was opened early on the Sunday so that runners could have a breakfast before setting off on their 26.2 miles journey. Having a restaurant/pub next door meant that the hotel building was very quiet. The food in the restaurant/pub on the Sunday eveniing after the run was well prepared and a very reasonable price as were the beer prices. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Running the marathon it was very helpful to have ground floor rooms with no stairs to negotiate afte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterHerts2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
5.5 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel

Address: Caldy Valley Road | Boughton, Chester CH3 5PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chester
#2 Family Hotel in Chester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £45 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located just 2 miles away from Chester, our hotel is the perfect base to discover local attractions, including Chester Zoo. Our hotel offers a variety of rooms for all requirements. With an all you can eat breakfast available and up to 2 children can eat free. Brewers Fayre restaurant also serves good pub favorites in a welcoming environment with indoor play facilities.There is free parking on site for guests and a 24-hour reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel Chester
Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing